1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [MOD] HQ Camera, 1080p 40Mbps

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by EarlyMon, Jun 25, 2012.

  1. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    As found at [MOD] HQ Camera - xda-developers

    Not my work but very interesting.

    Requires Class 6 or better sd card if using external storage.

    Check thread for installation instructions and rom compatibility.

    Adds toggles for shutter sound and geotagging.

    Reduced jpeg compression, said to go as high as 5 MB for an 8 MP shot; stock limit is 2 MB.

    30 FPS video recording cap. Bluray is 24. ;) :)

    I know, we all prefer 60 fps. Recording caps are likely limited in the kernel, so until they release source...

    Always make a nandroid backup before installing new or modified system components.

    This is no exception. The installer is still somewhat under construction. Works for many no problem, some troubleshooting required for others.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,909
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,909
    13,142
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    I installed this last night around midnight. Snapped a few shots. Not sure if I notice a difference but hey why not?

    Thanks for posting it up.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  3. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Can't wait to try the video - prior to this, smoothness wasn't anything to write home about.

    Expect this to make a bigger difference in well-lit shots. The compression reduction from a max file size output of 2 MB to 5 MB is pretty impressive.
     
  4. Sauske

    Sauske Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    522
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011

    Mar 26, 2011
    522
    348
    113
    Student...for now!
    Orlando, Fl
    Have you had a chance to try the video!?
     
  5. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    I really haven't but while someone was claiming that it couldn't make a difference because of the bitrate being only 6 Mbps, I swung around in the office and immediately got 12 Mbps. So, that's not nothing, and I anticipate the next time I record the little ones, it ought to be a lot smoother.

    I think we may need to wait for a kernel mod before things can really open up (and lift the 30 fps cap and get us to 60, and with 40 Mbps released there as well, no reason why we couldn't).

    Don't know if the still camera interests you but did you see my post in the Images thread?

    http://androidforums.com/htc-evo-4g-lte/555778-images-taken-your-evo-4g-lte-5.html#post4575792

    Read the text to see what you're looking at, you may be surprised. :)
     
  6. Sauske

    Sauske Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    522
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011

    Mar 26, 2011
    522
    348
    113
    Student...for now!
    Orlando, Fl
    Wow....that's what that Mod for still allow you to do!?
     
  7. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Yes. And thank you. No one else seems impressed by that, but I think that sort of detail out of a cropped pic, with only 271kB required for an image of that quality is really, really something.
     
  8. Sauske

    Sauske Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    522
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011

    Mar 26, 2011
    522
    348
    113
    Student...for now!
    Orlando, Fl
    It's detail and crisp! It looks extremely professional! I will be applying this Mod!;)
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  9. EngineofRuin

    EngineofRuin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    May 22, 2012

    May 22, 2012
    108
    97
    53
    Queens, New York.
    Will this be ok on Meanrom?

    Do I just do a normal backup in TWRP beforehand?
     
    3vodroid likes this.
  10. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Yes, please do a normal nandroid backup in TWRP first.

    There were some with installer issues earlier so the dev updated the installer. You should be able to just flash this like any update to MeanRom but if trouble happens, your nandroid will save the day. :)
     
    3vodroid and EngineofRuin like this.
  11. EngineofRuin

    EngineofRuin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    May 22, 2012

    May 22, 2012
    108
    97
    53
    Queens, New York.
    Backed up, flashed and everything seems ok.

    There seemed to be a bit of lag on the physical camera button, at first startup. Seems to have gone now though.

    If anything goes wrong, I can always recover from the backup.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  12. EngineofRuin

    EngineofRuin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    May 22, 2012

    May 22, 2012
    108
    97
    53
    Queens, New York.
    Just one last thing, will I need to reinstall when I update the ROM?
     
  13. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Depends on the update method. If Mikey releases a patch for previous Meanies, maybe not, if he requires a wipe/re-flash, then definitely yes.

    Only a matter of time before this is a standard feature in nearly all roms, honestly.
     
    EngineofRuin likes this.
  14. itsrwdy11

    itsrwdy11 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012

    Aug 22, 2012
    3
    0
    25
    how do i install, im running on mac. does that make a difference?
     
  15. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Not a problem.

    You'll need to be fully rooted with the latest TWRP recovery.

    From there, make a nandroid backup, download the zip file from the link above to your /sdcard (internal) or /sdcard2 (external), then use TWRP to flash this mod.
     

Share This Page

Loading...