1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

Root [MetroPCS] [Official]Samsung Galaxy S4 4.3[Update]

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by nuttmeg, Dec 18, 2013.

  1. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State

    Advertisement

    danyvw, ARocker and mike28 like this.
  2. alexr777

    alexr777 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    175
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012

    Mar 17, 2012
    175
    20
    38
    Miami, FL
    I'm guessing we have to be completely stock to do this? Please correct me if I am wrong, Thanks.
     
  3. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
    Yes have to be stock with stock recovery, and there is no going back.
     
    alexr777 likes this.
  4. alexr777

    alexr777 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    175
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012

    Mar 17, 2012
    175
    20
    38
    Miami, FL
    Is there any difference between this and any of the 4.3 TW ROMs over at XDA or is it all the same?
     
  5. ARocker

    ARocker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,274
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011

    Aug 17, 2011
    1,274
    762
    233
    Male
    Jersey City, NJ
    You the man nuttmeg!!
    Thanks again for this!!
    I plan on putting it to use :)
     
    nuttmeg likes this.
  6. danyvw

    danyvw Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #235
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    685
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    685
    208
    93
    USA
    Thank you nuttmeg. Do you know if this update has bluetooth tethering enabled?
     
  7. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
    Havn't installed it due to knox, but the 4.3 from tmo on xda is same update but with metro just different bloatware. I been running it for a while on my phone and no issues.
     
    danyvw likes this.
  8. tfgraves789

    tfgraves789 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013

    Nov 3, 2013
    10
    1
    36
    Are any roms usable with the new update?
     
  9. danyvw

    danyvw Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #235
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    685
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    685
    208
    93
    USA
    I used the T-Mobile 4.3 ROM without a hitch too. Then I moved to the Google S4 international edition to have bluetooth tethering in order to have internet on my Galaxy Gear.
    I've been away from Knox too!!!!
     
    mike28 and nuttmeg like this.
  10. flabinall

    flabinall Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012

    Feb 13, 2012
    66
    9
    16
    I flashed this with no problems..but wifi won't turn on..any suggestions?
     
  11. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
    Did you do a factory reset after you finish install the bew 4.3?
     
  12. flabinall

    flabinall Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012

    Feb 13, 2012
    66
    9
    16
    I've done that twice. .. Still no wifi I tied to into it and download it a ..but tells me my device is modified
     
  13. dcap0187

    dcap0187 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    239
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013

    Jan 22, 2013
    239
    83
    53
    indentured servant
    miami
    Well if your knox counter is tripper just go ahead and flash the stock 4.3 rom for our phone.
     
  14. flabinall

    flabinall Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012

    Feb 13, 2012
    66
    9
    16
    I unrooted ...tried to update ota but got it device has been modified. ..then flashed this twice wiped both times...purchased triangle away. ..Still modified error. ..which rom are u preferring to?..I'm on idiot status right now...lol keep the gloves on.
     
  15. dcap0187

    dcap0187 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    239
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013

    Jan 22, 2013
    239
    83
    53
    indentured servant
    miami
    You must have stock recovery but If you use triangle away then unroot your phone shut off after unroot then restart in recovery and do a factory reset you should be official. If your totally over it just flash the stock 4.3 firmware I snagged from kies, shabby has it here ShabbyPenguin
     
  16. dcap0187

    dcap0187 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    239
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013

    Jan 22, 2013
    239
    83
    53
    indentured servant
    miami
    If you flash the 4.2.2 that is on the forums here and then do the update you could keep your knox counter from tripping.
     
  17. flabinall

    flabinall Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012

    Feb 13, 2012
    66
    9
    16
    do i flash this from shabby through odin?
     
  18. dcap0187

    dcap0187 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    239
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013

    Jan 22, 2013
    239
    83
    53
    indentured servant
    miami
    Yes
     
  19. flabinall

    flabinall Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012

    Feb 13, 2012
    66
    9
    16
    I flashed it and still no wifi. .it just won't turn on...I flashed 4.2 and it works...flashed back to this and poop....I don't know what I'm doing wrong
     
  20. the hulk

    the hulk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    690
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011

    Mar 11, 2011
    690
    186
    93
    Male
    Evil Genius, Jokers Apprentice
    Florida
    We got the 4.3 update for the S4, installing it now Woot.
     
  21. jeans946211

    jeans946211 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013

    Aug 9, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    Yes the update has been available since the 19. I thought once I brought the galaxy s4 on Metro that would be it for updates I switched to Metropcs in the summer from Verizon and I am pleased with my decision.
     
  22. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    623
    Male
    you shouldnbt be able to downgrade your bootloaders. if you had flashed 4.3 you are going to be stuck on the 4.3 bootloader. so how did you flash 4.2 again?
     
  23. Joshuah22a

    Joshuah22a Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    592
    Joined:
    May 6, 2011

    May 6, 2011
    592
    60
    78
    Male
  24. the hulk

    the hulk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    690
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011

    Mar 11, 2011
    690
    186
    93
    Male
    Evil Genius, Jokers Apprentice
    Florida
    Yup now I dont miss my note 3 as much lol
     
  25. ChiefFluffykins

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013

    Dec 26, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    Will I be able to update to kit Kat if I take this update? Even if I hate it at least I know kit Kat will be here shortly. Any way to know if I'm going to be stuck or forced to root?
     

Share This Page

Loading...