1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General microsd question

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by heavydrop, May 12, 2010.

  1. heavydrop

    heavydrop Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010

    Apr 28, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    im a noob on the forums so bare with me. how much microsd memory can you put in the incredible? i have seen 2 different specs: one for 32GB. and one for 16GB. THANK YOU FOR ANY HELP
     

    Advertisement

  2. nightfishing

    nightfishing Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    588
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    588
    111
    93
    32, but few are going that route due to the cost.
     
  3. MisterMixelpix

    MisterMixelpix Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    774
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    774
    153
    113
    Youth Counselor
    PA
    I thought the Dinc could only use a 16?

    Regardless, I'd rather drop $20 on a 16gb card than $90 on a 32.
     
  4. kyler13

    kyler13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,638
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    1,638
    284
    163
    Annapolis, MD
    I'd love to pay either of those prices for either of those size cards. The truth is, those prices sound more like regular SD, not micro SD. Multiply those numbers by 2 and that's more realistic.
     
  5. amarryat

    amarryat Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    365
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    365
    41
    43
    MA
    So would I!

    To the OP - micro sdhc cards are about $200 for a 32GB. I got a 16GB for about $50 but you could a bit better, maybe $40ish if you are lucky.
     
  6. needtoride

    needtoride Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    29
    0
    15
    From what I've read, the DI supports up to 32gb.
     
  7. douger

    douger Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    From what I've read, Androids don't really play nice with 32gb yet. You're OK if you can get past formating it.

    I've also read that douger isn't getting 32gb until the price comes waaay down.
     
  8. TKollman88

    TKollman88 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    80
    1
    36
  9. murdoc158

    murdoc158 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010

    Apr 28, 2010
    79
    9
    16
    Ok a question about SDHC cards. I don't have a card reader on my PC that supports the SDHC format. From what I've read though, the Incredible will mount as a disk drive with both the internal drive and the Mirco SD drive available when you connect with a USB cable. Is this correct? Can I essentially use the Incredible as a SDHC card reader?
     
  10. TKollman88

    TKollman88 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    80
    1
    36

    As far as I know, you cannot. I tried because I didn't want to keep taking my case off every time I wanted to add music or something but it did not work.:(

    Edit: Nevermind, Yes you can. A notification will pop up on the phone and you have to put it into disk mode. I stand corrected.
     
  11. sirsamuels

    sirsamuels Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    4
    0
    25
    I am a nob as well and thought that this would be the best place to ask my question. I have the incredible and wanted to know if there was a way to make the sd card the primary place to store my pictures and music. Basically making it the primary memory?
     
  12. paynomind

    paynomind Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    29
    1
    16
    ATL
  13. below_radar_00

    below_radar_00 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #675
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    125
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    125
    8
    36
    Charleston, SC
  14. nightfishing

    nightfishing Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    588
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    588
    111
    93
  15. scott51

    scott51 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    7
    0
    5
  16. amarryat

    amarryat Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    365
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    365
    41
    43
    MA
    I have learned something from reading these forums, and that is there is little reason to go with a class 6 in a phone - class 2 should easily be sufficient. Class ratings only have to do with write speeds, and unless you are doing something that writes to the card and you need it done in high speed (and the phone could actually handle it), you are probably wasting money.

    That Sandisk looks just like the one I just got - but I paid quite a bit more :(
     
  17. TheCepper

    TheCepper Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Allow me to put the 16/32gb thing to rest. I just got a 32 gig Micro SD in the mail and it is working fine. I didn't have to format anything, just put it in the phone and it recognized it with no problem. As to whether I'll have issues once I get more than 16 gigs of info on the card I can't say, but for now no problem.

    In case anyone's curious, I ordered mine directly from Sandisk, and yes, it was $200 (less 20% for online coupon). And yes, I paid more for the SD card than I did the phone. And yes, I'm aware they'll probably be half that cost in a year.
     
  18. SFBayArea

    SFBayArea Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    270
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    270
    16
    38
  19. needtoride

    needtoride Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    29
    0
    15
    Yeah, I've read the same thing. People get around it by formatting the card on their PC before inserting it into the DI.
     

Share This Page

Loading...