1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Missing options in new update

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by evyavan, Sep 19, 2011.

  1. evyavan

    evyavan Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011

    Sep 19, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Hi everyone,

    About two weeks back I upgraded my phone's firmware to the latest Gingerbread 2.3.4 official update for Indian users from Samsung. At first I was glad that there are many improvements in battery performance, games and all, but almost all of a sudden it became grumpy when I tried connecting my phone to PC. The 'Debug mode' is missing! Whats more? There is no option in the Mobile Networks settings to opt between 2G and 3G network setup! That too is missing! I thought this is a problem with me and my handset only, but the people who upgraded to the same firmware are facing these problems! 'To hell with development', is this whats Samsung saying? I'm relatively new to Android development and I would like to do some development in it.

    My build number is : GINGERBREAD.DDKQ5
     

    Advertisement

  2. khushal.2022

    khushal.2022 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011

    Feb 25, 2011
    21
    0
    35
    Finance Professional
    New Delhi / INDIA
    I am also facing this problem. Also from the day of update to GINGERBREAD, my net connectivity frequency has also gone down. It gets offline without any notification.

    No idea if anybody here have a solution for this.
     
  3. jagankumar

    jagankumar Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011

    Aug 11, 2011
    36
    4
    16
    Chennai
    Hi,

    USB debugging is there but I am also missing Mobile Networks settings to opt between 2G and 3G network setup!

    My build number is also : GINGERBREAD.DDKQ5
     
  4. bigbaldbloke

    bigbaldbloke Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    199
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011

    Apr 8, 2011
    199
    50
    53
    Try installing Launcher Pro. Then long click on an empty area of the home screen and choose Shortcuts, Activities. If you browse down to Settings & click on it, you may well find that the options are there. Creating shortcuts to activities is a useful way of accessing otherwise hidden aspects of Android.
     
  5. evyavan

    evyavan Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011

    Sep 19, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    I've turned on 'USB debugging' in the application settings. But still the option is not shown when I connect the phone to PC. Do I have to turn on 'Allow Mock Locations' too? Also am using GO Launcher but can't see the Activities option under Settings. I tried it under the Settings in Shortcuts to no good.
     
  6. bigbaldbloke

    bigbaldbloke Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    199
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011

    Apr 8, 2011
    199
    50
    53
    No mate, Mock Locations is purely for apps that use where you are for certain vairables, e.g. Market Enabler. What are you looking to do with it & your PC?

    It needs to be Launcher Pro.

    bbb
     
  7. bbaba

    bbaba Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011

    Sep 19, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Hi Guys,
    When I have upgraded my phone to the firmware latest Gingerbread 2.3.4 it gets slower....in addition the "speed dial" is not working anymore...
    Anyone can help?
    my build number is : GINGERBREAD.JPKP9
     
  8. disturbedone

    disturbedone Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011

    Sep 5, 2011
    46
    8
    16
    None
    Earth
    Im in Sri Lanka.. just below you.. and I have switch between 2G and 3G its just called Network Mode under Settings > Mobile Network Settings

    Over there 3 options:
    > GSM/WCDMA (Auto mode)
    > GSM only
    > WCDMA only

    and i believe ur searchin for the 2nd option.. which is 2G so obviously the last one is 3G

    Hope this helps
     
    jagankumar and evyavan like this.
  9. disturbedone

    disturbedone Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011

    Sep 5, 2011
    46
    8
    16
    None
    Earth
    It doesnt get slower.. just that the OS uses up a little more RAM than Froyo which means you cant do as much multi tasking..
    But actually menus and animations and opening of applications are much faster..
    And in addition if you didnt know.. now you have 640x480 video recording :)
     
  10. evyavan

    evyavan Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011

    Sep 19, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Haha.. Thank you buddy for reminding me! Really, Thank You. :) Its just that there used to be a straight forward option.

    Also, is there any option not to allow automatic/periodic waking of apps? I see that many apps like Google Maps and Latitude, which I use very rarely, are active most of the time even after I shut them down from App Manager, many times! Do I have to root my phone to do that? I've turned OFF auto syncing options and auto updating options.
     
  11. disturbedone

    disturbedone Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011

    Sep 5, 2011
    46
    8
    16
    None
    Earth
    Well yeah.. It becomes a giant pain in the rear at times when Maps and Google come up. Well for that install this small app called Gemini App Manager.. There you can edit what each application does (but one thing im not sure of is if you could edit app settings like that without Root Access) Anyway if you havent.. download the Gemini app and see.. :)

    Any issues just ask. Glad to help
     

Share This Page

Loading...