1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Mobile internet settings

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by zaacmac, Jul 11, 2010.

  1. zaacmac

    zaacmac Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010

    Jul 11, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Hey there folks,
    Recently purchased the Desire and am happy as larry with the purchase.. one small problem

    it would appear it has issues with my networks apn settings..

    I'll it admit that I'm a little puzzled after staring at the apn settings for a while and adding the ips etc still not getting any luck.

    2degrees (my provider) have attempted ota delivery but no luck.

    here are the settings:

    WAP Gateway Settings
    WAP gateway IP: 118.148.1.118
    WAP Gateway Port (WAP2): 8080
    WAP Gateway Port (WAP1): 9201

    Homepage: 2degrees Mobile Portal
    APN: 2degrees

    MMS Settings
    WAP Gateway Port (WAP2): 8080
    WAP Gateway Port (WAP1): 9201
    WAP gateway IP: 118.148.1.118

    Homepage: http://mms.2degreesmobile.net.nz:48090
    APN: mms

    Internet Settings
    Homepage: 2degrees Mobile Portal
    APN: internet

    is some one able to tell me where these go and how to get the phone to recognize them


    Thanks in advance!!!!!:)
     

    Advertisement

  2. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,514
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    1,514
    237
    153
    Button Moon
    When they sent you the settings ota did you switch the phone off & then back on again?
    Can't see a way to add them manually at the moment, you could always see if there is an app to enable entering those settings manually.
     
  3. GPF

    GPF Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Have you taken care of this problem?
    I have a solution.
     
  4. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter Administrator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #16
    Points:
    1,453
    Posts:
    22,517
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    22,517
    7,962
    1,453
    Male
    Systems Administrator
    Northern Ky
    Well that was 5 months ago:p:p
    lol

    Either way though go ahead and post your solution, you never know who else it might help
     
  5. gwardnz

    gwardnz Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    Hi there,

    newly registered so my apologies if I am not following protocol here. I have exactly the same problem as described by the chap earlier in this thread, IE how/where do I access the various phone settings for WAP gateway, Port etc. etc.

    I have looked through all the settings on the phone and have been unable to find where any of the more technical stuff is setup. You mentioned you have a fix for this, I would be most appreciative to know what that fix is, thank you.
     
  6. heat57

    heat57 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    731
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    731
    311
    113
    Consultant
    Birmingham, UK
    Hi, it took me a while to figure this out myself, so here it is:
    1. Press "menu" button -> followed by settings on the pop-up
    2. Press "Wireless & Networks -> Mobile networks (set options for roaming, networks, APNs)
    3. Press Access Point Names -> press "menu" button and choose to +New APN
    4. Enter all necessary info obtained from your service provider where appropriate
    Job done!
     
  7. spile

    spile Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    424
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    424
    44
    43
    Menu > Settings > Wireless and Networks > Mobile Networks > Access Point Names > then Select Operator or create new settings
     
  8. rocktjb

    rocktjb Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011

    Jan 30, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    hi i have a similar problem.have brougt a eclipse dual som 2.2 android phone.
    my tesco sim come up as o2.
    how do i get round this and get wap and mms working???
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...