1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Mobile Network "Turning On" Please Help!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by emerica243, Mar 15, 2010.

  1. emerica243

    emerica243 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    199
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010

    Feb 21, 2010
    199
    11
    38
    I recently bought an Eris from Craigslist. It had 2.1 on it. I recently got my number ported and activated on the eris on pageplus. Although the weird thing, and this happened before the activation. Is after i used the wifi widget and the 3g turned off the mobile network wont turn on. I tried using the widget toggle as well as in the menu. Its just always stuck as " Turning On".

    Do i have to do anything to fix this? I thought i saw a thread about this the other night but now i cant find it. I also did a hard reset thinking that would fix the problem before i did OTA Activation. But it did not fix the problem. Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. NPH-

    NPH- Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010

    Jan 29, 2010
    208
    5
    36
    Texas
    SoundS like you might have been screwed through that purchase
     
  3. emerica243

    emerica243 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    199
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010

    Feb 21, 2010
    199
    11
    38
    lol...hmm seems its working now. Im not sure if it was a network issue now or not. Fully activated on pageplus and everything working, including data.

    Only thing is now the weather widget says it cant update. anyone else able to have that update?
     
  4. odaxium

    odaxium Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    78
    1
    16
    Fwiw, I'm on 1.5 and have had issues with the Mobile widget stuck at 'turning on'. This has only happened twice in 2 months and the way I've gotten around it is by going into the wireless settings and telling it to turn on, and for me it has worked.
     
  5. jayjay1122

    jayjay1122 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,456
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010

    Mar 12, 2010
    1,456
    338
    163
    Network Engineering and Data Communications
    I'll be where I'm at!
    Anybody still having this issue? I put my phone in Airplane mode when I go to bed and for the last two days, in the morning when I turn Airplane mode off, my Mobile Network hangs and won't switch on...

    Yesterday I rebooted and it came back, but today that did not even fix it and I was only able to manually turn it back on after the reboot.

    FYI. Its a "stock" Eris running 1.5 still...
     
  6. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    9,692
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    9,692
    8,365
    813
    Right Behind You
    I had a problem with my mobile network last night. Mine was a network issue though. Both mine and my girlfriends phones lost 3G for a few hours. Not saying that this is what is happening to any of you, but it could be if it has only happened once.
     
  7. jayjay1122

    jayjay1122 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,456
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010

    Mar 12, 2010
    1,456
    338
    163
    Network Engineering and Data Communications
    I'll be where I'm at!
    I was thinking/hoping it might have been a "3G" issue and not a "me" issue...gonna try Airplane mode again tonight and see what happens in the morning.
     
  8. jayjay1122

    jayjay1122 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,456
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010

    Mar 12, 2010
    1,456
    338
    163
    Network Engineering and Data Communications
    I'll be where I'm at!
    Same thing as yesterday and the day before...

    Put phone in Airplane mode last night and this morning turned Airplane mode off and Mobile Network hangs and won't come back till I reboot!

    Odd that this would present itself when I have been doing this for months with no problems.
     
  9. AudiDan

    AudiDan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    118
    5
    36
    Realtor
    Houston, TX
    Had the same problems a few times when I was still on 1.5. What I did to fix the problem was to hit the airplane widget and turn if off and on a few times, finally my mobile widget lit up and was able to be turned on. I never had to power down or pull the battery. Since loading both 2.1 versions the problem has never occured again.
     
    jayjay1122 likes this.
  10. AwesomeIT

    AwesomeIT Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    241
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    241
    22
    38
    IT Coordinator
    Pa
    Why are you putting it in Airplane mode? Is there a specific reason? Are you not charging it over night and worrying about how much battery life you will have when you wake up?
     
  11. jayjay1122

    jayjay1122 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,456
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010

    Mar 12, 2010
    1,456
    338
    163
    Network Engineering and Data Communications
    I'll be where I'm at!
    I do plug it in at night and I only put it in Airplane mode so I don't get calls or txts and have it make any noise...I could just put it on silent mode. Airplane mode is not necessary by any means.

    I guess I was more wondering why it would start giving me problems "all of a sudden" instead of from the first time I started doing it.
     
  12. jayjay1122

    jayjay1122 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,456
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010

    Mar 12, 2010
    1,456
    338
    163
    Network Engineering and Data Communications
    I'll be where I'm at!
    Thanks Dan, I will give that a shot...Besides, I may just cave and update tonight anyway.
     
  13. AudiDan

    AudiDan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    118
    5
    36
    Realtor
    Houston, TX
    Jay I did forget to tell you that when you hit the airplane widget a few times on and off, wait a few seconds to see if your mobile widget will light up for you to hit it and turn it on. Just something I discovered, seemed to take the phone a min to realize what was going on.

    I updated twice with both 2.1 versions and it was easy. If you decide to update and need help let me know.
     
  14. jayjay1122

    jayjay1122 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,456
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010

    Mar 12, 2010
    1,456
    338
    163
    Network Engineering and Data Communications
    I'll be where I'm at!
    Awesome Dan...Thanks!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...