1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [MetroPCS/CDMA] New MetroPCS Update MF2 any known root methods?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by samthegam, Jul 20, 2013.

  1. samthegam

    samthegam Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011

    Jun 14, 2011
    58
    9
    16
    My Samsung Galaxy S3 received a software update this morning. I have multi window now but had lost root. I previously rooted using the mobile odin method when I updated the firmware to Jellybean. The apps that I had frozen with Titanium Backup remain frozen: My Metro & MetroPCS EASY WIFI. I tried motochopper but it failed to root.

    Android Version: 4.1.2
    Baseband: R530MVQAMF2
    Kernel: 3.0.31 - 1274214 se.infra@SEP-128 #2 SMP PREEMPT Fri Jun 21 11:30:08 KST 2013
    BULD NUMBER: JZ054K.R530MVQAMF2

    I would prefer a root method that leaves the device status: Normal
     

    Advertisement

    ACrappyDJ and mike28 like this.
  2. mike28

    mike28 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    4,065
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    4,065
    1,058
    513
    Male
    Tampa
    Looks like you are the first one getting the official suite update for the s3 that has report here haven't heard of anyone else thanks for sharing as for rooting let's see what we find
     
  3. 1iwilly

    1iwilly Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    429
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011

    Aug 16, 2011
    429
    57
    53
    Male
    truck driver
    kissimmee fl
    correct me if i'm wrong but as far as i know if your rooted your phone won't do updates.?
     
  4. n4zty

    n4zty Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,302
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    4,302
    1,700
    313
    Male
    well things we need to know are u on the blue gs3??? or is this the normal white gs3? cuz if ur on the white one like mikey said ur the first to get this update!!!! root can preserved easily using an free app called OTA Root Keeper it temporary hides your root to allow ota update then once update is installed u open up that app and it restores root. also can you verify the state u live in?
     
    horsecharles likes this.
  5. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    623
    Male
    its the white one, the blue one has a diff model number. good to know premium suite is coming out, we are one step closer to 4.3 guys :)
     
  6. n4zty

    n4zty Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,302
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    4,302
    1,700
    313
    Male
  7. samthegam

    samthegam Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011

    Jun 14, 2011
    58
    9
    16
    I live in CA. Yes it is the white CDMA / LTE one. I also got Paper Artist now
     
  8. joshadaniels04

    joshadaniels04 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    632
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011

    Oct 17, 2011
    632
    173
    93
    Male
    AxSys, System Intergrations
    Sacramento, Ca
    Northern? I'm in sac. I'll use Odin go back to stock and get ya your files shabby

    If I can get it.
     
  9. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,330
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,330
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
    Be on the lookout for some new stuff...:rolleyes:
     
    confed likes this.
  10. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    623
    Male
  11. samthegam

    samthegam Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011

    Jun 14, 2011
    58
    9
    16
    Southern in Los Angeles with area code 626 out of El Monte CA
     
  12. blasdomin

    blasdomin Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012

    Jan 3, 2012
    38
    4
    16
    This work with metropolis or I need to return to stock with odin tks
     
  13. samthegam

    samthegam Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011

    Jun 14, 2011
    58
    9
    16
    You need to return to stock
     
  14. samthegam

    samthegam Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011

    Jun 14, 2011
    58
    9
    16
    I had MetroPCS Easy Wifi & My Metro frozen with Titanium Pro before the update and the update was able to complete. Even though I am not currently rooted MetroPCS Easy Wifi & My Metro are still disabled
     
  15. n4zty

    n4zty Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,302
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    4,302
    1,700
    313
    Male
    im gonna flash this via mobile odin and clear recovery on it. :D might not give me the option to clear recovery but atleast i can inject root along with it lol brb ill post back results and give the ok to try it out although im sure i might have an issue since metropolis is deodexed but out of boredom what the hell lol

    nah we wouldn't want you to leave your aosp roms just for that besides we sure ur super busy working non-stop on new roms :D :p
     
  16. LDrifta

    LDrifta No Stranger 2 Danger
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,907
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    3,907
    3,202
    323
    Male
    Graphic-arts
    Lynn, MA
    anyone need me to do anything for this new update?? im about to unroot now and update so let me know if i should be on the look out for anything :D
     
  17. quechon

    quechon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    414
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012

    Jan 5, 2012
    414
    37
    43
    Can I install this update without leaving metropolis
     
  18. dcap0187

    dcap0187 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    239
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013

    Jan 22, 2013
    239
    83
    53
    indentured servant
    miami
    Ya. See if you can get the new baseband so i can try it on metropolis. Mf2
     
  19. dcap0187

    dcap0187 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    239
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013

    Jan 22, 2013
    239
    83
    53
    indentured servant
    miami
    No you would need to be stock in order to update.
     
  20. LDrifta

    LDrifta No Stranger 2 Danger
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,907
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    3,907
    3,202
    323
    Male
    Graphic-arts
    Lynn, MA
    well thats all you'll have.. is the new baseband/modem lol, you wouldn't actually have the new update itself..

    not trying to discourage anyone here.. but metropolis is basically a slightly modded/debloated stock rom, so im sure shabby will be able to easily get a metropolis 4.0 out real soon lol
     
  21. dcap0187

    dcap0187 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    239
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013

    Jan 22, 2013
    239
    83
    53
    indentured servant
    miami
    I figured that the update would be nothing more than metropolis 1.3.0 with an updated baseband. Is there something else in the new update that's worth going stock.
     
  22. LDrifta

    LDrifta No Stranger 2 Danger
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,907
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    3,907
    3,202
    323
    Male
    Graphic-arts
    Lynn, MA
    honestly im not 100% sure.. but it just makes more sense to have the firmware designed for your device!!
     
  23. quechon

    quechon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    414
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012

    Jan 5, 2012
    414
    37
    43
    Ill wait till the metropolis gets updated then
     
  24. LDrifta

    LDrifta No Stranger 2 Danger
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,907
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    3,907
    3,202
    323
    Male
    Graphic-arts
    Lynn, MA
    see shabby!!! you got some die hards LOL
     
  25. 1iwilly

    1iwilly Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    429
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011

    Aug 16, 2011
    429
    57
    53
    Male
    truck driver
    kissimmee fl
    ok do i move this to my sd card.?and in recovery choose update cause in odin it wont show the file.
     

Share This Page

Loading...