1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [MetroPCS & T-Mobile] LG F3 Legally Unlocked Tmobile Won't Root!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by rockstarfromnyc, Feb 13, 2014.

  1. rockstarfromnyc

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014

    Feb 13, 2014
    7
    0
    5
    Hello all developers,

    Getting this weird message. I have tried to root my LG Optimus F3 bought from T-Mobile and unlocked officially using their code.

    I don't know what I am doing wrong.

    I have the LG United USB drivers installed! (I can explore and add photos to my phone via the USB on my Windows XP computer)

    I have also installed the Google USB Drivers using the Android SDK Manager.

    I tried rooting the phone using Motochopper but keep getting Failure message. It installs the Superuser and that's it.

    Any idea what I am doing wrong or what I should do to root my phone?

    It says I have LG-P659 Phone

    Please help!!

    Pasting from my screen shot since I'm a new user on this forum! Any help will be appreciated!!
    -----------------------------------------------------------------



    [*]
    [*] Motochopper: Android root exploit (Windows version)
    [*] v1.1
    [*] by Dan Rosenberg (@djrbliss)
    [*]
    [*] Tested on the Motorola Razr HD, Razr M, Razr Maxx HD, and Atrix HD.
    [*] Supports lots of other devices as well. ;-)
    [*]
    [*] Before continuing, ensure that USB debugging is enabled, that you
    [*] have the latest USB drivers installed, and that your phone
    [*] is connected via USB.
    [*]
    [*] WARNING: This will likely void the warranty on your device. I am
    [*] not responsible for any damage to your phone as a result using this
    [*] tool.
    [*]
    [*] Press enter to root your phone...
    Press any key to continue . . .
    [*]
    [*] Waiting for device...
    * daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
    * daemon started successfully *
    [*] Device found.
    [*] Pushing exploit...
    4010 KB/s (1283460 bytes in 0.312s)
    [*] Pushing root tools...
    3276 KB/s (366952 bytes in 0.109s)
    3647 KB/s (1867568 bytes in 0.500s)
    3402 KB/s (1578585 bytes in 0.453s)
    pkg: /data/local/tmp/Superuser.apk
    Success
    [*] Rooting phone...
    [+] This may take a few minutes.
    [-] Failure.
    [*] Cleaning up...
    [*] Exploit complete. Press enter to reboot and exit.
    Press any key to continue . . .
     

    Advertisement

  2. Fox Mulder

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #68
    Points:
    393
    Posts:
    1,726
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    1,726
    1,268
    393
    NYC
    If you just got the phone recently it probably has the lastest version firmware, which can't be rooted with motochopper. Use Saferoot instead.
    You can check the version under settings/about phone/software, most likely it's version c.
     
  3. rockstarfromnyc

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014

    Feb 13, 2014
    7
    0
    5
    Thank you Fox Mulder. You were right, Motochopper wasn't able to root it so I used saferoot and was able to root it. Thank you!!

    Another question!!

    I tried changing the default install directory using the adb shell pm setinstalllocation 2 command so I can change it to the external card however it keeps giving me error messages. Says command is not recognized then a whole bunch or commands.

    I want to be able to move the Nonmovable apps to External card (Yes I know that I shouldn't move the widgets, important system apps and stuff like that!) but stupid apps like Facebook, Chrome, etc keep taking lot of space!

    Any help would be appreciated!

    Thanks again for your advice and stay warm in this horrible winter storm!!

    RockstarNYC
     
  4. rockstarfromnyc

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014

    Feb 13, 2014
    7
    0
    5
    OK I googled the new command and its working now EXCEPT for Google products. For example I moved the FB app to SD Card along with other apps. But none of the google products will move. So how do I fix that?

    Also, I have lookout security that came pre-installed on my phone. I want to get rid of that and install CM security. But it won't let me uninstall it:rolleyes:. How do I do that?

    Thanks!:)
     
  5. kenboyles72

    kenboyles72 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011

    Feb 19, 2011
    148
    55
    63
    Male
    PPA Admin
    Lookout is installed as a system app, therefor you will need an un-installer with root privileges. I personally would recommend Titanium Backup, this app has a free and paid version. If you can afford the paid version, it is well worth the small price.
     
  6. rockstarfromnyc

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014

    Feb 13, 2014
    7
    0
    5
    Ok Thanks Ken!

    Appreciate the answer. I was able to uninstall Lookout using the Clean Master app by giving it root privileges.

    Question. If I do any system update will I lose my rooting privileges? I have already updated my android system to the latest one. But in case in future, I install any updates will it take away any rooting privileges?

    Thanks!
     
  7. kenboyles72

    kenboyles72 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011

    Feb 19, 2011
    148
    55
    63
    Male
    PPA Admin
    Yeah, any ota updates or updates through the LGMobile Support Tool will wipe out your root.
     

Share This Page

Loading...