1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support mobile websites

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by iu3939, Feb 24, 2011.

  1. iu3939

    iu3939 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    22
    2
    16
    How do you get the full websites instead of the mobile sites? Standard browser.
     

    Advertisement

  2. p8ntballah21

    p8ntballah21 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    263
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010

    Jan 14, 2010
    263
    59
    53
    I saw that is happening by default too, its got to be in the settings menu somewhere but I can't find it.
     
  3. jeff327

    jeff327 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    77
    11
    18
    In the address bar type about:debug tap go, then go to settings, tap settings, tap debug, tap UAstring and tap desktop. It is only a temporary solution but I think this is the only way to get full websites. I need to do the same thing on my Droid X.
     
  4. ckeegan

    ckeegan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    381
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    381
    126
    68
    I tried about:debug too, and it doesn't do anything in the XOOM browser.
     
  5. jeff327

    jeff327 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    77
    11
    18
    It works for me. Try it again. You must be missing a step.
     
  6. iu3939

    iu3939 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    22
    2
    16
    Worked perfectly, thank you.
     
  7. gobluejd

    gobluejd GOBLUE!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,786
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    1,786
    610
    213
    Product Engineer
    NW Indiana
    Same here. Did nothing :thinking:
     
  8. jokeefe10

    jokeefe10 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    102
    67
    53
    Same here, nothing happened. Are we missing something?
     
  9. Proph

    Proph Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    369
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    369
    99
    53
    Houston, TX
    Yes you are. So you type the about:debug into the address bar then hit return. Nothing will appear to happen. Then go to the normal settings menu in the top right of the browser. When you go to settings on the left you will now see a new option called debug, go there and the second from the top is ua string touch it and change it to desk top. WA a law you are now surfing normally.
     
  10. BoozeRob

    BoozeRob Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    162
    75
    53
    Seattle
    So desktop is still showing some sites in mobile... for example espn is still the mobile browser
     
  11. jokeefe10

    jokeefe10 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    102
    67
    53
    That did the trick........thanks for clearing that up!
     

Share This Page

Loading...