1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

MetroPCS S4 (SGH M919N) Getting official KitKat at the end of Jan?

Discussion in 'Metro PCS' started by stuntiNIN0, Jan 29, 2014.

  1. stuntiNIN0

    stuntiNIN0 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012

    Oct 18, 2012
    143
    24
    38
    So i had previously heard rumors that the Tmo and MPCS SGHM919N versions of the Galaxy S4 in the US would be getting official KitKat updates by the end of january, im wondering if anyone knows anything about this?
    I honestly have it a bit hard to believe since we got official jellybean not too long ago but then again KitKat has been out for almost 4 months now. Im just wondering since im sick and tired of the bloatware and stock rom on my S4 and im considering installing a kitkat developed rom that ive heard is stable

    Any ideas or suggestions?
     

    Advertisement

  2. the hulk

    the hulk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    690
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011

    Mar 11, 2011
    690
    186
    93
    Male
    Evil Genius, Jokers Apprentice
    Florida
    You might wanna update your title bud, gave me a little bit of hope for a second lol
     
  3. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    623
    Male
    seeing as teh note 3 still doesnt have it the s4 is second in line after that and it will be the international ones first.
     
  4. stuntiNIN0

    stuntiNIN0 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012

    Oct 18, 2012
    143
    24
    38
    Just in case anyone's interested i went ahead and installed a CM11 based 4.4 Kitkat ROM for the SGH M919 (Tmo S4) works good so far, still getting used to the new interface, i will say this to anyone considering installing it, consider all your TouchWiz features, if you find yourself being a big user of them then youll probably not enjoy this ROM as it does NOT have them, on the plus side the ROM is smooth and light, no lags or delays what so ever, and whats best, no MPCS BS bloatware.
    I followed many threads i found very useful on our GS4 subforum, i wanna give a huge thanks to @ARocker, answered all my noob questions and clarified any doubts i had.

    Anywho for those interested, just to make sure, do keep in mind that to do this you must first root your phone, then make a Back up(Custom Recovery), and Finally Install BOTH files: the ROM file of the version you desire (of CM11), AND the Gapps file.
    Just follow the steps on this thread very straight forward and noobproof
    [ROM] CyanogenMod 11.0 | Android 4.4 KitKat [UNOFFICIAL] [Jan-8]+[NIGHTLIES] - xda-developers
    albinoman887 is currently doing 'nightlies' versions, i used the one for 2/1/2014 since the one for 2/2/2014 would freeze when booting up.
    Once you've installed the ROM you will realize youre not getting 4G/LTE, in order to get it working again you must follow the simple steps on this guide
    http://androidforums.com/metropcs-g...96061-get-4g-lte-working-data-connection.html
    For those of you who havent rooted your S4, here is another simple guide on how to do it
    Root T-Mobile Samsung Galaxy S4 M919 on Android 4.2.2 using CF Auto-Root
    _____________OBVIOUS DISCLAIMER____________
    I'm NOT responsible for anything that happens to your phone, PROCEED AT YOUR OWN RISK and do keep in mind that by doing this you'll be voiding the warranties on your phone, IF youre careful enough and follow these simple steps, youll accomplish 4.4 CM11 KitKat on your SGH M919N, if not, you may end up Bricking your phone. Remember im NOT encouraging or suggesting anyone do this, I'm merely sharing my experience and sharing the steps i followed.
     
  5. DirtyDee

    DirtyDee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    2,205
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013

    Mar 18, 2013
    2,205
    441
    203
    Male
    Janitor/cook I know strange two jobs to have
    Detroit Michigan
    Did you add the Google experience launcher? I don't run kit Kat with out it :!
     
  6. stuntiNIN0

    stuntiNIN0 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012

    Oct 18, 2012
    143
    24
    38
    yes sir, it was included in the Gapps package i used, liking it so far!
     
  7. stuntiNIN0

    stuntiNIN0 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012

    Oct 18, 2012
    143
    24
    38
    any word on when we can expect official kitkat?
    seems like almost every other carrier has it by now...
     
  8. Joshuah22a

    Joshuah22a Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    May 6, 2011

    May 6, 2011
    593
    62
    78
    Male
    Sucks that tmo users have it and not metro users
     
  9. DirtyDee

    DirtyDee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    2,205
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013

    Mar 18, 2013
    2,205
    441
    203
    Male
    Janitor/cook I know strange two jobs to have
    Detroit Michigan
    Are you guys able to flash tmobile variant via Kies?
     
  10. danyvw

    danyvw Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    685
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    685
    208
    93
    USA
    I've never done it. But if you change build.prop settings from MetroPCS to T-Mobile Its very possible.
     
  11. kb0sdq

    kb0sdq Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    210
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011

    Nov 12, 2011
    210
    42
    53
    Male
    Disabled
    Oldsmar,Fl
    Howdy guys,
    For what it is worth I got tired of waiting for Metro to push kitkat so I flashed my Metro S4 over to t-mobiles firmware and it updated to kitkat no problems at all.
    It still uses metro's service, but reception seems to be better.
    You can find the thread here http://http://androidforums.com/met...4-install-4-4-2-tw-metro-m919n-how-guide.html

    You do not have to root the phone or anything just flash the firmware thru odin do factory reset and done you have kitkat
    Hope this helps,
     
  12. stuntiNIN0

    stuntiNIN0 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012

    Oct 18, 2012
    143
    24
    38
    im currently rooted and on a custom ROM (CM11 kitkat made for Tmo S4)
    How exactly can i do this? do i have to switch back to the stock metro ROM and then do this or can i load the ROM straight from my current ROM as my phone sits currently?
    thanks in advance
     
  13. kb0sdq

    kb0sdq Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    210
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011

    Nov 12, 2011
    210
    42
    53
    Male
    Disabled
    Oldsmar,Fl
    Howdy StuntiNINO,
    I flashed mine from MetroPCS firmware 4.3 no root or anything.
    So I do not know and would hate to advise you wrong.
    Maybe post your question in the thread I linked and see if the OP can direct you.
    Hope this helps,
     
  14. timmyh318

    timmyh318 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    539
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012

    Jan 10, 2012
    539
    130
    103

    You should be able to flash it straight form Odin just fine. Keep it mind it will break root and install stock recovery.
     
    kb0sdq likes this.
  15. stuntiNIN0

    stuntiNIN0 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012

    Oct 18, 2012
    143
    24
    38
    I've been using the Official Tmo KitKat ROM for about 4 weeks now, anyone know if the Metro M919N S4 has gotten its official KitKat OTA ?
     
  16. TexMcFaden

    TexMcFaden Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 9, 2014

    May 9, 2014
    1
    0
    5
    Since my Metro PCS S4 doesn't seem to update itself and we get no notification of new OS availability, I did not realize that I was still stuck on 4.2.2 until trying to sync a Bluetooth Smart device, which requires 4.3 and above.

    Metro PCS does not have KitKat yet, according to an outside website listing most current OS for each carrier, and based on the size of this update, which is still downoading on WiFi, but is the exact size of the 4.3 download.

    I understand that KitKat is fairly small, according to what I've read, and there might be some issues.

    Well, that's nothing new for Metro PCS customers... nothing, including their customer service, is ever without issues. LOL
     
  17. DirtyDee

    DirtyDee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    2,205
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013

    Mar 18, 2013
    2,205
    441
    203
    Male
    Janitor/cook I know strange two jobs to have
    Detroit Michigan
    I can imagine an athurized dealer saying to you we don't sell candy if you ask when KitKat is coming
     
  18. the hulk

    the hulk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    690
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011

    Mar 11, 2011
    690
    186
    93
    Male
    Evil Genius, Jokers Apprentice
    Florida
    I take offense to that, well not really, alot of dealers really dont know.
     
  19. stuntiNIN0

    stuntiNIN0 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012

    Oct 18, 2012
    143
    24
    38
    I went ahead and flashed the official Tmo M919 4.4.2 KitKat ROM about a month ago, i'd say its the closest thing to the official MPCS Kitkat update that may never come to the m919n.
     
  20. orlandoeduran

    orlandoeduran Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    May 9, 2014

    May 9, 2014
    13
    1
    16
    The Ota update to 4.4.4....is alive and kickin.....it made my metro pcs branded s4 way better, dramatically increased signal strength, and can now launch camera from locked screen.....the build date was Sept 17th 2014.......if it doesn't do ota, try using kies 3 from the pc......good luck and keep on moddin
     
  21. timbrown23

    timbrown23 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    46
    5
    16
    Just got the Kit Kat 4.4.4 update for my galaxy mega. Had to go to settings and manually search for the update, it wouldn't allow download over cellular network had to do it over WiFi. Got the camera launch on the launch screen, seems a bit snappier.
     
  22. averagewonder

    averagewonder Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    532
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

    Jul 23, 2012
    532
    86
    78
    Male
    Student/C.N.A
    Palm Coast, Fla
    Got mine last month for my S4 seem to be dropping data over cellular. Never happened before the update.
     
  23. BlueMuscles

    BlueMuscles Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    267
    15
    38
    Female
    NYC

    Hey,

    I also have the Mega and have been holding off on this update . Was waiting for the kinks to be cleared up.

    Well I'm ready to update and was wondering how's your Galaxy Mega been behaving since you got the upgrade to Kit Kat 4.4.4 ?

    Thanks
     
  24. BlueMuscles

    BlueMuscles Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    267
    15
    38
    Female
    NYC
    OMG

    I decided to update overnight while I slept. Update went fine.

    Tried to get online and visit some websites and it sucks !

    It literally took me almost 15 minutes to sign in here and post this. Same thing with every website.

    My speed is at a crawl as if it's dial up.

    I have $60 plan unlimited here in NYC .

    What are my options to get this fix ?

    Thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...