1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [MetroPCS & T-Mobile] New Full v10J ROM Flashable *Updated 9/26/2015*

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by GameTheory, Jun 30, 2015.

  1. GameTheory

    GameTheory Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #42
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    3,998
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

    [​IMG]


    For Metro PCS MS631 & T-Mobile H631 LG G Stylo only.

    Here's a flashable zip I made for updating to the new v10J firmware update released by LG on September 21, 2015. This is a full update including the new kernel and modem. This update patches the stagefright vulnerability in android.
    • Full update to v10J no matter what firmware version you're on
    • Rom comes rooted so you don't need to root or re-install twrp
    • Zip auto wipes cache and dalvik so you don't need to wipe anything
    • Just flash the zip and you're done
    Downloads & Instructions:
    http://androidcreations.weebly.com/flashable-update-zip.html

    Like my work? Click the like button. Thanks ;)

    Change Log in post #2
     

    Advertisement

    #1 GameTheory, Jun 30, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2015
    andro1d5, viperdink, stovo06 and 19 others like this.
  2. GameTheory

    GameTheory Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #42
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    3,998
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

    Change Log

    9/26/2015
    • can now be flashed over any firmware version
    • comes pre-rooted

    9/22/2015
    • update to firmware "10j"

    8/20/2015
    • update to firmware "10i"

    6/30/2015
    • update to firmware "10d"
     
    #2 GameTheory, Jun 30, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2015
    andro1d5, stovo06, 209pcs and 6 others like this.
  3. bnb25

    bnb25 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    2,617
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    2,617
    376
    173
    Male
    Michigan
    Thanks GT!! It's working great. Data speeds blazing now. apps open and close a lot quicker.
     
    GameTheory likes this.
  4. Kolma528

    Kolma528 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    69
    45
    23
    (off topic but can't wait till boost version gets TWRP so that I can update)
     
  5. bnb25

    bnb25 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    2,617
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    2,617
    376
    173
    Male
    Michigan
    from what I know, the boost version has a locked bootloader. that usually makes it more difficult. But, hopefully you guys get it figured out.
     
  6. AP2FTW

    AP2FTW Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    579
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012

    Nov 24, 2012
    579
    260
    133
    just got the ota pushed to my phone but i think ill do this instead...really appreciate all the hard work everyone has put in on this new device already


    edit im just curious though...if we get more ota updates pushed to this phone, you'll be able to make a rom out of those too somehow yeah?
     
    #6 AP2FTW, Jun 30, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2015
    GameTheory likes this.
  7. bnb25

    bnb25 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    2,617
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    2,617
    376
    173
    Male
    Michigan
    It's been done on other phones I've had. Someone always finds a way. These guys are like tech superheros!!
     
    GameTheory and AP2FTW like this.
  8. GameTheory

    GameTheory Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #42
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    3,998
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

    Just got back from work and have some spare time. Can someone post me a link to the t-mobile kdz so that I can make a flashable 5.1.1 update for you guys. ;)

    Also note, you should update with what I post in this thread to avoid getting your bootloader locked. Heath my warning.
     
    viperdink and bnb25 like this.
  9. AP2FTW

    AP2FTW Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    579
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012

    Nov 24, 2012
    579
    260
    133
    it worked perfectly thank you gametheory
     
    bnb25 and GameTheory like this.
  10. bnb25

    bnb25 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    2,617
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    2,617
    376
    173
    Male
    Michigan
    I envision GT being like a race car driver during the day. Then when he comes home, he presses a hidden button on the book self that opens a secret door with a big light to his basement that reveal a tech headquarters. He slides down a pole. When he comes down the other end He's dressed in shiny black shoes, knee high white socks, Dress pants way to short, A white button up shirt tucked in with a pen protector in the pocket. Thick Black rimmed glasses and his hair slicked back.
     
  11. GameTheory

    GameTheory Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #42
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    3,998
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

    Ahahahahaha ROTFLMFAO! I could only wish.
     
    TegraDroid, 6th_Hokage and bnb25 like this.
  12. AP2FTW

    AP2FTW Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    579
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012

    Nov 24, 2012
    579
    260
    133
    hey gt, is there an xml file or somewhere that i can edit to get the metropcs logo off my lockscreen?
     
  13. GameTheory

    GameTheory Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #42
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    3,998
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

    I haven't looked into it, but it's usually in the framework.
     
    AP2FTW likes this.
  14. AP2FTW

    AP2FTW Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    579
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012

    Nov 24, 2012
    579
    260
    133
    thanks. i vaguely remember messing with the framework on my s3...ill have to try and remember how i did it
     
  15. GameTheory

    GameTheory Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #42
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    3,998
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

    Alright guys post updated to include the T-mobile android 5.1.1 flashable update. ;)

    As a reminder, you should update with what I post in this thread to avoid getting your bootloader locked.
     
  16. AP2FTW

    AP2FTW Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    579
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012

    Nov 24, 2012
    579
    260
    133
    sorry to bother you again gt, but im just wondering, since there are different updates for tmo/metro, does that mean there will need to be separate builds for custom roms that get made?
     
  17. GameTheory

    GameTheory Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #42
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    3,998
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

    This was seperate for update purposes, but for custom roms and kernels they should be interchangeable. So far previous phones of the same model that T-mo and Metro have carried have been interchangeable like the F6 & F3.
     
  18. bnb25

    bnb25 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    2,617
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    2,617
    376
    173
    Male
    Michigan
    I wonder what would happen if someone were to flash say the Tmo update on to the metro phone.. Not that I'd do that. I don't have any reason to. It was just a thought that popped in my head.
     
  19. GameTheory

    GameTheory Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #42
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    3,998
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

    I'm pretty sure it should work. We were flashing opposite kdz firmwares with the F6 & F3 without issue. The stylo doesn't look any different.

    I just noticed the new power menu. Looks pretty slick.
     
  20. bnb25

    bnb25 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    2,617
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    2,617
    376
    173
    Male
    Michigan
    oooo that's purdy.

    I was just wondering because one guy wanted to swap out his metro sim for a tmo and the phone wouldn't let him. I was thinking maybe using the tmo update would let him switch them.
     
  21. GameTheory

    GameTheory Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #42
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    3,998
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

    It's possible, he would have to try. I wish metro was like t-mo so that I can pop my sim in any new gsm phone and be good to go with no fuss.
     
    bnb25 likes this.
  22. bnb25

    bnb25 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    2,617
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    2,617
    376
    173
    Male
    Michigan
    Yeah me too. Way back when i had tmo, I use to do that. I had 3 phones I'd swap the card between. I don't get why metro is so fussy with that. What does it matter what phone a person is using as long as its on your network that is being paid for.
     
    GameTheory likes this.
  23. DrakenFX

    DrakenFX Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    146
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015

    thank you GT for the Flashable Update Zip i'll leave this screencapture just to confirm Tmo is a go :D :p
     

    Attached Files:

    horsecharles and GameTheory like this.
  24. GameTheory

    GameTheory Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #42
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    3,998
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

    Thanks I needed that screeny so I can add it to the OP. ;)
     
    DrakenFX likes this.
  25. DrakenFX

    DrakenFX Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    146
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015

    is all your pal, i'm using yours as well for the XDA OP Thread :p ;)
     
    GameTheory likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...