1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Mobile data disconnecting during tethering

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Jai ram singh, Jun 26, 2019.

  1. Jai ram singh

    Jai ram singh Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2019

    Jun 26, 2019
    20
    1
    16
    Using vpn doenst change anything at all.
     

    Advertisement

  2. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    27,477
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    27,477
    16,963
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Wellggiven what you've already said and apparently tried. I'm thinking it's very possibly a fault with the phone itself. Which would be repair or replacement required. That's it, I can't think of anything else it could be.
     
  3. Jai ram singh

    Jai ram singh Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2019

    Jun 26, 2019
    20
    1
    16
    Mikedt thank you for your observations... I will get a phone in the next 2 weeks and i will also keep updating this thread. Thank you
     
    mikedt likes this.
  4. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,206
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,206
    39,896
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    I would have to agree with Mike at this point. It sounds like as you stress your phone's radio, it cuts out, either because of thermal protection circuitry (overheating) or a failing component. Replacement is really the best option.
     
    mikedt likes this.
  5. Jai ram singh

    Jai ram singh Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2019

    Jun 26, 2019
    20
    1
    16
    Lunatic59 very well explained. My phone has overheating issues and it does fry up during tethering. I havent paid attention to it....but if thats the case, why doesnt my jio sim disconnect when downloading? The only difference is that the download Speed in airtel sim is max 700kbps and ij jio max 150kbps...please explain to me
     
  6. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,206
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,206
    39,896
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    If the jio sim is throttled to 150k, then it will never stress the hardware like trying to maintain a connection with over 4X the bandwidth. Overheating during tethering is a dead giveaway that your issue is power related and most likely a hardware fault.
     
  7. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    27,477
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    27,477
    16,963
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    I know bit-torrent can cause problems for certain routers, and I've actually seen that myself with a particular TP-Link router. Because the bit-torrent protocol may open a lot of ports, and that can cause some consumer grade routers to crash. The fix for that was a firmware update on the TP-Link router.

    A phone in tethering mode is actually operating as a router, and maybe torrents are causing it problems?
     
    #32 mikedt, Jun 28, 2019
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2019
  8. Jai ram singh

    Jai ram singh Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2019

    Jun 26, 2019
    20
    1
    16
    God... There are a lot of questions in my mind, but I'll simply change my phone and let yall know.. Thanks all for the explanation and response btw.
     
  9. Jai ram singh

    Jai ram singh Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2019

    Jun 26, 2019
    20
    1
    16
    Mikedt... My network also gives problems when im not tethering. Lunatic59, i will change my handset
     
  10. svim

    svim Android Expert
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    708
    Posts:
    4,881
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013

    Dec 19, 2013
    4,881
    4,132
    708
    Illinois
    Given the contradictions that may or may not be an issue, it might be time to just take your phone in to a service shop and just have it checked out.
     
  11. Xavier Black

    Xavier Black Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #105
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    657
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015

    Sep 21, 2015
    657
    253
    153
    Male
    Texas
    I suggested to you to try a different service provider sim..not just change it for another with same carrier.
     
  12. Jai ram singh

    Jai ram singh Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2019

    Jun 26, 2019
    20
    1
    16
    Ok
     
  13. Jai ram singh

    Jai ram singh Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2019

    Jun 26, 2019
    20
    1
    16
    Hey all, i just got a new poco f1 phone and the issue is the same!! my airtel 4g mobile data keeps disconnecting. Tried contacting the customer service for about 10 times, i hope they are doing things from their end, but the problem is still there.Please help me, this is getting on my nerves.
     
  14. Jai ram singh

    Jai ram singh Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2019

    Jun 26, 2019
    20
    1
    16
  15. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,206
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,206
    39,896
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Different phone with the same SIM and carrier? It's the carrier that must not have your account provisioned correctly, or the coverage in your area is just that bad. :(
     
  16. Jai ram singh

    Jai ram singh Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2019

    Jun 26, 2019
    20
    1
    16
    Wait wait... If the coverage is bad then how come other airtel sims are workin fine in my house amd this one isnt... And speaking of account provisions the customer care expert told that everything is well and good from their end.. Dammit, cant find out what is the problem.
     
  17. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    27,477
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    27,477
    16,963
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Well you've eliminated the phone so, the only other things really, are the carrier network, signal coverage, the SIM, or act of God.
     
  18. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,206
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,206
    39,896
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Put your sim into one of the other phones in your house that doesn't have a problem. If it still is dropping the connection, then request (aka demand) a new SIM from airtel.
     
  19. Xavier Black

    Xavier Black Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #105
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    657
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015

    Sep 21, 2015
    657
    253
    153
    Male
    Texas
    In my country we say: "yellow it is and it's hatched by the chicken..guess what is it"

    You still haven't came around to the deduction I've been suggesting for a week already?
     

Share This Page

Loading...