1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General [MOD]App2External_SD (Fixed Duplicate files)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by androidguy1991, Nov 30, 2013.

  1. nyktovus

    nyktovus Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012

    Feb 23, 2012
    68
    1
    16
    just updated to v6,
    reinstalled this mod to swap the sd and int space.. and it works.. but now i got duplicates!?!?

    help..
     

    Advertisement

  2. VDubsnVolvos122

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014

    Jun 27, 2014
    1
    0
    5
    Male
    I stumbled across this forum in hopes of increasing my storage space with the help of my microSD. So here's my first forum post.

    I've already rooted my phone, have superSU,
    Used link2SD which helped at first, it linked some of the large file apps making space but I've run into the problem where it says I have space free but won't download or update apps due to "Insufficient Storage". Even on apps like facebook.

    Now for the irony, as I try to install this program uni init v 1.0 as an apk, it tells me that "Universal init.d.support could not be installed. Free up some space and try again."
    I dont understand, I've got 450+ mb free. As i clear space for the uni-init.d program it wont let me reinstall them due to insufficient space.
    Could it be something to do with Link2SD?
    Idk what to do... It seemed to work for others. I like this phone, but it's storage makes me want to mercilessly beat people on the sidewalk with the phone.

    V 4.1.2, LG optimus F3, Virgin Mobile.
     
  3. nyktovus

    nyktovus Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012

    Feb 23, 2012
    68
    1
    16
    Has anyone had success with this on V6?? i was on v5, and it worked great.. now on v6 i have duplicates of everything. its terrible.
     
  4. bkttk2

    bkttk2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #109
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    507
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    507
    231
    113
    Male
    Blue Springs, MO
    I tried it with v6 and did not notice any issues, but I did not run it but a day or two. Mainly just curious on how it worked.

    Not sure if it matters but I ran after receiving v6 via OTA. I also have F3 manufactured in Korea.

    Out of the box v6 may behave differently but not sure.
     
  5. nyktovus

    nyktovus Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012

    Feb 23, 2012
    68
    1
    16
    I updated from v5 to the stockv6 rom using the newest cwm. When i replicated this script it started creating duplicates. I dunno what went wrong.. really frustrating.
     
  6. juan325

    juan325 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014

    Jul 2, 2014
    1
    0
    5
    Hi, did you get to fix the annoying message of insufficient storage available? I get to the point where my Total Space is my SD Card but I still have the message when I try to upgrade or install applications.

    Thanks,

    Juan
     
  7. schpelTiger

    schpelTiger Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013

    Feb 2, 2013
    36
    5
    16
    For some reason this method doesn't exactly fix the issue of apps installing to the data partition, which is what the phone's original sdcard0 partition shares with. Newly installed apps show up in the /data/app/ directory. However, large games (example: Dodonpachi Resurrection) install into the /mnt/asec/ directory and read the swapped SD card space as being available to download extra data to. Not sure what's going on there, but if it were possible to force all apps to install to that directory (it seems it's only for encrypted apps?) we could finally make complete use of our microSD card space for installing apps.
     
  8. AquaVolt

    AquaVolt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    307
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014

    Jun 27, 2014
    307
    51
    63
    Male
    High School Student
    New York, United States
    So this mod pretty much swaps the internal and external storage putting data in the sd card, but the app itself stays on the 1.27 GB of storage? If thats the case then You can just have Link2SD link the apps to the new "internal storage"
     
  9. chr1scj

    chr1scj Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012

    Jun 4, 2012
    8
    0
    5
    none of your business
    Ok I got to the last step and nothing came up about it. But I gave up on it.. Now my phone has Soft keys like the Nexus 5 when i dont need them. How do i get them off?:mad:
     
  10. moore.bryan

    moore.bryan Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011

    How, exactly, can Link2SD do that? I only have the option to link to sdcard....
     
  11. AquaVolt

    AquaVolt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    307
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014

    Jun 27, 2014
    307
    51
    63
    Male
    High School Student
    New York, United States
    I don't know I didn't try it yet, but others are saying so
     
  12. moore.bryan

    moore.bryan Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011

    I'm very interested to see something that *actually* works, as I consistently still get the "insufficient space" warning... just trying to install an icon pack I get this now, even though I've removed almost all my apps. Strange. I've read some things on XDA about logs being a point of contention, but all my log folders--e.g., /data/logs--are empty.
     
  13. Folau4Life

    Folau4Life Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014

    Jul 16, 2014
    1
    0
    5
    Kinda new to all this, so please bear with me. I can't even get past the first step because the file won't open as a regular apk? I have ROM Toolbox Lite installed and it happens to be the only app that opens it with. But it just runs the phone into recovery.

    Factory Resetted my phone to see if it would fix the problem but no, it wont let me open the .apk file at all.
     
  14. eve_brea

    eve_brea Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2014

    Feb 20, 2014
    11
    0
    15
    i seem to be failing here somewhere. the script seems to be running as my phone tells me that my 32 gig sdcard is the internal, and the 1.24 gig internal is the external... but my apps are still installing to the phone, not the SDcard. so now, i try to install, say, angry birds, and it gives me the "manage applications" popup, saying it's full.

    or does this still require the 32gig be partitioned and use link2sd?
     
  15. AquaVolt

    AquaVolt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    307
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014

    Jun 27, 2014
    307
    51
    63
    Male
    High School Student
    New York, United States
    Apps still install on the phone, but data and obb files stay on the sd card. You still need to partion your sd card and use link2sd.
     
  16. eve_brea

    eve_brea Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2014

    Feb 20, 2014
    11
    0
    15

    out of a 32 gig sd, i use to use 10 for the hidden ext4 partition, should i still do that?
     
  17. Vegaz

    Vegaz Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014

    Mar 21, 2014
    14
    0
    15
    D-Town
    I have 32 gb and i just split it mostly 50/50 and for the most part i dont get "insufficient memory" message as long as go link them and i havent tried linking link2sd seems like i saw somewhere not to link it along with your supersu app (whichever one you are using) and smanager, but dont remember where could have been this thread
     
  18. CYCONUMNUM

    CYCONUMNUM Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    810
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011

    Nov 27, 2011
    810
    407
    133
    Male
    my occupation is a peaceful one
    in a van down by the river
    thank you so much for this ....i was having samsung admire flashbacks till i figured this out and followed it right the first time..

    only problem is...why can i only use 18 from a 32 gig sd? ...im greatful i have more than before...im just wondering what that's about?

    maybe it was my goofy partition i used aparted and did a 22/10 split with the right settings .... did i not need to partition it at all?
     
  19. moore.bryan

    moore.bryan Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011

    Quick question, folks...

    This script swaps /storage/external_SD and /storage/sdcard0, where--originally--/storage/external_SD is one's microSD card and /storage/sdcard0 is the emulated internal storage; correct?

    If that's the case, what is still being installed to /storage/external_SD which is--due to the script--the severely limited internal storage that Android should understand as an external sdcard? I have "Internal" as where everything should install, but am still filling-up my pseudo-external_SD...
     
  20. sdforum

    sdforum Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2014

    Aug 30, 2014
    2
    0
    5
    Hey all,

    I think I got this to work. I followed the steps and my storage showed the larger sd card as my internal storage like in the OPs picture.

    However, when I install facebook, the real internal storage is decreased. Furthermore, when I open facebook for the first time, the internal storage is decreased further. This also happened for pinterest.

    I guess it was stated here that this only puts the data on the external storage, not the app. Seemed like a really silly solution. Then I kept reading and realized everyone was using link2sd with this. I've done link2sd before and don't want to do it again. So after trying several things I ran into app2sd
    (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.a0soft.gphone.app2sd) and that has allowed me to move apps such as facebook to the external sd. The only drawback is that it won't let me move any apps that came with the stock firmware such as gmail, hangouts, etc... Which I believe link2sd will allow. So that means I can only have abot 550 MB free on my internal sd card while someone on link2sd may have close to 1gig free. But in both cases, I believe the free space should never shrink. It's only day 1, so if I run into any issues I will try to come back and update this post.

    So in summary I would recommend what I did: Get root with saferoot. Erase external sdcard from phone settings. Apply this hack. Download app2sd.
     
  21. kgjohns

    kgjohns Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012

    Oct 5, 2012
    87
    15
    18
    Male
    This did not seem to work for me, still showed the tiny phone storage
     
  22. daffyducknj

    daffyducknj Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #96
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    736
    Joined:
    May 24, 2012

    May 24, 2012
    736
    226
    133
    Male
    odd jobs atm
    NJ, USA
    Yup. Not to mention I've had programs
    crash with this mod. Better to stick with making a bigger partition for Link2SD to play with (like around 5 Gb or more). That app links data to ext4, which makes this mod obsolete IMHO.
     
    LogosA likes this.
  23. josephj643

    josephj643 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014

    Sep 14, 2014
    11
    0
    15
    can someone please help me i am stuck on step 11 where do i go?
     
  24. gherkaul

    gherkaul Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    480
    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012

    Feb 29, 2012
    480
    243
    88
    Male
    Master craftsman
    Derby City
    Use Smanager to browse to the sub-folder stated and tap the script file. Then continue on with step 12.
     
  25. josephj643

    josephj643 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014

    Sep 14, 2014
    11
    0
    15
    SOMONE HELP im stuck on step eight after i copy it to my SD file i dont see it when i open up my root browser
     

Share This Page

Loading...