1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Modaco 3.1 vs Stock ROM

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by espresso, Feb 20, 2010.

  1. espresso

    espresso Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    7
    0
    25
    Malta
    Hi

    I've just purchased an HTC Hero from ebay. The phone is Orange Branded and it's running on Modaco 3.1. Based on what I've seen in other threads this was probably done to unlock the phone. Am I right?

    Now, I'm rather impressed but I've also noticed that it lacks some apps that apparently come by default on the factory rom. I would like to have these apps eg Google Maps, Radio, the compass, Android Market etc :thinking: Also calendar keeps crashing and I wasn't overly impressed by the reception. So I'm rather inclined to replace the rom.

    My question is shall I change the ROM? I've read many positive reviews on the update published by HTC in Sept. The thing is I tried to download the ROM from the HTC site and did not manage most probably because it's an Orange Phone. My suspicion is that if I go to the Orange site and submit the s/n they will provide me with a ROM that will re-lock the phone - which obviously I don't want.

    Any advise would be greatly appreciated?

    Cheers
     

    Advertisement

  2. Arthur Hucksake

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010

    Feb 3, 2010
    68
    3
    16
    Stick with the Modaco, it's far far better than the stock roms.

    Have a look here at the Modaco forums for more info on this ROM.

    HTC Hero - Hero.MoDaCo.com - Android @ MoDaCo

    They even have a "kitchen" where you can create your own ROM to include / remove different pieces of software. It's worth having a play.
     
  3. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    12,881
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,881
    9,209
    1,413
    UK
    Google maps and the android market should be there on modaco already, and there isn't any radio on the hero.

    I suggest you wipe the phone and install a fresh copy of the modaco ROM. It's a tweaked version of the most up to date HTC release, so there wont be any benefit to installing HTC's september release. A wipe + reinstall should sort out the crashing calendar and restore all the missing apps.
     
    espresso likes this.
  4. jimbo226

    jimbo226 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    You should stick with modoco because the stock htc hero rom is laggy and is slow but modaco's rom is much faster and less laggy and the htc hero does not come with radio sorry,

    From jimbo226
     
  5. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    12,881
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,881
    9,209
    1,413
    UK
    But if you do see a mention of the Hero's Radio, people are refering to an upgrade for the internal antenna that should improve your reception.
     
  6. espresso

    espresso Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    7
    0
    25
    Malta
    ahaa!!:eek: ...10x
     
  7. espresso

    espresso Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    7
    0
    25
    Malta
    Before I take the plunge could I ask if there is a rom out there that supports Proxy Settings. As far as I can see Modaco does not and it's a bit frustrating at work not to be able to connect via wifi
     
  8. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    12,881
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,881
    9,209
    1,413
    UK
    I'm not sure, I've never needed proxy settings my self. If Modaco doesnt support it, I guess your only options are to find an app that does this, or to try one of the 2.1 ROMs (Although I dont know if they support proxies either).

    I would imagine there's definitely some way of doing it though. It's a pretty big thing to have left out.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...