1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [MetroPCS] Nobody got one yet?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by vewdew, Jul 25, 2013.

  1. vewdew

    vewdew Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    21
    6
    16
    Male
    New Bedford USA
    I am getting mine tomorrow, hope this thread grows with info fast.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    As of right now stock is very limited
     
    vewdew likes this.
  3. vewdew

    vewdew Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    21
    6
    16
    Male
    New Bedford USA
    Yeah I was lucky and got the last one, after they got done with my phone one more customer walked in asking for one. If I was 10 minutes late I would have to wait for them to get more. The girl at the store told me they only sent her 4 phones, I wonder if metro is testing the market to see if it will be a good seller.
     
  4. savtattoo

    savtattoo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    172
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012

    Jun 29, 2012
    172
    37
    43
    tattoo artist
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    Yes sir, got it today!
     
  5. danyvw

    danyvw Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #250
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    685
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    685
    208
    93
    USA
    Got mine today. Rooted with CF Root, TWRP Recovery installed, looking for a good Kernel now.
     
  6. airtioteclint

    airtioteclint Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,909
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011

    Dec 15, 2011
    1,909
    855
    213
    Just flash a tmobile rom. You might find yourself surprised. After that keep the kernel and try at&t and i9505 roms. The surprises just don't stop.
     
  7. akikhia

    akikhia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,165
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011

    Oct 24, 2011
    1,165
    87
    128
    go get the tmobile s4 n put it on metro. its cheaper n works just as good :) metro s4 is a waste of money
    i did it n im lovin it
    development is already there n i get 4glte and hspa+ my choice
     
  8. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    No its not if you buy it brand new
    And on the metro S4 you get customer support and all the dev stuff from tmos
    Metro S4 also gets HSPA & LTE. They're basically the same exact phone.
     
  9. Mmazz

    Mmazz Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    49
    5
    16
    Stratford,CT
    Got mine Sat., the only one in three local stores.
     
  10. akikhia

    akikhia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,165
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011

    Oct 24, 2011
    1,165
    87
    128
    im talkin about getting it used. u cant get a metro s4 used but i got my tmobile s4 for 350! :D
     
  11. king lion

    king lion Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012

    Oct 20, 2012
    124
    11
    38
    Male
    miami fl
    I have mine:D
     
  12. flabinall

    flabinall Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012

    Feb 13, 2012
    66
    9
    16
    Does everything on the T-Mobile s4 apply to the metro version as far as development...
     
  13. danyvw

    danyvw Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #250
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    685
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    685
    208
    93
    USA
    NO!!! They have different kernels, different System Ui.apk and other differences. I tried a few mods and none of them worked except the volume tweak .
     
  14. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    623
    Male
    do you have any proof of this? seeing as the metropcs one has had plenty of people flahsing tmo aosp roms the kernels are apparently close enough...
     
  15. morgankslade

    morgankslade Android Expert
    Rank:
     #194
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    859
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011

    Aug 9, 2011
    859
    135
    123
    Mens Formalwear
    Southeast, Michigan
    Question?
    SGS4 is not available in the Detroit area.
    Can I order a SGS4 from MPCS Website in New York area and activate it in Detroit via *228 and it will work?
     
  16. ARocker

    ARocker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,274
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011

    Aug 17, 2011
    1,274
    762
    233
    Male
    Jersey City, NJ
    I dont see why not morgankslade.

    Unless, that is, they sold off the Tmobile cell towers in the bankruptcy. :p

    Sorry, sorry, sorry....too soon, I know.

    Its a shame really.....and shouldn't happen in this country.
     
    morgankslade likes this.
  17. morgankslade

    morgankslade Android Expert
    Rank:
     #194
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    859
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011

    Aug 9, 2011
    859
    135
    123
    Mens Formalwear
    Southeast, Michigan
  18. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
    Might be true cause every other state has it but Detroit.
     
    mike28 likes this.
  19. jtw1216

    jtw1216 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,052
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012

    Mar 18, 2012
    1,052
    155
    163
    Male
    Chef
    Garland, TX
    Got mine today



    Only had it for 2 hours & I can tell this is gonna be a lot of fun. Gonna wait a couple of weeks before rooting it.
     
    nuttmeg and mike28 like this.
  20. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
    welcome aboard bud...:D
     
  21. jtw1216

    jtw1216 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,052
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012

    Mar 18, 2012
    1,052
    155
    163
    Male
    Chef
    Garland, TX
    Thanks. Had a lot of fun the past year with my S3. But this baby is awesome. I am gonna root it pretty quick though. It's slooooowwwww, lol. & I'm not liking TW at all. So I have a lot of reading to do here & on Tmo.
     
  22. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
    mines was fast straight out the box, but all tmo roms will work great. But try Wicked, DarthStalker, and GoldenEye pretty bad arse.

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2292054
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2363523
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2265998
     
    jtw1216 and mike28 like this.
  23. jtw1216

    jtw1216 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,052
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012

    Mar 18, 2012
    1,052
    155
    163
    Male
    Chef
    Garland, TX

Share This Page

Loading...