1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [MOD]GPU Mod

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by lMonsterl, Apr 24, 2012.

  1. lMonsterl

    lMonsterl Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,308
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011

    Jul 18, 2011
    1,308
    598
    213
    Self-Employed
    U.S.
    Experimental- DO NOT QUOTE THIS POST PLEASE

    Results may vary.. This has been tested on other phones but not this one

    My benchmark went up 500

    Removes CPU rendering. Instead uses GPU rendering.

    INSTRUCTIONS:
    Using Root Explorer:
    Go to /system/lib/egl/
    Mount RW
    Long click on egl.cfg
    open with text editor
    delete the first line so the second is now on the first line. Save and exit
    In the same folder delete: libGLES_android.so
    Mount RO
    REBOOT


    Expanded on from earlier this month (http://androidforums.com/marquee-all-things-root/509961-benchmarks.html#post4174856)

    April 4, 2012:
    NO USB PLUGGED IN.
    Look at the 3D differences



    Before:
    [​IMG]

    After:
    [​IMG]


    MORE INFORMATION: http://forum.xda-developers.com/archive/index.php/t-1104420.html
    TWEAKS: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?p=16833651#post16833651

     

    Advertisement

  2. imfm

    imfm Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    154
    84
    53
    Social Scientist
    Texas
    AWESOME! Thanks Monster! Is there any way you can combine your modifications with ndno's overclock kernel?
     
  3. lMonsterl

    lMonsterl Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,308
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011

    Jul 18, 2011
    1,308
    598
    213
    Self-Employed
    U.S.
    it had nothing to do with the kernel but you could add it to the same update zip and add it in the updater-script.

    someone test it and let me know if they lose 3g
     
  4. micha3lall3n

    micha3lall3n Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011

    Aug 8, 2011
    15
    0
    15
    man were getting hooked up today... ill test now and let you know
     
  5. ndno

    ndno Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012

    Jan 31, 2012
    183
    77
    53
    Awesome, I wonder if this increases battery usage, hence reduces battery performance. With this and the OC kernel, this phone will fly though I think battery performance will suffer
     
  6. micha3lall3n

    micha3lall3n Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011

    Aug 8, 2011
    15
    0
    15
    3gs not working for me
     
  7. micha3lall3n

    micha3lall3n Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011

    Aug 8, 2011
    15
    0
    15
    performance seems like its plug in usb though... just no 3g
     
  8. lMonsterl

    lMonsterl Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,308
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011

    Jul 18, 2011
    1,308
    598
    213
    Self-Employed
    U.S.
    ok, working on it. It works on a fresh rom install so i might just have to put it into a new Marky Beats. I have it ready but i just want to see if i can get it to work without having a whole reflash.

    Try clearing Dalvik and let me know
     
  9. imfm

    imfm Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    154
    84
    53
    Social Scientist
    Texas
    Same here on Boost. Will try clearing in a minute.
     
  10. micha3lall3n

    micha3lall3n Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011

    Aug 8, 2011
    15
    0
    15
    tried clearing dalvik cache and fixed permissions but it didnt fix phone is really smooth though :)
     
  11. lMonsterl

    lMonsterl Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,308
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011

    Jul 18, 2011
    1,308
    598
    213
    Self-Employed
    U.S.
    it looks like its the oc kernel. works on hyper .2
     
  12. k28king1

    k28king1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    447
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012

    Mar 8, 2012
    447
    163
    68
    Male
    Seafood Retail Manager/ poultry manager
    NYC
    I just want to thank all you guys for all of your hard work. I knew this phone had potential, we all just needed to be patient. Blood2n, monster, ndno, asdullah, you guys made my day th
     
  13. ndno

    ndno Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012

    Jan 31, 2012
    183
    77
    53
    With the OC and GPU tweaks concurrently, maybe it's too much current and voltage drawn so maybe the phone doesn't have enough juice left for the 3g data RF hardware to work.
     
  14. lMonsterl

    lMonsterl Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,308
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011

    Jul 18, 2011
    1,308
    598
    213
    Self-Employed
    U.S.
    nope i figured it out. Check first post in 2 minutes.
     
  15. hurrilanche

    hurrilanche Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012

    Feb 22, 2012
    59
    3
    16
    Nice work monster.
     
  16. lMonsterl

    lMonsterl Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,308
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011

    Jul 18, 2011
    1,308
    598
    213
    Self-Employed
    U.S.
    Yep, I guess it just has to be done manually. CWM flash did not work, well it did but no 3g.

    I am running the GPU Mod on ndno-kernel.....Its orgasmic
     
  17. micha3lall3n

    micha3lall3n Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011

    Aug 8, 2011
    15
    0
    15
    awesome job bro...
     
  18. ndno

    ndno Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012

    Jan 31, 2012
    183
    77
    53
    Awesome! I was looking at you zip file and noticed the exact 2 actions you did in the updater-script :) I was in the middle of doing it manually when you updated your first post.
     
  19. hurrilanche

    hurrilanche Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012

    Feb 22, 2012
    59
    3
    16
    I love it. I was just playing FIFA 2012 on the oc'ed kernel, which i never could before without being plugged in to the laptop. After adding this with the kernel, the game is so fast Its hard to play!
     
  20. imfm

    imfm Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    154
    84
    53
    Social Scientist
    Texas
    Hmm, I'm still getting a substantial performance boost when plugged into USB
     
  21. k28king1

    k28king1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    447
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012

    Mar 8, 2012
    447
    163
    68
    Male
    Seafood Retail Manager/ poultry manager
    NYC
    After testing this mod, i have found that this is a trick i learned about over a month ago, out was even mentioned in a few post on this forum, in no way am i trying to discredit stones work, believe me it it's all greatly appreciated, but i have been using this trick for a while now and it does provide a slight boost, but.nothing mind blowing, the true way to get this phone to perform up to all of our standards is to figure out how to modify the phones interaction with the digital signal processor (dsp)(co processor). Once that is figured out than we can truly realize this phones potential, i am currently heavy into deep reach trying to figure this out any help will be greatly appreciated
     
  22. lMonsterl

    lMonsterl Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,308
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011

    Jul 18, 2011
    1,308
    598
    213
    Self-Employed
    U.S.
    I was wondering and hoping that would happen
     
  23. lMonsterl

    lMonsterl Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,308
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011

    Jul 18, 2011
    1,308
    598
    213
    Self-Employed
    U.S.
    It was never mentioned here. Find it so I can give credit.

    If it was in here this thread would have been posted a while ago.

    Maybe u saw it somewhere else..
     
  24. ndno

    ndno Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012

    Jan 31, 2012
    183
    77
    53
    Hmmm... I'm not getting any boost at all. I did the manual edits mentioned in post #1 and have been spending the last hour trying to figure out what I did wrong. Monster, are the libraries (in /system/lib/egl) in your ROM anything different than the stock ZVC version (I'm using stock)? Here are the files in my /system/lib/egl (after deleting the libGLES_android library):

    egl.cfg (first line removed)
    libEGL_POWERRVR_SGX530_125.so
    libGLESv1_CM_POWERRVR_SGX530_125.so
    libGLESv2_POWERRVR_SGX530_125.so

    Reboot, clear cache/dalvik-cache, still no go. Plugging it into the PC and the performance boost is there.
     
  25. lMonsterl

    lMonsterl Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,308
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011

    Jul 18, 2011
    1,308
    598
    213
    Self-Employed
    U.S.
    No the files are the same. looks like we need to keep digging for more
     
  26. KevinCox940

    KevinCox940 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2016

    Apr 13, 2016
    1
    0
    25
    Male
    Hi. Does your phone have to be rooted for this to work? I have an LGMS631 (LG G Stylo) MetroPcs. GSM. I

    I put the number in ##5473784236368) and nothing happened.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...