1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Missing letters on dial pad

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Flogator, Sep 15, 2010.

  1. Flogator

    Flogator Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010

    Sep 15, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    I have a Samsung Galaxy S. When I am making a call, the dial pad contains buttons with a number and three to four letters. However, while I am in a call and that I hit the "dialpad" button to show the dial pad, it contains the same buttons but without the letters. This is embarrassing when you need to type a password or a name.

    So the two questions are:
    1. Is there a way to get the letters to show on the dial pad during a call?
    2. Is this a Samsung or Android bug?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Flogator

    Flogator Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010

    Sep 15, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    I have phoned Samsung and exchanged an email with their technical support. During the phone call, Samsung acknowledged the behavior. In the email exchange, their technical support added they have never heard of any smartphone with a dialpad containing numbers and letters during a call.

    At all time, the Samsung representatives have been very polite and professional. However, I am still left with a dialpad without letters during calls and I still do not know if this is a problem with Samsung or Android.

    Am I the only one that have observed this behavior? When I bought a smartphone, I thought it was a phone in the first place. In the past many years, I have not seen any phone (mobile or wired) without the letters on the dialpad.

    Does anyone have any information or opinions about the Samsung Galaxy S (or perhaps about any other Android phones) that have a dialpad with missing letters during a phone call?
     
  3. Cyb3r5c4r

    Cyb3r5c4r Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    77
    6
    16
    Ireland
    my samsung wave has letters on the key pad during a call but my galaxy s does not. i am at a loss as to why you need them? surely the password you are using is really numeric : example password: POT 7(once) 6(three times) 8 (once) making your password 76668
     
  4. lekky

    lekky Lover
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,250
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    This is a galaxy bug, best thing you can do is just try to remember where the keys are you want! you only have a choice of 9 so it should be easy :D

    Seriously tho, its a silly mistake by samsung, i'd expect them to fix it with the 2.2 rollout.
     
  5. Cyb3r5c4r

    Cyb3r5c4r Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    77
    6
    16
    Ireland
    im running 2.2 and its not fixed:(
     
  6. Flogator

    Flogator Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010

    Sep 15, 2010
    3
    0
    5
  7. triver525

    triver525 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010

    Sep 28, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    This is my BIGGEST complaint with the Galaxy S. It is nearly impossible to access the dial-by-name company directories. I really hope Samsung fixes this.
     
  8. erebus_

    erebus_ Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010

    Oct 21, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Yes - this definitely needs to be fixed before I will be handing over my hard-earned. I ditched the LG Viewty because of this exact issue and went back to my beloved Nokia 3315 (still has the best reception for calls). Seems like a fairly huge oversight. Funny that the Samsung Wave doesn't have this issue.
     
  9. mizius

    mizius Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011

    Jan 25, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Problem got fixed after I loaded froyo 2.2.1, build JPY
     
  10. gottabook

    gottabook Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011

    Aug 1, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    WTF?!?!?! This is fracking ridiculous! Someone said "why would you need to type letters?" well, there are some applications which require me to use actual letters AND numbers to key in and do NOT accept (numbers in lieu of letters. Nor does the keypad on the Captivate accept the traditional hit the number three times for "e" for example like on the old school phones. I have an iPhone and gotta say, no problem there typing in letters in when I'm prompted with a field (of a site/or app in which I need to enter an alphanumeric code). I got this phone for my teenager and am setting it up, but will tell you that Samsung has had ample opportunity to resolve this and it's still a problem a year later? Yes, I'm running OS 2.2, by the way. I see this phone going back to AT&T tomorrow! If anyone has resolved this issue I'd really like to hear about it. Meanwhile, Samsung, get off your a$$ and do something about it!
     
  11. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    22,524
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    22,524
    11,875
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    They did. Did you not read the previous post from January that it had been fixed with 2.2.1.

    "Problem got fixed after I loaded froyo 2.2.1, build JPY"
     
  12. WMuellner

    WMuellner Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012

    Mar 27, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Interesting, I just tested this with my Samsung Galaxy SII, where I've got the alpha-keys on my keypad, but HOW can I switch to alpha?!?! I cannot do this, no special key to enable the characters, nor pressing a single key multiple times. NO way to get a character pressed. Any hints??
    br, WM
     

Share This Page

Loading...