1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [MetroPCS] [recovery][official][twrp 2.6.3.1]

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ARocker, Aug 18, 2013.

  1. bigboss954

    bigboss954 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012

    Feb 17, 2012
    51
    4
    16
    Parma,ID
    thanks ARocker, you know i saw that thread and attempted to download it, i thought it was a scam because it wanted me to download from a social site. but i will try again, thanks again.
     

    Advertisement

  2. ARocker

    ARocker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,274
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011

    Aug 17, 2011
    1,274
    762
    233
    Male
    Jersey City, NJ
    Yea, thats 4shared...im not a fan of the site either...you should be able to find the auto root in the tmobile xda threads if you want. I'm afraid I dont have the link off hand.
     
  3. ARocker

    ARocker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,274
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011

    Aug 17, 2011
    1,274
    762
    233
    Male
    Jersey City, NJ
  4. bigboss954

    bigboss954 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012

    Feb 17, 2012
    51
    4
    16
    Parma,ID
    thanks i just tried the other root option you gave me. i factory reset the phone then boot it up to download mode then i installed the cf auto root via odin, right now im going through the setup, im getting alot of messages saying stuff like maps has stopped working or youtube has stopped working. is that normal or did i goof somewhere>

    edit: also not to be annoying with all the questions but i seem to be rooted now i finally see the supersu symbol in my apps folder but i still get that shield looking icon saying something tried to install without permission? theres no way to get rid of that since it samsungs doing correct?
     
  5. ARocker

    ARocker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,274
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011

    Aug 17, 2011
    1,274
    762
    233
    Male
    Jersey City, NJ
    Im still on 4.2 myself, so I dont know. You may want to post your experience in one of the 4.3 threads. Or just factory reset again and try the one I posted.
     
  6. bigboss954

    bigboss954 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012

    Feb 17, 2012
    51
    4
    16
    Parma,ID
    oh i didnt know, naw its cool. im going to fool around with it and try the apps the said they wasnt working. Now i just gotta find a rom compatible with my metro gs4 which i got a couple in mind which i will test out. thank you for all your help. It help me to finally get rooted.
     
  7. bucketbass

    bucketbass Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    74
    3
    16
    Ase Master Auto Tech
    Central, Fl
    So how do you un root and remove traces? I see nothing about this in the root guide. As warranty will require a stock phone. I am still on a Connect but the S4 is ordered. I used the warranty more than once on the Connect. But the Samsung product and jelly bean will be new to me. So I am here trying to learn As I hate there bloat wear.
     
  8. ARocker

    ARocker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,274
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011

    Aug 17, 2011
    1,274
    762
    233
    Male
    Jersey City, NJ
    That depends on how you get the phone. You see, if the phone comes with 4.2 firmware, you'll be able to unroot and triangle away, with no issue. If you get the S4 and it comes with 4.3 (or if you update to 4.3 yourself) you wont be able to remove traces if you flash (for now) because 4.3 comes with a new bootloader that is locked and triangle away doesn't work. The second you try to flash something with 4.3, you'll trip the switch on the new bootloader and it will show you voided your warranty with no way to hide it. Also, once you get the 4.3 update you wont be able to odin back to 4.2. BUT If you stay on 4.2 and don't take the 4.3 update you'll be able to flash 4.3 ROMS (all roms dont include the bootloader) with no warranty issues. I'm curious to find out if the phone comes with 4.3 or 4.2. Let us know.

    The unroot and remove traces for warranty process is the same with the S4 as other phones, I dont think that has changed. There may be some basic instructions in the http://androidforums.com/metropcs-g...t/773372-unofficial-m919nuvuamf2-working.html thread.
     
  9. danyvw

    danyvw Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #251
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    685
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    685
    208
    93
    USA
    If I remember well stock T-Mobile ROMs have the same shield like icon which is some security app installed in /system/apps. You can get rid of it using any file explorer after rooting.
     
  10. ARocker

    ARocker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,274
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011

    Aug 17, 2011
    1,274
    762
    233
    Male
    Jersey City, NJ
    Thats right danyvw.
     
  11. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    623
    Male
    lookout mobile?
     
  12. ARocker

    ARocker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,274
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011

    Aug 17, 2011
    1,274
    762
    233
    Male
    Jersey City, NJ
    [​IMG]
     
  13. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    623
    Male
    the shield :p

    [​IMG]

    tmobile has it as bloatware on all their devices, it scans every single app installed and is super annoying.
     
  14. ARocker

    ARocker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,274
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011

    Aug 17, 2011
    1,274
    762
    233
    Male
    Jersey City, NJ
    lol...oh yea.
     
  15. danyvw

    danyvw Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #251
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    685
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    685
    208
    93
    USA
    Yes. The same one.
     
  16. curtjone

    curtjone Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014

    Jan 10, 2014
    7
    1
    6
    Hi Guys,

    I followed the post and was able to get TWRP installed and I flashed the SuperSU but the phone still is not rooted. Can anybody help?
     
  17. ARocker

    ARocker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,274
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011

    Aug 17, 2011
    1,274
    762
    233
    Male
    Jersey City, NJ
    Yea, I found out by helping someone else root their phone that flashing the most recent SuperSU-v1.86.zip in recovery, doesn't root v4.3.

    Use odin instead to flash the CF Auto Root. That still works well. The CF-Root Download will get you rooted for sure. The howto flash the auto root with odin is posted in the http://androidforums.com/metropcs-g...cial-metropcs-s4-root-information-thread.html but I'm pretty sure its just like flashing TWRP.
     
    curtjone likes this.
  18. curtjone

    curtjone Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014

    Jan 10, 2014
    7
    1
    6
    I tried that method but it still did not work. Any other suggestions?

    Thanks
     
  19. ARocker

    ARocker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,274
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011

    Aug 17, 2011
    1,274
    762
    233
    Male
    Jersey City, NJ
    I dont know what to tell you...those are the root methods i'm aware of. I cant say why its not working for you. I would try again.

    So you downloaded the auto root, flashed it with odin and odin said it worked? Is there a supersu app in the app tray?
     
    curtjone likes this.
  20. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    623
    Male
  21. curtjone

    curtjone Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014

    Jan 10, 2014
    7
    1
    6
    Odin said pass! There is no supersu in the app tray. I tried it again put same result, no root.
     
  22. ARocker

    ARocker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,274
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011

    Aug 17, 2011
    1,274
    762
    233
    Male
    Jersey City, NJ
    curtjone likes this.
  23. curtjone

    curtjone Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014

    Jan 10, 2014
    7
    1
    6
    Just tried it guys. Still did not work. I have the MK5 version. It went through the process but no root access.

    Thanks for your help though.
     
  24. ARocker

    ARocker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,274
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011

    Aug 17, 2011
    1,274
    762
    233
    Male
    Jersey City, NJ
    Isnt MK5 a boost firmware?
     
  25. curtjone

    curtjone Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014

    Jan 10, 2014
    7
    1
    6

    No, I am on Metro PCS. GSM
     

Share This Page

Loading...