1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root MMS BACKside IHO

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by a5pe4, Sep 14, 2011.

  1. a5pe4

    a5pe4 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    348
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011

    Sep 6, 2011
    348
    63
    53
    So it looks at first glance like I can't receive picture messages. Is this a commonly known problem or just a personal issue?
     

    Advertisement

  2. pandacookie

    pandacookie Panda-riffic!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    573
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011

    Just had my son send me an MMS. Works fine over here.
     
  3. JerryScript

    JerryScript Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,212
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    2,212
    2,065
    313
    Las Vegas
    You can't receive MMS from AT&T, that's an AT&T-VirginMobile issue, not a ROM issue.
     
  4. a5pe4

    a5pe4 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    348
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011

    Sep 6, 2011
    348
    63
    53
    ^ Definitely did not know that. Odd. But I actually got an MMS from a Sprint user. It says to download in my messages but nothing happens after 'downloading'
     
  5. JerryScript

    JerryScript Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,212
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    2,212
    2,065
    313
    Las Vegas
    I don't think there are any issues with Sprint users. The only advice I can give is a full wipe/format and reflash the ROM and gapps. Test it out with someone on another network first, it should be working.
     
  6. yogi-4

    yogi-4 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    263
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011

    Jun 14, 2011
    263
    82
    53
    Truck Driver
    Steeler Country
    Make sure you have 3g as well.
     
    a5pe4 likes this.
  7. a5pe4

    a5pe4 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    348
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011

    Sep 6, 2011
    348
    63
    53
    Oh yea I remember even before my MMS wouldn't work on wifi! Good advice. Will try that.
     
  8. jetfactor

    jetfactor Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011

    Feb 28, 2011
    96
    7
    16
    okay. having issues with this now. i'm using go sms. 8/31 build of backside. can send picture messages out but cannot receive them... and this was from someone with t-mobile.

    poop!
     
  9. weddle

    weddle Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    368
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011

    Mar 23, 2011
    368
    34
    63
    Male
    independent subcontractor
    PA

    would changing the user agent under the settings menu in messaging solve that? or is it unfixable?
     
  10. JerryScript

    JerryScript Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,212
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    2,212
    2,065
    313
    Las Vegas
    If you change the user agent, you won't be able to send mms via VM. It's an issue with VM and a couple of carriers, we are at VM's mercy on this one.
     
  11. Timm129

    Timm129 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    73
    0
    15
    I'm running Harmonia and don't any problems with MMS pictures. I've gotten and sent to every carrier around .. AT&T, Verizon, T-mobile, Sprint etc. The problem I have is with MMS video. I've been told that this is VM's problem and is SUPPOSED to be fixed (who knows when)
     
  12. jetfactor

    jetfactor Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011

    Feb 28, 2011
    96
    7
    16
    switched from the 8/31 build of backside to the 8/09 build and picture messages work fine for me now.
     
  13. JerryScript

    JerryScript Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,212
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    2,212
    2,065
    313
    Las Vegas
    The dev of Harmonia, LeslieAnn, is the one who posted about the issues with AT&T. If you don't have any problems with VM<>AT&T, consider yourself lucky!
     
  14. Timm129

    Timm129 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    73
    0
    15
    Thats why I've been so reluctant to change to another ROM or even update Harmonia to 1.6
     
  15. cammykool

    cammykool Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,048
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    2,048
    267
    183
    Aurora CO
    no issues here 919
     
  16. a5pe4

    a5pe4 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    348
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011

    Sep 6, 2011
    348
    63
    53
    Hmm I'm afraid to switch to the 9/19 build because some of the problems people are having. That and I haven't done the research on how to update ROMs.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...