1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [MetroPCS & T-Mobile] Any Custom ROMS?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by virus5150, Sep 26, 2013.

  1. duper1

    duper1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013

    Aug 21, 2013
    109
    38
    43
    Metro Detroit
    - Yeah I agree most of that stuff needs to go, but I use that Wifi calling. Sometimes for work I have no service in metal buildings but the luxury of connecting to a wifi signal, priceless.
     

    Advertisement

  2. GameTheory

    GameTheory Android Expert
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    743
    Posts:
    4,283
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

  3. OneOverCosine

    OneOverCosine Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014

    Jan 26, 2014
    8
    3
    6
    There's no system/etc/fota in my phone/nandroid backup.

    There is a /data/fota though, but there aren't any files inside.
     
  4. GameTheory

    GameTheory Android Expert
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    743
    Posts:
    4,283
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

    delete
     
    dazemc likes this.
  5. duper1

    duper1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013

    Aug 21, 2013
    109
    38
    43
    Metro Detroit
    - Update on progress? please and thank you.
     
  6. dazemc

    dazemc Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013

    Aug 2, 2013
    50
    7
    16
    Male
    Minium wage alcoholic
    Seattle, Washington
    I am also willing to test ROM's so throw them at me...I'm 'decent' at tracing bugs

    EDIT: I have the phone...I'm on metropcs and I know my way around a shell...I'm on archlinux natively as well
     
  7. Rev222

    Rev222 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014

    Mar 12, 2014
    1
    0
    5
    Any update on this GameTheory? Would LOVE a custom rom for my metropcs f3.

    Thank you!!!
     
  8. terrell russell

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2014

    Apr 12, 2014
    3
    0
    5
    Hey gamer theory did you ever get that custom rom done or what man ???
     
  9. MrGlowy

    MrGlowy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    648
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012

    Feb 15, 2012
    648
    135
    113
    Male
    High School Student
    California
    They take awhile to build. Be patient.
     
  10. terrell russell

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2014

    Apr 12, 2014
    3
    0
    5
    Hey man its been 3 months!....do you know when itll be done?
     
  11. MrGlowy

    MrGlowy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    648
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012

    Feb 15, 2012
    648
    135
    113
    Male
    High School Student
    California
    Have you tried building a rom? They take time. Trial and error. I'm sure when it's done it'll be awesome.
     
    D-U-R-X and EarlyMon like this.
  12. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,589
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,589
    70,380
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    I've been on a rom team. At XDA.

    1. You don't know what you're talking about.

    2. Whatever you get, you get for free. Don't ask for time estimates.

    3. It's a really good idea to lighten up on the attitude. There's no call for it.

    Thread cleaned of such nonsense.
     
  13. MrGlowy

    MrGlowy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    648
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012

    Feb 15, 2012
    648
    135
    113
    Male
    High School Student
    California
    I know we're going to get something awesome. So just be patient bud.
     
    GameTheory and EarlyMon like this.
  14. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,589
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,589
    70,380
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    And stay mellow, maybe offer to help if you have time. ;) :)
     
    GameTheory and MrGlowy like this.
  15. GameTheory

    GameTheory Android Expert
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    743
    Posts:
    4,283
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

    A couple guys and myself have been trying to make a rom, but LG has really locked down the f3 and f6. The roms bootup, but all apps start to crash upon bootup. Seems LG has some type of system check in place. Also I don't own an f3 so I'm working on an f6, but trying to help with f3. There's also someone working on a device tree for CM, but that can take a long time.

    Anyways, if you need a rom really bad and can't wait, now's a good time to start learning how to make one. ;)
     
    RainbouJ, gherkaul and EarlyMon like this.
  16. terrell russell

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2014

    Apr 12, 2014
    3
    0
    5
    Alright well thanks for the update man
     
  17. frosthax1

    frosthax1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    375
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    375
    135
    98
    Male
    Modding Guru
    Jacksonville,Florida
    i probably bricked my phone again but ive been trying to test based on what you have ways too get samurai to work on the f6.i noticed something though.using the spirit rom of it on the 12b update and then flashing over the kernal with the freedom kernal for 12b i dont get a boot lock and its flashing colors with a blank screen like it might actually be trying to install it.it may or may not work im still waiting for it to stop flashing and get on with it but even if it doesnt work there has to be something there with that updated kernal to get past the boot lock sector.perhaps a polish around that can be done.ill let you know if it ever works but its food for thoght still if it doesnt
     
  18. AquaVolt

    AquaVolt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    307
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014

    Jun 27, 2014
    307
    51
    63
    Male
    High School Student
    New York, United States
    So this thread has been quiet for a while now and I just want to ask if the custom rom is not discontinued or anything
     
  19. Anubis2k3

    Anubis2k3 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    19
    0
    25
    Male
    Oceanside, CA
    I remember reading that there has been many attempts to get a custom ROM booting, but there been errors with apps crashing upon start up. There was talk about lg having some hardware checks in place that cause problems and no signal. So to say the least, it may be a while...

    CM we may never see. I've seen developers go many, many, months trying to build a device tree for an unsupported phone. This device prob won't make alpha stages of a CM build, although I am really hoping that I am wrong.

    I have started to read up on trying some ROM building myself. There's just so many guides out there and I'm not sure which one to go by. Lol
     
  20. AquaVolt

    AquaVolt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    307
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014

    Jun 27, 2014
    307
    51
    63
    Male
    High School Student
    New York, United States
    Yeah I guess you're right, by the time a custom rom is developed this phone will probably already be old and unsupported by google since the last update is 4.1.2 and I don't see any kitkat rumors coming true anytime soon. So I guess we should just appreciate what we have with root, recovery, and kernel. A rom we might never see :(

    PS: I don't recommend trying to make a rom yourself since others couldn't do it so you'll probably just spend many days wasted and just end up raging over a phone that just can't get a rom built for it.
     
  21. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    I may try my hand at modifying the stock rom. Honestly, the stock on this phone is quite good, and with the Freedom kernel and some debloating, it may well be just the trick. We'll see...
     
  22. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    Alright, I've begun work on a new rom, based on stock. I plan on debloating it and adding a few tweaks, and a touch of gentle theming. After I have a chance to do some testing I'll make a thread for it.
     
    RainbouJ likes this.
  23. dazemc

    dazemc Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013

    Aug 2, 2013
    50
    7
    16
    Male
    Minium wage alcoholic
    Seattle, Washington
    How were you able to flash the rom? I haven't been able to flash anything from stock...I was thinking maybe my updater-script was the problem...but, I changed my filesystems in the script...I don't know just curious how you were able to flash anything you got from stock
     
  24. libr8gnu

    libr8gnu Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014

    Aug 11, 2014
    8
    0
    5
  25. GameTheory

    GameTheory Android Expert
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    743
    Posts:
    4,283
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

Share This Page

Loading...