1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root MIUI or CM7

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by MIKE153, Jan 9, 2012.

  1. MIKE153

    MIKE153 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011

    Dec 25, 2011
    70
    8
    16
    Northern Utah
    I rooted my phone today and installed CWM. I can't decide which rom I should go with. MIUI or CM7? I know I should test them both out and see which one I like. But I hate installing roms. Too much of a hassle I think, and I bricked a phone by doing it. Any opinions?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Whyzor

    Whyzor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,108
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,108
    966
    213
    It's hard to brick the MT actually, unlike some other phones, because it has unlocked bootloader & replacing a recovery image & OS image are very easy & straightforward.

    I prefer CM7 because it's open source, closer to stock Android, and has less overhead for the flashy graphics of MIUI, which is just built on top of CM anyway.
     
    MIKE153 likes this.
  3. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    I agree with Whyzor. I prefer CM7 for it's simplicity and customizibility (not a real word!). There are others who definitely prefer MIUI. Neither is a wrong or bad choice, find the one you prefer! :D
     
    MIKE153 likes this.
  4. shmackshmack

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    432
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011

    Dec 9, 2011
    432
    111
    68
    Los Angeles
    try them both. you cant brick the triumph, just backup the stock rom and your golden.

    i loooove miui for the user interface stuff. its android beautified. i cant go back to CM7, its ugly in comparison. even ICS is just kinda meh..
     
    MIKE153 likes this.
  5. marc12868

    marc12868 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,460
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    2,460
    850
    213
    Male
    Tier 2 Tech Support @ At&t
    Spokane Valley, Washington
    No you didn't!!!! sorry its a pet peave of mine... Its virtually impossible to brick a lot of things not just android phones, but people will sell them for lower prices (psps :D)

    *Back on topic* I would just use cm7... And if you want more customization you can use a home screen launcher (like adw ex or others free or paid). As for the setting layout it is pretty nice in miui and there probably is a way to get it in cm7... Although ICS is around the corner so... :D
     
  6. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    They didn't specify what phone it was that was bricked. Many Android phones are not too hard to brick in comparison to this one. I haven't seen (or heard of) a bricked Triumph yet.
     
  7. marc12868

    marc12868 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,460
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    2,460
    850
    213
    Male
    Tier 2 Tech Support @ At&t
    Spokane Valley, Washington
    Ok well maybe phones that have a locked down bootloader may be easier to brick but still... Its still kind of annoying seeing people saying that they have bricked their phone multiple times... Believe me if you brick a phone you won't be able to reverse it... I know from experience... R.I.P. LG Rumor Touch (granted its not an android phone...) lol. Ok that's the end of my rant...

    But anyone who is worried about bricking their MT specifically good luck even trying to brick it... There have been people who have done some pretty harsh stuff to the software and still got it back to a working state...
     
  8. MIKE153

    MIKE153 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011

    Dec 25, 2011
    70
    8
    16
    Northern Utah
    It was a LG Optimus V and it was seriously bricked. I couldn't get into recovery. Couldn't enter download mode(Power and volume keys.) so I couldn't access the recovery image. Sorry I have to agree with agentc13.
     
  9. MIKE153

    MIKE153 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011

    Dec 25, 2011
    70
    8
    16
    Northern Utah
    I just installed CM7 Reloaded by Whyzor. Should I use his or Tickerguys Beta 8. CM7 Reloaded is working great so far except for weird notification light is blinking the wrong color (I think?) when I get a message. I am also thinking about Froyocream Sandwich. I don't think I'll ever try MIUI. Love CM7 settings.
     
  10. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    Of course you do ;). It's just a misunderstanding I believe, many people post claiming to have bricked this phone when that isn't the case. So it's just a reaction to that. :D

    That is normal behavior for CM7. Mine blinks a red/green mix I believe (so more of an amber or orange color) when receiving texts and such.
     
    MIKE153 likes this.
  11. marc12868

    marc12868 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,460
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    2,460
    850
    213
    Male
    Tier 2 Tech Support @ At&t
    Spokane Valley, Washington
    Settings>CyanogenMod Settings>Interface>LED Notifications>Unconfigured then you can select messaging and/pr an other apps you want to change the LED notification color of and you can change it to green or orange (amber). If you want to change it...
     
    MIKE153 likes this.
  12. MIKE153

    MIKE153 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011

    Dec 25, 2011
    70
    8
    16
    Northern Utah
    Thanks I just didn't know if I installed the rom wrong. Which rom do you recommend Tickerguy's Beta 8 or Whyzor's Reloaded?
     
  13. MIKE153

    MIKE153 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011

    Dec 25, 2011
    70
    8
    16
    Northern Utah
    Thanks marc12868 that will definately help! :)
     
  14. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    I have CM7 built from source myself.

    Either one you listed is fine, they are based off the same stuff. The TG-Reloaded (by Whyzor) has a few updates that Beta 0.8 does not. He has also tweaked a lot of settings and changed the kernel as well. What you want to use depends on what you want to do with it, I guess.
     
    MIKE153 likes this.
  15. marc12868

    marc12868 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,460
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    2,460
    850
    213
    Male
    Tier 2 Tech Support @ At&t
    Spokane Valley, Washington
    Well TG has stopped development on cm7 so Whyzor's reloaded would probably be better since he has picked up development and is making improvements to it.

    Ninja-ed by Agentc13 :/
     
    MIKE153 likes this.
  16. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    :D

    The only reason I would recommend Beta 0.8 instead of Reloaded is if you don't want all the tweaks that Whyzor made to it.
     
  17. MIKE153

    MIKE153 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011

    Dec 25, 2011
    70
    8
    16
    Northern Utah
    Thanks guys I'll just stick with reloaded. Another notification light question. My battery is dead on my phone and the light is not blinking. Is there a setting for that?
     
  18. MIKE153

    MIKE153 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011

    Dec 25, 2011
    70
    8
    16
    Northern Utah
    Would you be willing to release your rom to the public? If you released it I would love to try it.
     
  19. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    It isn't anything special. It is built from Isaac's github. There are instructions on how to do it here:
    http://androidforums.com/triumph-all-things-root/388798-build-cyanogenmod7-source-development-area.html
    I also use mantera's kernel, but I don't overclock. Other than that it is nothing special. I think Whyzor's ROM is built from the same source, but has more tweaks and such. If you still want a download I will post it soon. It has a few updates from the beta 0.8, but nothing really huge.
     
    MIKE153 likes this.
  20. MIKE153

    MIKE153 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011

    Dec 25, 2011
    70
    8
    16
    Northern Utah
    Thanks I will be waiting for that post. But until then I will look into that thread. I would like to start building my own custom roms. Anyways before I go off subject does anybody know if the notification light blinks when the battery is low? I depend a lot on this feature. Thanks for all the replies.
     
  21. marc12868

    marc12868 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,460
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    2,460
    850
    213
    Male
    Tier 2 Tech Support @ At&t
    Spokane Valley, Washington
    I usually don't let my battery get that low, but I know on stock it blinks red... I can't remember if I have gone low enough or not for it to start blinking... I think it should though...
     
    MIKE153 likes this.
  22. MIKE153

    MIKE153 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011

    Dec 25, 2011
    70
    8
    16
    Northern Utah
    Thanks if you let the battery get that low tell me if it blinks. Everyone else it would be greatly appreciated if someone could tell me if theirs blinks when it gets low. I rely on that feature a lot.
     
  23. marc12868

    marc12868 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,460
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    2,460
    850
    213
    Male
    Tier 2 Tech Support @ At&t
    Spokane Valley, Washington
    Ill start draining it now and see what happens when I get low.
     
    MIKE153 likes this.
  24. Austrie

    Austrie Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,325
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    1,325
    898
    213
    Male
    St.Thomas, US Virgin Islands
    It warns you at 15% and it starts blinking at 10%.
     
  25. dsmryder

    dsmryder Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,418
    Joined:
    May 28, 2011

    May 28, 2011
    2,418
    502
    213
    mechanic
    NE Florida
    Whyzor's has better battery life. And he's still working on his after TickerGuy went to T-Mo.
     
    MIKE153 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...