1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [MetroPCS/CDMA] Reverting back to 4.1.2

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ex0r, Feb 9, 2014.

  1. ex0r

    ex0r Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010

    Dec 26, 2010
    35
    1
    16
    Alright, so I made the mistake of installing the 4.2 update a couple of days ago, and my phones ability to function has slowly deteriorated since. At first, my wifi was working fine, than it slowly started going out, and now it's to the point where it doesnt work at all. It tells me 'Internet connection unstable', of which it never did before on 4.1.2. I can still access my local network, but anything outside of the network is not working. (I can remote desktop into my desktop computer from my phone via 192.168.1.102, but i cant access google.com)

    I want to go back to 4.1.2, where I don't have these damn issues. I don't get service in my house, so I have to rely on my wifi, and when it's not working, I essentially have a brick.

    I am not rooted, and am 100% stock. I want to go back to 4.1.2, but not sure what I need to do. Also, i've tried the 'fixes' online that people have suggested, done a hard reset, a soft reset, and also turned on and off wireless searching, and its still not working.

    I need a solution, right now my phone is essentially a brick as I cannot use it. (Its not my internet, it does it on ALL wifi, no matter where I go)
     

    Advertisement

  2. firenemesis7

    firenemesis7 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    281
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012

    Apr 23, 2012
    281
    127
    68
    Male
    Machinist
    Melvindale, Michigan
  3. Rukbat

    Rukbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    843
    Posts:
    10,392
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    10,392
    2,894
    843
    Male
    Being retired and writing Tasker tasks.
    Fayetteville, NC, USA
    There's no "Going back" in ROMs. You totally replaced 4.1.2 with 4.2. That's all that's in your phone right now. You're going to have to find a copy of 4.1.2 set up the same way tht 4.2 was set up (installable from CWM, installable through Odin, whatever) and install it.

    You didn't give us the model number (the S3 comes in a whole basketfull of numbers) but SamMobile Firmwares probably has a few versions of Android for your phone. (Pay careful attention to the whole line - you want the CDMA version for MetroPCS. The TDMA versions are for the TMobile towers and will probably brick your phone. And do yourself a favor - don't be tempted by 4.3 if they have it - it's a bug. There are rumors that 4.3.2 is fixed, but they're only rumors at this point.)
     
  4. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    623
    Male
    DO NOT try to revert. you will end up with a bricked phone, one that people arent even sure if booting off sdcard can fix. you have teh new bootloaders and thus cannot return to anything lower than NA1.

    you can however install a custom recovery and then install a custom rom and hope that fixes it up for ya.
     
  5. BRAINZ2013

    BRAINZ2013 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,420
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    6,420
    1,204
    353
    Male
    MECHANIC OBDII. NOS. FUEL INJECTION. Saving a Life
    Park Ave., HELL
    The web page has been down for about 2weeks from a leak
     
  6. ex0r

    ex0r Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010

    Dec 26, 2010
    35
    1
    16
    Wow seriously? So samsung and metropcs sold me a phone that they in effect bricked themselves? Congratulations for selling me a piece of shit that I can't use now, and spend $500 on. Maybe I should have gotten an iphone.
     
  7. ex0r

    ex0r Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010

    Dec 26, 2010
    35
    1
    16
    What about doing what firenemesis said to do, with using odin and the rom he listed? I am trying to stay away from the custom rom scene, I got very used to the stock rom that was with 4.1, and had nothing but problems when i first got my s3 and rooted it with custom roms, kept locking up and rebooting by itself, and I am really trying to avoid them.

    As for the model number, i'm not sure. It's the all white metropcs 4g phone, R530 is what it says behind the battery.
     
  8. firenemesis7

    firenemesis7 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    281
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012

    Apr 23, 2012
    281
    127
    68
    Male
    Machinist
    Melvindale, Michigan
    What version of android does it say you are on in settings
     
  9. THE W

    THE W Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,092
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012

    Mar 10, 2012
    2,092
    242
    163
    Detroit
    custom 4.2 ROM?

    metro S3's never got 4.2. we went from 4.1.2 to 4.3.
     
  10. kungfu411

    kungfu411 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    579
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011

    Jul 28, 2011
    579
    155
    93
    That's why he's having these issues he's on a magic update no one else got :D
     
  11. firenemesis7

    firenemesis7 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    281
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012

    Apr 23, 2012
    281
    127
    68
    Male
    Machinist
    Melvindale, Michigan
    That's what I was thinking that is why I was lost when shabby started taking about 4.3 lol
     

Share This Page

Loading...