1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

MetroPCS Guide/FAQ (Info of APN's, Bands, etc)

Discussion in 'Metro PCS' started by Gman9831, Dec 24, 2013.

  1. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    MetroPCS Guide/FAQ​


    Index: Metro GSM/BYOD
    1. APN
    2. Bands/Phone Compatibility
    3. Coverage
    4. IMEI
    5. SIM Cards

    Metro CDMA
    1. CDMA Shutdown


    Metro GSM/BYOD​

    1. APNs: How to access APN settings on most phones? Go to Settings > Wireless & Network > Mobile Networks > Access Point Names​



    Below is the standard APN for MetroPCS GSM​



    The T-Mobile one which is below is also known to work

    2. Bands/Phone Compatibility​



    Bands used for Metro GSM:​


    GSM- 1900MHz

    HSPA- 1700/2100MHz or 1900MHZ. 1700/2100 has the larger coverage area at this point. But all further HSPA expansion is in 1900.

    LTE- (AWS)1700/2100MHz

    Later in the year of 2014 they will start using PCS and 700MHz B12 for LTE

    B2 = Band 2 = 1.9GHZ = 1900MHz = PCS​


    B4 = Band 4 = 1.7/2.1GHz = 1700/2100MHz = AWS. They all mean the same. Most times B4 may just be listed as 1700MHz but if its listed as 2100 that is not the same thing.​


    Phone Compatibility FAQ: What phones can be used on BYOD? Any unlocked GSM phone. The only band absolutely necessary is GSM 1900MHz. But with that you only get 2G.​


    Can T-Mobile branded phones be used without it being unlocked? Yes​


    Will I get LTE? If the device has the bands compatible for LTE and those are the bands used in your area.​


    Is this the same thing as flashing? No. This is a different technology and MetroFLASH was discontinued anyway.​


    Any further BYOD compatibility questions can be asked: http://androidforums.com/metro-pcs/738676-official-metropcs-byod-discussion-thread.html






    4. IMEI
    To check for bad IMEI you can use: Unsupported Browser

    If my phone has a bad IMEI from AT&T or any other US carrier will it work with BYOD? No, T-Mobile and all US carriers share blacklists.


    5. SIM Cards/Activation: How much is a MetroPCS BYOD SIM ? $10​






    Activation Fee: The standard activation fee is $15 in store. But it is free online here http://www.metropcs.com/metro/activation/activation.jsp or over the phone 1-888-8metro8​


    Metro CDMA​

    CDMA Shutdown: MetroPCS's CDMA network was officially shutdown June 21st 2015​


     

    Advertisement

    #1 Gman9831, Dec 24, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2015
  2. BobZhome

    BobZhome Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    138
    Posts:
    351
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010

    Dec 30, 2010
    351
    625
    138
    Male
    MA
  3. the hulk

    the hulk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    690
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011

    Mar 11, 2011
    690
    186
    93
    Male
    Evil Genius, Jokers Apprentice
    Florida
    Native Wifi-Calling does work- it will ask to update your e911 address, you just have to call metro and tell them your address and it'll work.
     
    horsecharles and alfick3 like this.
  4. alfick3

    alfick3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    303
    Posts:
    2,755
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    2,755
    452
    303
    Male
    IBM SSR
    DFW, TX
    I know with T-Mobile and Metro phones, they have the wifi calling enabled. If I bring the Moto G over, what do I need to do to set up wifi calling?
     
  5. the hulk

    the hulk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    690
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011

    Mar 11, 2011
    690
    186
    93
    Male
    Evil Genius, Jokers Apprentice
    Florida
    I'm not 100% on this, but I'd look for a recent .apk for either metro's wifi-calling or t-mobiles, but I could be totally wrong about this
     
    alfick3 likes this.
  6. Fox Mulder

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #50
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    1,853
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    1,853
    1,499
    443
    NYC
    Pretty sure you can't, a BYOD from outside won't have the capability for wifi calling. It's something that is built into the carrier-specific versions of the Metro/T-Mo phones. I don't think it's as simple as installing an app but not certain, maybe someone else knows for sure.
     
    alfick3 likes this.
  7. the hulk

    the hulk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    690
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011

    Mar 11, 2011
    690
    186
    93
    Male
    Evil Genius, Jokers Apprentice
    Florida
    But if one were to get the .apk why wouldn't it work?
     
  8. Fox Mulder

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #50
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    1,853
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    1,853
    1,499
    443
    NYC
    Well it would be cool if it were that simple, I believe it's more involved than that but as I said I'm not sure. Hopefully someone does know the right answer.
    It would certainly be a good thing if this could be made to work with a BYOD phone.
     
  9. the hulk

    the hulk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    690
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011

    Mar 11, 2011
    690
    186
    93
    Male
    Evil Genius, Jokers Apprentice
    Florida
    if someone wants to send me one to play with I'll let y'all know lol
     
  10. the hulk

    the hulk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    690
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011

    Mar 11, 2011
    690
    186
    93
    Male
    Evil Genius, Jokers Apprentice
    Florida
    Update,

    T-mobile Native Wifi-Calling app does work on metro's side.


    Also, the HTC M8 needs to either be rooted with rom or unlocked in order to program APN settings.
     
    alfick3 likes this.
  11. Fox Mulder

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #50
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    1,853
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    1,853
    1,499
    443
    NYC
    This is not surprising.
    But I have yet to see anyone report having it work on a BYOD device from outside the T-Mo/Metro network.
     
  12. dboypipes

    dboypipes Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013

    Apr 13, 2013
    40
    0
    15
    Just ordered Asus zenfone5 im pretty sure it will work on metro/t mobile networks but does anyoneknow for sure?
     
  13. the hulk

    the hulk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    690
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011

    Mar 11, 2011
    690
    186
    93
    Male
    Evil Genius, Jokers Apprentice
    Florida
    Didn't have to be surprising, I've seen alot of people asking about it, so I figured I'd add to to our facts list.

    Also, out of curiosity, what other devices have wi-fi calling that are not T-mobile branded? I haven't really looked into it, but I'm sure they're out there
     
  14. orlandoeduran

    orlandoeduran Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    May 9, 2014

    May 9, 2014
    13
    1
    16
    Any phone can....just use Google hangouts
     
  15. kate

    kate Dreaming of Bugdroid.
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #35
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    5,712
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013

    Any phone can make WiFi calls with an app, but I'm guessing you mean carrier supported WiFi calls?

    A few Sprint phones (Galaxy S4 Mini & Galaxy Mega) support Sprints WiFi calling feature. I think Sprint wants to add more phones, but haven't heard anything for awhile.
     
  16. Marty_Since87

    Marty_Since87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,130
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012

    Apr 13, 2012
    1,130
    401
    203
    Male
    Seller and Distributor
    Bronx, New York
    Man, I paid $45 to put my Note 2 on metro's service 2 years ago -___-.
     
  17. n1nj4Lo

    n1nj4Lo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #145
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    397
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011

    Aug 8, 2011
    397
    111
    88
    Male
    In my friends metroPCS Branded Samsung, I think Galaxy Light? It was one of the more recent ones he had two apn settings but they were conjoined and the second one said mms and had a few ports all of them I think 510, 310 etc and so on listed together. Anybody know of this specific apn? I'd like to try it and see how it works out on my Note 3.
     
  18. Nintendo1889

    Nintendo1889 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    419
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010

    Nov 9, 2010
    419
    70
    63
    Because the apk would need to be linked with the dialer and the other telephony applications in the system. So it would require fairly deep Android knowledge, though I'm sure someone here could figure it out.
     
  19. n1nj4Lo

    n1nj4Lo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #145
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    397
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011

    Aug 8, 2011
    397
    111
    88
    Male
    Not true, t-mobile devices with wifi calling have been known to have wifi calling working on metropcs, heck even t-mo rom's with it in them, when my note 2 was alive (i317) it was on metropcs and I used a t-mobile rom that had wifi calling and it worked, I hardly ever used it though cause my connection was a lot better quality than my wifi connection at home.
    _

    In other news I've managed to successfully import and get to working metroPCS Mega apk's on my Note 3, VVM, MyMetro, @Metro APPs Store, Block-it, metroZONE (Which I might disable, just stupid overlayed ad's), metroMUSIC, metro 411
     
  20. n1nj4Lo

    n1nj4Lo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #145
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    397
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011

    Aug 8, 2011
    397
    111
    88
    Male
    I wish Joyn was unrestricted and allowed any device to use it. Anyways of bypassing that checkpoint with lucky patcher?
     
  21. Fox Mulder

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #50
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    1,853
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    1,853
    1,499
    443
    NYC
    Yes that's correct, I wasn't referring to T-mo phones as BYOD in this case as they are nearly identical to their Metro counterparts. The WiFi calling originated with T-Mo and has been incorporated in Metro GSM phones since the merger.
    That said, a BYOD from any other carrier, or an unlocked device, will not be capable of the same built-in WiFi calling.
     
  22. Fox Mulder

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #50
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    1,853
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    1,853
    1,499
    443
    NYC
    Joyn was only functional on certain Metro phones that used the old CDMA network. It is not available on the current GSM system even with a Metro phone (hence the T-mo based WiFi calling) and there won't be any way to make it work.
     
  23. n1nj4Lo

    n1nj4Lo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #145
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    397
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011

    Aug 8, 2011
    397
    111
    88
    Male
    I guess really if ya want wifi calling bad enough do some research on phones that can run either t-mobile or its default carriers roms and has the same hardware per carrier, like my old AT&T i317 Note 2, I hate that I didn't do research on this AT&T Note 3 and got stuck with a locked bootloader, no kernel support and no aosp. But I'm gunna get the Note Edge soon hopefully.
     
  24. n1nj4Lo

    n1nj4Lo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #145
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    397
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011

    Aug 8, 2011
    397
    111
    88
    Male
    Got the correct APNs off a official metroPCS Phone now my texts messages seems to be sending a lot faster. If anyone wants a backup on my apns xml in APN Manager to import to their own BYOD let me know.
    [​IMG]
    Never had the Data, Tethering or MMS apn.
    _

    Oh well get APN Manager from the play store (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=ale.android.apnmanagerwithanimation&hl=en) open it then open a root enabled browser and click show hidden files and folders and then make sure ApnManager is showing up in the sdcard on your phone (Not external) download this http://www.mediafire.com/download/dv4d1jkim44znqe/ApnBackup.xml and place it in ApnManager folder open APN Manager and click backup restore option.
     
    #24 n1nj4Lo, Mar 29, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2015
  25. EricH4753

    EricH4753 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    623
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012

    Jun 24, 2012
    623
    25
    68
    Male
    Unemployed
    Wheeling, WV
    How would I do this with my s6 there is no rooot out yet and I can't text, call, send mms use data etc
     

Share This Page

Loading...