1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Minor irritation with keyboard

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by t147, Jul 30, 2013.

  1. t147

    t147 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012

    Jun 27, 2012
    43
    5
    16
    I don't suppose this is necessarily exclusive to the Nexus 4, but I've found that whenever I put anything in brackets the default on the keyboard is always to capitalise the following word. It just seems a strange choice, brackets have never been (to my knowledge) punctuation in any way. In all other respects the keyboard and its predictive functions are superb.

    Not life or death obviously, just a minor irritant that is bugging me more and more as time goes on. Anyway I can disable this, anyone? Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,476
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Obvious question: have you tried any of the many 3rd party keyboards available in Play Store? Smart Keyboard Pro gets great reviews... several others.
     
  3. SiempreTuna

    SiempreTuna Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    3,889
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013

    Jan 11, 2013
    3,889
    1,051
    423
    Very strange: I just tried in SMS and e-mail and it didn't capitalise after an open bracket unless the open bracket was preceeded by a full stop. Can't see anywhere that this behaviour might be set, though.

    I'm using the British English version of the keyboard - are you on UK or US? Maybe that's the difference. You could try switching to British - you could get the additional benefit of having the spell checker actually spell correctly :D
     
  4. t147

    t147 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012

    Jun 27, 2012
    43
    5
    16
    thanks for the replies. Yes, my keyboard is listed as English (UK). Still doing it for some reason, it's very odd. Easy enough to correct obviously and it's not as if I use brackets in every sentence anyway. I might try a 3rd party keyboard though, that seems an obvious idea. Presumably it's easy enough to go back to stock if I don't like it?
     
  5. SiempreTuna

    SiempreTuna Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    3,889
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013

    Jan 11, 2013
    3,889
    1,051
    423
    I believe you just need to uninstall the 3rd party keyboard .. but maybe you read the notes before you install, just in case :D
     
  6. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,107
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,107
    24,090
    3,118
    Scotland
    Mega easy. All you need to do is active the new keyboard in the language and input settings. Once you start typing, you can pull down the notification pane and there's an option to select which keyboard you want to use.
     
  7. kwalla

    kwalla Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    219
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    219
    18
    48
    Male
    I use the stock keyboard (English US) and mine does not do this -- unless the "(" is the first symbol of a sentence, then the following lettering is capitalized. If the "(" is used mid/end of sentence, then there is no capitalization.
     
  8. DC1022

    DC1022 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    178
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011

    Apr 21, 2011
    178
    12
    38
    I also have a minor issue, I can't swipe shortcuts I've made for the Google keyboard anymore, yet if I uninstall the update my nexus 4 keyboard swipes the shortcuts perfectly.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...