1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Milestone Music Player w/ Coverflow

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Fabolous, Jan 31, 2010.

  1. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    UPDATE: there is now no need to flash the 3.5MB update.zip, as Pete has updated his ROMs to include the new player.
    --------------------------------------

    I already posted this in the Bugless thread, but I figured people who weren't interested in the ROM might still be interested in this.

    Pete's just released an update.zip for his ROMS (but should work with any 2.0.1) that does some fixes and also introduces his port of the Milestone music player.

    It is completely stock 2.0.1 music player (buttons instead of tabs), but it does include this nice little feature:

    [​IMG]

    Enjoy!

    P.S. Unfortunately, there is no EQ, just 3D album scrolling for now.
     

    Advertisement

  2. rdillz

    rdillz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    223
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    223
    31
    63
    Chicago
    Thanks for the heads up. Going to upgrade right now!
     
  3. JoeProcopio

    JoeProcopio Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    288
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    288
    4
    56
    Video Engineer
    New Jersey
    don't see this mode in the player, and now my wifi doesn't work....i updated to 8.4 earlier in the day, you say this is a new update to 8.4? music player looks the same to me...
     
  4. nader2013

    nader2013 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    342
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009

    Dec 23, 2009
    342
    21
    38
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Wait, where I download this from? Is this a new Bugless Beast? Sorry Im a noob to rooting and ROMS.
     
  5. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    Sorry, let me clarify.

    This is not included in 0.8.4 or 0.7.2, but rather is included as a separate update.zip in a separate thread in Pete's section.

    He says he's working out some issues at the moment though, so it may be wiser to just wait a bit.
     
  6. Icedemon

    Icedemon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009

    Dec 5, 2009
    132
    2
    36
    Maryland
    I was hoping for the EQ but the coverflow is cool. My wifi didn't break but it did knockout my 1.1 O/C.
     
  7. El Blacksheep

    El Blacksheep Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    634
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    634
    33
    68
    Male
    Well, his Bugless Beast feature list says it includes this, and it doesn't...

    It also doesn't include the multi-touch browser, nor does it remove the visual voice mail app. :(
     
  8. nader2013

    nader2013 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    342
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009

    Dec 23, 2009
    342
    21
    38
    Cleveland, Ohio
    What you said is right, except for that it does support multi touch on the browser.. I though the same but multi touch is for full websites only no mobile websites.
     
  9. RoyMustang

    RoyMustang Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    45
    0
    15
    College student
    Tenn
    Are you sure you're running the Bugless Beast 0.7.1? Because that's exactly what I'm running and i have pinch/zoom browser and no visual voicemail app. Maybe your running an older bugless version? Like the bugless beauty 0.8. something. I can confirm no coverflow, although I think the OP stated that Pete is working on it for upcoming roms possibly.
     
  10. xmr405o

    xmr405o Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,171
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    4,171
    1,185
    333

    Mine has the multi touch browser but it doesn't have the visual voice app because he says that you can download that from the market. I'm running 0.7.2
     
  11. El Blacksheep

    El Blacksheep Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    634
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    634
    33
    68
    Male
    aha! that was it :)
    now to find a way to get rid of vvm...
     
  12. rdillz

    rdillz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    223
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    223
    31
    63
    Chicago
    It has multi touch browser and gallery but no coverflow. I doubt it could beat this next gen. Rock On music player anyways. I can wait until this is perfected.

    The ROM is great though.
     
  13. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    in your terminal emulator:

    su
    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    cd /system/app
    rm VVMStub.apk (I think that is the name, if not type 'ls' to see all the files in the folder)
    mount -o ro,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    sync
    reboot
     
  14. nader2013

    nader2013 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    342
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009

    Dec 23, 2009
    342
    21
    38
    Cleveland, Ohio
    could you specify up to where you type into the emulator... is reboot typed into the emulator or do you mean reboot the phone?
     
  15. bdal1

    bdal1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    246
    9
    36
    Am I missing something here. Pete's thread says that it is included in his roms. I have beauty 8.4 and I cant find the cover flow
     
  16. nader2013

    nader2013 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    342
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009

    Dec 23, 2009
    342
    21
    38
    Cleveland, Ohio
    I dont get that, if you put that update.zip for cover flow in your phone and click install, will that delete my Bugless Beast or what?
     
  17. El Blacksheep

    El Blacksheep Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    634
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    634
    33
    68
    Male
    There's the 60MB update.zip file for bugless beast, and a 3.5MB update.zip which you install AFTER installing bugless beast which adds the music app and some other bugfixes.
     
  18. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    No it won't. The beauty of an update.zip is that it can range in size and effect. In this case, the only effect is the new music player and some various fixes.

    The update.zip's you d/l from his actual ROM pages replace the entire /system partition.

    All of those commands are typed INTO the emulator.

    And btw, the VVM app is called VVMStub.apk.

    Others you may want to get rid of: AmazonMP3.apk, CorpCal.apk, Email.apk
     
  19. nader2013

    nader2013 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    342
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009

    Dec 23, 2009
    342
    21
    38
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Oh, I understand now...good to know, Thanks. So in the Terminal Emulator do you type reboot as well or is the last thing you type sync?
     
  20. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    reboot is a command you can type into the terminal, it's very handy

    even more handy is the command 'reboot recovery', which boots you right into the recovery image, bypassing all that holding down x bologna.
     
  21. bdal1

    bdal1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    246
    9
    36
    FYI
    the coverflow is on the current roms.
    Pete updated the roms but left the version numbers the same
     
  22. nader2013

    nader2013 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    342
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009

    Dec 23, 2009
    342
    21
    38
    Cleveland, Ohio

    So why is coverflow not accesible if its on my rom...?
     
  23. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    When did you update? Pete just released the new files within the last couple of hours.

    Also, it is landscape only, and only under 'artists' and 'albums'
     
  24. El Blacksheep

    El Blacksheep Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    634
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    634
    33
    68
    Male
    I had to do all that from a cmd line. I installed Terminal Emulator from the market and it FCs every time I try to start it up.
     
  25. bdal1

    bdal1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    246
    9
    36
    I think he just added it to 8.4 tonight. So if you downloaded 8.4 yesterday, coverflow wasn't included.
    Same thing with the beast
     

Share This Page

Loading...