1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Microsoft windows 10 startup issue

Discussion in 'Computers' started by GodLovesYou, Jun 14, 2016.

  1. GodLovesYou

    GodLovesYou Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    255
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016

    Jan 25, 2016
    255
    43
    43
    Hey hey guys!

    So, I've been questioning this for a while and I can't understand why this problem wasn't fix by Microsoft. I am working at a computer systems department and we manage the users and support them. Lately an issue that is known by everyone that actually use the Windows 10 OS. Basically for the people who might don't know sometimes the startup menu does not work and we need to make some easy things to put this on.

    I've decided to make this post because I think it should be fixed by them. Do you agree with me or I am saying something wrong?
     

    Advertisement

  2. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    37,292
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    37,292
    36,037
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    I'm not quite following. Are you saying that sometimes the start menu won't open? Or that you need to add something to the start menu?
     
  3. GodLovesYou

    GodLovesYou Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    255
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016

    Jan 25, 2016
    255
    43
    43
    The startup menu does not open. Basically does not work
     
  4. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    37,292
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    37,292
    36,037
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    do you have search? I've never seen that happen.
     
  5. GodLovesYou

    GodLovesYou Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    255
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016

    Jan 25, 2016
    255
    43
    43
    You don't?? Is one of the bugs that people most talk about from Windows 10
     
  6. psionandy

    psionandy Android Expert
    Rank:
     #22
    Points:
    1,138
    Posts:
    5,405
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009

    Dec 5, 2009
    5,405
    7,767
    1,138
    Male
    Gizmonic Institute - mug in a yellow jumpsuit
    liverpool
    Not a problem for me either
     
  7. GodLovesYou

    GodLovesYou Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    255
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016

    Jan 25, 2016
    255
    43
    43
    neither for me. on my computer ahahahah
     
  8. AZgl1500

    AZgl1500 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    6,400
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,400
    3,145
    618
    Male
    Retired and loving it.
    Oklahoma grasslands
    never had a problem with that in any version of Windows since the very first one appeared.

    Win10 works just fine, that is, until Linux wiped it out.
     
  9. GodLovesYou

    GodLovesYou Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    255
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016

    Jan 25, 2016
    255
    43
    43
    If you make some search you will find a lot about this bug
     
  10. Father Guido

    Father Guido Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #133
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015

    Aug 24, 2015
    425
    424
    108
    Male
    Electrician
    SE Michigan
    Try "classic shell" and have the windows 7 style start menu. Maybe a good workaround. Much nicer than stock anyway.
     
    bcrichster likes this.
  11. AMOCO

    AMOCO The Computer Guy
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #48
    Points:
    543
    Posts:
    2,944
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012

    Mar 10, 2012
    2,944
    1,456
    543
    Male
    Computer Tech.
    Colorado Springs,CO.
    I have had this happen to me,But they were early releases of Windows 10.They fixed it as far as I know.
     
  12. GodLovesYou

    GodLovesYou Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    255
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016

    Jan 25, 2016
    255
    43
    43
    We can fix it by typing a known code, but it's a little bit annoying
     
  13. GodLovesYou

    GodLovesYou Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    255
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016

    Jan 25, 2016
    255
    43
    43
    I thought about it too. They had a big update some months ago where they've changed some UI things but sometimes it happens
     
  14. Jimmy Dev

    Jimmy Dev Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016

    Mar 8, 2016
    5
    2
    16
    Male
    start menu doesn't work? your pc must be slow then thats why it doesn't show.... however it may be a bug
     
  15. GodLovesYou

    GodLovesYou Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    255
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016

    Jan 25, 2016
    255
    43
    43
    It is a bug for sure. The problem here isn't the slowly
     
  16. rootabaga

    rootabaga Android Expert
    Rank:
     #16
    Points:
    1,463
    Posts:
    5,638
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014

    Aug 11, 2014
    5,638
    21,956
    1,463
    More or less IT, lots of hand-holding
    Crazyville, CA
    Were these upgrades or fresh installs? I just did a fresh install of Win7 and then upgraded to Win10 and other than a few initial install hiccups it has performed flawlessly.

    In any event I did some poking around and this person's fix (turning off fast startup) seemed to be a fix for the issue. Of course you lose the fast startup, but... ;)

    Note that to implement it after make the settings changes, you have to actually shut down the system and then manually restart; simply doing a windows restart will not apply the changes.

    http://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/4189-fast-startup-turn-off-windows-10-a.html

    If that works, then in a month after the "anniversary update" you can try re-enabling fast startup on a few PCs and see if the AU takes care of the underlying issue.
     

Share This Page

Loading...