1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

[MetroPCS/CDMA] Will This Fix My Battery Drain Problem?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by El Droiderino, Oct 13, 2014.

1. El Droiderino

El Droiderino Lurker

Hi,

Noob here looking to root my GS3 SCH-R530M 4.3 handset, mainly because it has horrible idle battery drain and charging. Tried to solve the issue with Battery Doctor/Wakelock Detector/freezing apps and more. Sometimes it would run well for a day but mostly horrible. Cell Standby and Device Idle both being consistent energy hogs, along with autostart apps that I can't keep stopped without root authority.

So I'm pretty green to the methods and terminology, so please correct my mistakes. I'm wondering if the Root Recovery Image method with the stock ROM that Shabbypenguin and others recommend here would solve my issues? Or will I likely need a Kernel with some performance tweaks?

If a rooted stock ROM and Kernel doesn't solve my battery issues. What would you recommend? Manual adjustments using Battery Doctor's (or other app) autostart management, and getting rid of bloatware. Read a 2012 article on battery drain issues for international S3 handsets attributing it to an error in framework-res.apk with a power drain value for Cell Standby of 34mA instead of 3.4mA in power_profile.xml. Don't know if my power problems are same as the article refers to. Article talks of a link that I can't find giving instructions to fix. Would this be something you download a file browser to S3 and simply add a decimal point in the right file? Or should I be looking for custom ROMs and Kernels with this already sorted out?

Thank you, I'll undoubtedly have more questions :l

1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!

Download

2. El Droiderino

El Droiderino Lurker

Anyone?

Please give me some much needed guidance.

I need to do something first? Truffle shuffle? Please don't make me do it :)

3. confed

confed Android Expert