1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Mobile Network icon

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by athegn, Oct 13, 2011.

  1. athegn

    athegn Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #328
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    697
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    697
    42
    68
    On my HTC Desire I can get an icon on my Home screen so that I can toggle Mobile Networks on/off with one press; pity I can't replace the Blue Tooth button on the Power strip with this mobile widget.

    Path is:-

    Widgets > Setting > Mobile Network



    I want to add a similar icon to the Home screen on a San Francisco; the path is:-

    Home > Menu > Settings > Wireless & Networks > Mobile Network setting > Data connection

    Any advice please?

    Already using the Power strip; but it does not have Mobile; I don't use Blue Tooth so would gladly give that up for a Mobile Networks button.
     

    Advertisement

  2. De@n

    De@n Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    150
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010

    Sep 4, 2010
    150
    23
    38
    Male
    UK
    I use tasker and apndroid to turn mobile data on/off
     
  3. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,470
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,470
    7,251
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Smart Taskbar is an amazin task manager n it has buttons to toggle flightmode+data.
    dont know bout homescreen shortcuts m8 but with smart taskbar, ul find urself hardly usin the homescreen
     
  4. athegn

    athegn Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #328
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    697
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    697
    42
    68
    I have now tried SwitchPro Widget on my Desire; will add what ever works on that to San Francisco.

    Almost ok in that it has buttons for 3G and wifi but unlike using Power Control and the separate mobile button, which just choose wifi if available, SwitchPro insists I turn off wifi if I want to turn on 3G? Before I just left both on.

    Do other widgets do the same?

    Any advice?
     
  5. dannymur

    dannymur Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    361
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011

    Mar 22, 2011
    361
    153
    68
    Male
    Ireland's Lake Land
    Use Launcher Pro, then long press on any Home Screen, select Widgets, Power Control ......it has an additional switch for Mobile data.

    Six in all, from left...WiFi/BT/GPS/Mobile Data/Sync/Brightness

    BTW, very old pic that, Home Screens look nothing like that now :eek:

    [​IMG]
     
  6. athegn

    athegn Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #328
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    697
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    697
    42
    68
    Thank you for the Launcher Pro suggestion but do you know if that has the same problem i.e. does it complain if the mobile button is pressed and the wifi button is still on?
     
  7. CP654321

    CP654321 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012

    Jun 6, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    To add a button to the HTC Wildfire screen to turn Mobile Networks on or off:

    • + / Add Widget / Settings / Mobile Networks
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...