1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [MetroPCS/GSM] Need Help Restoring MetroPCS S3 to Stock Firmware

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by NikoJohn, Jan 20, 2014.

  1. NikoJohn

    NikoJohn Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Today, I attempted to unroot my Galaxy S3. My firmware is 4.1.2 SGH-T999N. I followed a guide, which also made me install a recovery and kernel file and a T-Mobile firmware not MetroPCs, however it said that it was interchangeable (firmware was something like SGH-T999L) through Odin; everything was going well until I used Triangle Away to reset the binary count. It was originally "Yes (2 count)." After reseting, it only went down to "Yes (1 count)." No matter how many times I reset and reboot, it wouldn't go to 0

    I found the stock firmware I used to root on my hard drive (the actual MetroPCS firmware that my phone came pre installed with)so I installed it. Now when I enter download mode it says "Custom Binary: Samsung Official" and then below that "Official", but the count is still "Yes (1 Count)." However, now Triangle Away nor SuperSu will open. "There is no SU Binary installed" and "SuperUser access is needed, but could not be acquired."

    I am lost and simply want to have my phone be like it just came out of the box so I can update to the latest stock firmware. I feel like everything in my phone is scrambled now. Everything works, it's the binary count and unrooting that needs to be dealt with.

    Does anyone have any ideas?

    Thank you!
     

    Advertisement

  2. BRAINZ2013

    BRAINZ2013 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,420
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    6,420
    1,204
    353
    Male
    MECHANIC OBDII. NOS. FUEL INJECTION. Saving a Life
    Park Ave., HELL
    Hello and welcome to the forums. U are seeking a recovery and the factory os . I need to know what band are you pushing GSM OR CDMA
     
  3. NikoJohn

    NikoJohn Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I'm assuming GSM. That is the system that requires a SIM card correct? If so GSM
     
  4. BRAINZ2013

    BRAINZ2013 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,420
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    6,420
    1,204
    353
    Male
    MECHANIC OBDII. NOS. FUEL INJECTION. Saving a Life
    Park Ave., HELL
  5. BRAINZ2013

    BRAINZ2013 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,420
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    6,420
    1,204
    353
    Male
    MECHANIC OBDII. NOS. FUEL INJECTION. Saving a Life
    Park Ave., HELL
    I asked cause metro pcs sells them and T-Mobile sell them also so its a CDMA and gsm
     
  6. Vyrus69

    Vyrus69 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    299
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011

    Aug 29, 2011
    299
    96
    53
    Male
    Miami, FL
  7. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,156
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL
    Both require a sim or uccid card. GSM is easily identified as being the blue s3
     
  8. Big Daddy

    Big Daddy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014

    Apr 2, 2014
    61
    13
    18
    If you need it all for stock its all here in my dropbox. Odin is in the root file to flash. Everything youll need is there. Hope this helps. I have a post on the main page as well with the link. Please share.

    https://www.dropbox.com/sh/uhu6qg79xq8jd5i/RjieQlmAuQ
     

Share This Page

Loading...