1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [MetroPCS] Wifi tether

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by genmiami, Oct 9, 2013.

  1. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    723
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    723
    Male
    she has the 30 dolalr plan so no tethering is included for her, hence my confusion.

    if it turns out it detects chromeos in a special way and that allows full access without user agent switching to a mobile device (which results in mobile sites etc. then it may be worth looking into so people can tether and have a "desktop" browser that works fine :)
     

    Advertisement

    ARocker likes this.
  2. ARocker

    ARocker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,274
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011

    Aug 17, 2011
    1,274
    764
    233
    Male
    Jersey City, NJ
    This one works well so far :)



    This one doesnt :(

    This is the Chrome OS user agent? Interesting.
     
  3. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    723
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    723
    Male
    thats her hp chromebook 11's user agent.
     
  4. ARocker

    ARocker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,274
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011

    Aug 17, 2011
    1,274
    764
    233
    Male
    Jersey City, NJ
    Still not working for me. Cant even load AF.

    The first user agent akmsr posted seems to work best for me so far.
     
  5. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    723
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    723
    Male
    interesting, i only have 500MB's so i dont really wanna piss it all away again in teh first few days of service :p
     
  6. akmsr

    akmsr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    394
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012

    Sep 28, 2012
    394
    97
    53
    forest hill, fl
    First one I use myself. It's Firefox version 24 which is two versions order than current one. So it works :D
    The other one is the latest chrome.
    Sorry to break it to you but her $30 plan does include 100MB free tethering. So it may be she is still using the allowed data. You will know for sure when she passes that.

    To successfully use a string you have to go at least two versions older. I'm on my phone now. Tomorrow I'll get the proper string when I get to my laptop. Really hate to browse on a phone:rolleyes: that's why I strive to find a string that gives me the perfect browser experience :D
     
  7. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    723
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    723
    Male
    ah, good to know that would certainly explain it.
     
  8. akmsr

    akmsr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    394
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012

    Sep 28, 2012
    394
    97
    53
    forest hill, fl
    chrome 31
    Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/31.0.1650.16 Safari/537.36

    chrome 30
    Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.2; WOW64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/30.0.1599.17 Safari/537.36
     
  9. rangerrob

    rangerrob Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011

    Sep 13, 2011
    166
    27
    43
    Tried to tether to xbox 360. It will connect but won't update.
     
  10. ARocker

    ARocker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,274
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011

    Aug 17, 2011
    1,274
    764
    233
    Male
    Jersey City, NJ
    I found these directions, but they are for a different phone and a different app.
    How to tether your phone to PS3/Xbox/Wii etc. - xda-developers
    You can try to adapt these directions to work with the app we use for tethering.

    Good Luck!
     
  11. youngSWi

    youngSWi Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    241
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012

    Aug 22, 2012
    241
    16
    38
    So I'm on the OTA 4.3 with root access, no flags :) ... Will this app work for me if I buy it? No recovery or rom.
     
  12. youngSWi

    youngSWi Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    241
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012

    Aug 22, 2012
    241
    16
    38
    Got it, and it works with the right settings and IE, now to get my ps3 on it!
     
  13. noirelion

    noirelion Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010

    Nov 6, 2010
    34
    5
    16
    Male
    blue collar slob.
    Philadelphia PA (gtown)
    what settings do you use?
    I can't get the tether working on any other than 4.2.2 roms (where it works great with user agent spoofing)....

    but with 4.3 and 4.4 roms.. it sort of connects but it doesn't work...

    anyone have any ideas?
     
  14. youngSWi

    youngSWi Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    241
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012

    Aug 22, 2012
    241
    16
    38
    I used danyvw's instructions, turned it on, then connected to the wifi with my laptop, IE works, but chrome takes you to a hot spot page.
     
  15. ARocker

    ARocker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,274
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011

    Aug 17, 2011
    1,274
    764
    233
    Male
    Jersey City, NJ
    It doesnt work with all roms apparently. I understand that stock rooted touchwiz works well. 4.2 and 4.3 touchwiz work for a fact...At&t have the only 4.4 touchwiz leaked rom available I believe.
     
  16. stuntiNIN0

    stuntiNIN0 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012

    Oct 18, 2012
    143
    24
    38
    Just rooted my S4 and bought the app to use it with my newly purchased Surface Pro II.
    First attempt to open up Chrome on my Pro and i got the Metro website, so then i simply added https:// before anything and its worked so far, although i must admit its a bit annoying, then i downloaded an agent switcher and while it works on some sites, on others you get the mobile version of the site which is also pretty annoying. Still pretty usable overall though i cant complain, not like im trying to leech off my MPCS line for my home internet or to download absurd amounts of data as some here like to do, just to make my Pro II usable where ever my phone is since im always on the go.
    Only issue im having is that i was planning to install a KitKat ROM on my S4 but after reading these last posts it seems like this app, which appears to be the only way to get wifi tethering from out non-tethering plans, does not work with other ROMs and versions of android. any input would be greatly appreciated.
     
  17. ARocker

    ARocker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,274
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011

    Aug 17, 2011
    1,274
    764
    233
    Male
    Jersey City, NJ
    You've got it right. For kitkat, you'll have to wait until it gets released for our device to get free tethering. Feel free to experiment with other roms though. You dont know unless you try it for yourself.
     
  18. stuntiNIN0

    stuntiNIN0 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012

    Oct 18, 2012
    143
    24
    38
    Quick update:
    I went ahead and installed a CM11 4.4 Kitkat ROM on my SGHM919N S4.
    And as of today i can vouch for tethering still working on the later versions of CM11 4.4 (at least the 2/1/14 Nightlie) with this exact app.
     
    ARocker likes this.
  19. mgibson041387

    mgibson041387 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012

    Jan 9, 2012
    26
    4
    16
    Sacramento
    Why not use droidwall to block data trafic from metro hotspot, in order to avoid all this guess work. Spints mobile hotspot app was a pain till someone said to block the hotspots trafic while using another teathering app to do the deed. Or just use rom toolbox to disable the metro hotspot app all together since on some phones hotspot is integrated into other apps.
     
  20. king lion

    king lion Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012

    Oct 20, 2012
    124
    11
    38
    Male
    miami fl
    do the phone have to be rooted?
     
  21. dcap0187

    dcap0187 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    239
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013

    Jan 22, 2013
    239
    83
    53
    indentured servant
    miami
    Yes it does
     
  22. king lion

    king lion Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012

    Oct 20, 2012
    124
    11
    38
    Male
    miami fl
  23. garana

    garana Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014

    Aug 10, 2014
    1
    0
    5
    Thx so much Danyvw (& Fabio)! I just got new Metropcs Galaxy S4 about 2 months ago & got it rooted but they couldn't get it to tether. This app plus your settings (posted 11/6/13 4:48pm) worked beautifully! Channel 6 didn't work but it worked with Channel 2 for me. I am posting this msg from my Galaxy Tab 3 tethering from my Galaxy S4. Thx again!
     
  24. eskrape

    eskrape Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014

    Jul 13, 2014
    6
    0
    5
    Male
    El Monte, CA
    so can i usb tether? :eek:
     
  25. ARocker

    ARocker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,274
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011

    Aug 17, 2011
    1,274
    764
    233
    Male
    Jersey City, NJ
    Not with the program talked about in this thread.
     

Share This Page

Loading...