1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Mms works for our phones on cm 10

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by wolfu, Jan 1, 2013.

  1. wolfu

    wolfu Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    163
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012

    Jun 11, 2012
    163
    38
    43
    Male
    Minneapolis
    So I was screwing around with [ROM / KERNEL] [Team D.I.R.T] [LINARO OPTIMIZED] [JB 4.1.2] UNOFFICIAL AOKP v3.5.2
    I installed the black APK to recieve mms. then for the hell of it I did their fix for boost HOW TO GET MMS GOING FOR BOOST MOBILE but did it for us

    1. Use the Voice Dailer and say "Open APNs"
    2. Click on "Open APNs"
    3. Click on the default Sprint Access Point tab
    4. Put in the following settings....

    Name: Sprint
    APN: Sprint
    Proxy: Not set
    Port: Not set
    Username: Sprint
    Password: .
    Server: .
    MMSC: http://mmsc.vmobl.com:8088/mms?
    MMS proxy: Not set
    MMS port: Not set
    MMC: 310
    MNC: 120
    Authentication type: PAP or CHAP
    APN type: Not set
    APN protocol: IPv4
    APN roaming protocol: IPv4
    APN enable/disable: APN enabled (darkened out)
    Bearer: Unspecified

    Now I can send and recieve MMS :smokingsomb:

    Here's the link to this great ROM http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1831841
     

    Advertisement

  2. Austrie

    Austrie Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,325
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    1,325
    898
    213
    Male
    St.Thomas, US Virgin Islands
    Im going to try it, when told g60 about it on Sunday he said it wouldn't work.
     
  3. wolfu

    wolfu Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    163
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012

    Jun 11, 2012
    163
    38
    43
    Male
    Minneapolis
    It works I've sent several MMS to myself But the ONLY thing I changed was the MMSC I left everything else the way it was set. it all says sprint but low and behold it still sends
     
  4. Austrie

    Austrie Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,325
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    1,325
    898
    213
    Male
    St.Thomas, US Virgin Islands
    Well I did all the listed steps for boost, but used the mmcs for virgin; my picture forever says sending when I try to send it to someone. Let me see what happens if I leave the defaults with virgin mmcs
     
  5. wolfu

    wolfu Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    163
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012

    Jun 11, 2012
    163
    38
    43
    Male
    Minneapolis


    I didn't do any steps for Boost the only thing I changed from the default state was the MMSC address. I left everything else the same as it was in the APN settings
     
  6. Prinny

    Prinny Resident Linux Nutcase
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,680
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012

    Apr 15, 2012
    3,680
    1,164
    433
    Male
    Greenville, SC
    Wolf, how long does it take you on average to send and recieve MMS now? Is it almost instant, or is it a few minutes to receive it?

    Edit: Also would you mind going to your APNS and taking a screenshot?
     
  7. MtnDew31693

    MtnDew31693 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012

    Sep 17, 2012
    56
    12
    18
    Male
    Student
    I'll have to try this on my phone soon and report back. I'm running the gangnam style CM10. MMS receiving working of course but sending still broken right now.
     
  8. wolfu

    wolfu Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    163
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012

    Jun 11, 2012
    163
    38
    43
    Male
    Minneapolis
    Less than a minute to recieve and it even sent over WIFI.
    I'm trying to take a screen shot but can't seem to figure it out on this rom.
    I'll list everything the way it is set...

    Name: Sprint
    APN: Sprint
    Proxy: Not set
    Port: Not set
    Username: Sprint
    Password: .
    Server: .
    MMSC: http://mmsc.vmobl.com:8088/mms?
    MMS proxy: Not set
    MMS port: Not set
    MMC: 310
    MNC: 120
    Authentication type: PAP or CHAP
    APN type: Not set
    APN protocol: IPv4
    APN roaming protocol: IPv4
    APN enable/disable: APN enabled (darkened out)
    Bearer: Unspecified

    I will try to take a screen shot
     
    Branhower likes this.
  9. wolfu

    wolfu Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    163
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012

    Jun 11, 2012
    163
    38
    43
    Male
    Minneapolis
    Just tried it over 3g and it took less than 10 sec
     
  10. davidmargolin

    davidmargolin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    957
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012

    Mar 6, 2012
    957
    229
    93
    Male
    Brooklyn, NY
    u mind if i add this to my mms fix post???
     
  11. Prinny

    Prinny Resident Linux Nutcase
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,680
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012

    Apr 15, 2012
    3,680
    1,164
    433
    Male
    Greenville, SC
    I'm trying everything you did. I'll post back results momentarily. This would be awesome if it worked.

    So you downloaded the black MMS from the partial fix thread, correct? That's the one I'm using.
     
  12. wolfu

    wolfu Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    163
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012

    Jun 11, 2012
    163
    38
    43
    Male
    Minneapolis
    Not at all :)
     
  13. wolfu

    wolfu Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    163
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012

    Jun 11, 2012
    163
    38
    43
    Male
    Minneapolis
    yes and i put it into the rom after installing it on my phone using root explorer
     
  14. Prinny

    Prinny Resident Linux Nutcase
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,680
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012

    Apr 15, 2012
    3,680
    1,164
    433
    Male
    Greenville, SC
    Holy picture messaging, batman! It works! Great discovery!
     
  15. wolfu

    wolfu Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    163
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012

    Jun 11, 2012
    163
    38
    43
    Male
    Minneapolis
    I hope someone else can emulate this I rebooted my phone and sent mms again still working great
     
  16. wolfu

    wolfu Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    163
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012

    Jun 11, 2012
    163
    38
    43
    Male
    Minneapolis
    I'm just happy to contribute to this awesome forum :D
     
  17. Prinny

    Prinny Resident Linux Nutcase
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,680
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012

    Apr 15, 2012
    3,680
    1,164
    433
    Male
    Greenville, SC
    well looks like aokp is now my daily :cool:
     
  18. wolfu

    wolfu Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    163
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012

    Jun 11, 2012
    163
    38
    43
    Male
    Minneapolis
    Mine too
     
  19. davidmargolin

    davidmargolin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    957
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012

    Mar 6, 2012
    957
    229
    93
    Male
    Brooklyn, NY
    so which settings should be used???
    the ones from the op

    or these
     
  20. Prinny

    Prinny Resident Linux Nutcase
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,680
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012

    Apr 15, 2012
    3,680
    1,164
    433
    Male
    Greenville, SC
    I used the second set. Works great.

    Also for those wondering, Handcent works too with this fix. I couldn't get GoSMS to work, though.
     
  21. Austrie

    Austrie Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,325
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    1,325
    898
    213
    Male
    St.Thomas, US Virgin Islands
    What's the server and password?
     
  22. Branhower

    Branhower Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012

    Oct 25, 2012
    44
    6
    16
    Male
    OhmygodOhmygodOhmygodOhmygod it worked! Here is a pic I sent to my old Tracfone. Running HTCDEV10 and the stock-themed fixed MMS from this thread.
     

    Attached Files:

  23. Prinny

    Prinny Resident Linux Nutcase
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,680
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012

    Apr 15, 2012
    3,680
    1,164
    433
    Male
    Greenville, SC
    Hold on. I'll upload a picture of my exact settings for you folks.

    Edit: Hokay so maybe not...no idea where screenshot is in this ROM...

    Basically your password should say * by default. Leave it as is. The ONLY thing you need to touch is the MMSC. Everything else should stay defaulted to what it is.
     
  24. sikk66

    sikk66 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012

    Aug 15, 2012
    86
    30
    23
    Male
    Web application developer / Music Producer
    Atlanta, GA
    This is GREAT! Good job guys!
     
  25. ramjet73

    ramjet73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,418
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    1,418
    821
    233
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    You need need to enable screenshot on the advanced power menu (APM) in the ROM Control settings and then you can take screenshots using a long press on the power button and selecting screenshot. The images will be stored in /sdcard/pictures/screenshots.

    ramjet73
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...