1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root MMS messages not working on gingervillain...?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by extremejoe, Feb 13, 2011.

  1. extremejoe

    extremejoe Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010

    Aug 15, 2010
    118
    0
    35
    student
    blackburn
    tried sending an mms message on gingervillain 0.9 yesterday and it just said sending for 6 hours

    do mms messages not work on this rom?

    is there a way to make them work?
     

    Advertisement

  2. scoobysnax

    scoobysnax Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    34
    0
    35
    Just flashed 1.0 yesterday and mms, 3G, everything works good...
     
  3. extremejoe

    extremejoe Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010

    Aug 15, 2010
    118
    0
    35
    student
    blackburn
    so i should flash 1.0?

    i'm on orange if that makes any diff
     
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Open titanium backup, go to backup restore tab.

    Scroll down to [sms / mms prefs] and wipe it.

    Let me know if it works. If it does work ill explain why
     
  5. extremejoe

    extremejoe Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010

    Aug 15, 2010
    118
    0
    35
    student
    blackburn
    ok did that

    it said data wiped

    this is what i see under messaging app

    picture i'm sending to myself (as a test)

    then "me"

    and underneath that "sending...."

    that sound wrong?
     
  6. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Are your apns correct?
     
  7. extremejoe

    extremejoe Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010

    Aug 15, 2010
    118
    0
    35
    student
    blackburn
    dunno

    i could send mms on leedroid but not on gingervillain

    is it possible?
     
  8. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    You'll need to check your apns. They may no longer be correct
     
  9. extremejoe

    extremejoe Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010

    Aug 15, 2010
    118
    0
    35
    student
    blackburn
    how do i do that?

    you running gingervillain?

    i'm on orange if that helps
     
  10. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Menu settings wireless and network mobile network apn

    http://android.modaco.com/content/general-discussion/279647/orange-uk-mms-settings/
     
  11. extremejoe

    extremejoe Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010

    Aug 15, 2010
    118
    0
    35
    student
    blackburn
  12. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Yes but I'm on o2 so my apn is obviously different to yours
     
  13. extremejoe

    extremejoe Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010

    Aug 15, 2010
    118
    0
    35
    student
    blackburn
    right i've entered those settings

    is it actually possible to send yourself an mms?

    how will i know if what i have done has worked?
     
  14. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    3,468
    Posts:
    25,139
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    25,139
    19,781
    3,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    APNs on my phone are:

    Orange UK - orangeinternet
    Orange UK MMS - orangemms

    Can't confirm that it's working, because I send about 2 MMS/year on average.
     
  15. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    3,468
    Posts:
    25,139
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    25,139
    19,781
    3,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Send a message and see.

    You can send yourself a text, so I can't see why you can't send yourself an MMS.
     
  16. extremejoe

    extremejoe Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010

    Aug 15, 2010
    118
    0
    35
    student
    blackburn
    whey heyyyyyy

    it worked

    cheers fellers

    i'll prob use it like twice a year - but its a feature that should work and now does

    love this community :)

    edit:

    i had mobile data (3g) connection on while it sent

    should mms messages send without 3g been turned on?
     
  17. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    You need more than 2g.

    I tested by sending message to my e-mail. It converts to mms to do it
     
  18. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    3,468
    Posts:
    25,139
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    25,139
    19,781
    3,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    MMS has been around longer than 3G, so it shouldn't need that (my previous phone didn't have 3G and could still send/receive MMS). It does use package-switched data though, so at least a GPRS connection would be needed.

    Is it smart enough to make that connection temporarily if data is disabled? You might think, but I tried it just now and it didn't get anywhere - in fact even after enabling data while sending it just sat saying "sending" until I got bored. Sent fine when I enabled data before trying though.
     
  19. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    When I say more than 2g I really mean gsm
     
  20. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    3,468
    Posts:
    25,139
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    25,139
    19,781
    3,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Yeah, our messages crossed - I started that reply, then did the test while the message window was open, so it took me a good few minutes.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...