1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Migrate to new device - old device not listed?

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by JoeHPSDA, Apr 24, 2016.

  1. JoeHPSDA

    JoeHPSDA Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #390
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    116
    Joined:
    May 15, 2012

    May 15, 2012
    116
    7
    36
    Hi all,

    I've got a new phone and am trying to migrate my 'stuff' over (hopefully apps and settings).

    After entering my Google account details, it only lists my old tablet as the devices I can migrate.

    My old phone is all signed into my Google account so it should be working?

    Both devices are Android 5 (old moto g > new vodafone smart ultra 6).

    Any ideas?

    Much thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Parayilhussain

    Parayilhussain Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    394
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015

    Oct 26, 2015
    394
    106
    148
    Male
    Business
    Cochin
    Hi,
    I can't understand your "migrate my
    Stuff".
    As far as I know that, you have an Android device signed into Google account.
    You want to add your second device.
    go to settings>accounts>google tap on this and tap on account name then tap on menu [three dot]on top right and remove account,return settings >scroll down for add account tap here and tap on google ,add account with existing details in your old device and sign in.reboot/restart device.
    Your devices will shown here.
    https://myaccount.google.com/security#activity
     
  3. JoeHPSDA

    JoeHPSDA Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #390
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    116
    Joined:
    May 15, 2012

    May 15, 2012
    116
    7
    36
    Thanks.

    The new device is already using my Google account.

    But the problem is that it hasn't copied over my apps from the old phone.

    When I refresh the new phone, the old phone isn't listed in the list of devices I can copy/transfer from.

    If your old phone doesn't have NFC, skip the "Tap & Go" feature and use this method. Once you set up your primary Google account, you'll be prompted to restore your new phone with a backup from your old one.

    From: http://smartphones.reviewed.com/fea...martphone-android-iphone-ios#androidtoandroid


    How do I get the old device to be listed as an option to copy from when I start my new phone after a factory reset? That is the question! It is showing a tablet device of mine that uses the same Google account, but not my old phone.

    Thanks
     
    #3 JoeHPSDA, Apr 24, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2016

Share This Page

Loading...