1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Mod] Improve GPS connectivity

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by phw8558, Sep 30, 2012.

  1. phw8558

    phw8558 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    750
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011

    Aug 18, 2011
    750
    86
    78
    Kalamazoo
    I take no credit for this, I am just simply posting the solution I found that helped with my poor gps readouts. If your GPS is already fast you probably won't notice much change.

    Simply follow this link and follow instructions. http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1325033. You will find a very informative OP that should answer any questions you have before installation.

    *I recommend the version "Google Specific No-SSL v3.1" or " Google Specific v3.1" This took me from a max of 6 fixed satellites (if I was lucky, usually hovered around 3-4) to 11 max satellites (hovers around 9). There are a variety of free apps on Play that will show you how many active satellites you are connecting to. One is "GPS essentials" and another good one is "GPS status and toolbox". Iwill post a screenshot when tapatalk is working.

    *PS can just be flashed through recovery.. super easy

    *PPS donate to crypted if this works for you!
     

    Advertisement

  2. pheonix991

    pheonix991 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012

    Aug 22, 2012
    59
    6
    16
    AWESOME!!!

    Thanks.
     
  3. phw8558

    phw8558 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    750
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011

    Aug 18, 2011
    750
    86
    78
    Kalamazoo
    6 was the most I saw before, although at most times I was lucky to get 4. This screenshot is after the patch
     

    Attached Files:

  4. clc130

    clc130 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011

    Aug 23, 2011
    80
    14
    18
    Software Quality Analyst
    Pittsburgh, PA
    I actually didn't see much improvement with this - connecting to 8 satellites before and after updating the conf file, at about the same speed as well. I'll have to do some testing in another location before I can make any solid conclusions.
     
  5. phw8558

    phw8558 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    750
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011

    Aug 18, 2011
    750
    86
    78
    Kalamazoo
    Yeah I think I should revise the OP, because if you already have good connectivity you probably won't see to much of an improvement. More for people having problems.

    In your case 8 is a pretty solid number.

    Someone coming from 4 (which I believe is the minimum needed to fix your location) would benefit alot more
     
  6. Leslie Ann

    Leslie Ann Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,427
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    1,427
    893
    213
    I.T. Consultant
    My signal was more stable with the mod (by one satellite) but I was able to connect to one more satellite without the mod.

    In the end, it's wash.
     
  7. phw8558

    phw8558 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    750
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011

    Aug 18, 2011
    750
    86
    78
    Kalamazoo
    Apparently the problem with the GPS dates back to some Sprint 3d users. I guess I was one of the unlucky virgin users to get it. However, this has taken my error (In meters) from 100-200m before the patch to 5-10m. Also my indicator no longer "moves" when I'm not moving.
     
  8. drewdawg87

    drewdawg87 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012

    Feb 24, 2012
    43
    10
    18
    Professional Cook
    Glenville, NY
    Was just curious to try, but no change, though mine works good. This phone is nothing like the triumph, couldn't get a gps lock with that phone if you held it ten feet in the air.
     
  9. phw8558

    phw8558 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    750
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011

    Aug 18, 2011
    750
    86
    78
    Kalamazoo
    Never had the triumph but that's what I've been hearing. My problem on this phone wasn't that it took long to lock in its just that it was highly inaccurate. Locked me in instant, although it was half a mile away.:thumbdown:
     
  10. Prey521

    Prey521 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    466
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    466
    40
    43
    What a POS the Triumph was....so glad to be rid of that paperweight.
     
  11. phw8558

    phw8558 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    750
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011

    Aug 18, 2011
    750
    86
    78
    Kalamazoo
    Lol
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...