1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Moonshine s-off for k2_cl [BOOST]

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jonmspaz, Jun 29, 2013.

  1. sqwerl

    sqwerl Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #291
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    150
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    150
    12
    38
    I did a few things wrong when trying to s-off my phone and install JB. First I was on ICS and accidentally started the moonshine process so I unplugged in the middle hoping to take the tradeoff of not doing more damage letting it complete.

    I reset everything like it should be to run the correct ICS moonshine this time and it ran perfectly. I then made the mistake of flashing Simon's zip and wiper in recovery rather than just restoring Heloguy's nandroid backup. Everything on the phone worked fine except every time I tried to go into mobile data settings the phone process crashed, I couldn't get to the mobile data settings at all and I lost data connection for a few seconds.

    I wiped everything and this time restored the nandroid backup. I could boot but the phone process still crashed every time going to mobile data settings.

    Next I restored my virgin ICS backup from CWM, flashed the stock kernel and flashed the stock recovery. I downloaded the OTA update through Boost and it installed fine but I got the same phone crash every time trying to access the mobile data settings. This time I ran the JB moonshine and it ran successfully also. I tried the nandroid restore again but I keep having the same problem.

    I had to unlock the bootloader again. Then I did the same virgin installs as above and tried the ICS moonshine and it ran perfectly again. I restored the nandroid backup and still have the same problem. :(

    This is what my bootloader looks like.

    moonshine S-OFF
    K2_CL PVT SHIP S-OFF RL
    CID-SPCS_003
    HBOOT-2.00.0000
    RADIO-1.12.50.0516
    OpenDSP-v9.2.0268.1214
    eMMC-boot
    Date/time

    Could this problem be from when I pulled the plug on the moonshine s-off or could it be from flashing the wiper fix with Simon's zip?

    Any help will be greatly appreciated.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Mikessv

    Mikessv Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    643
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011

    Oct 11, 2011
    643
    100
    93
    Male
    You more then likely bricked your data settings. You could try to get someone to make a backup of there's and send it to you.

    Sent from my C525c using Tapatalk 2
     
  3. simonsimons34

    simonsimons34 Rom & Kernel Developer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    583
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011

    Oct 30, 2011
    583
    688
    163
    Male
    self employed programmer/computer repair specialis
    Sevierville
    Only one way to find out. In the dialer ##25327#
    Hit menu then reset
    Epst okay
    Let your phone reboot and ota reprogram itself
     
    sqwerl and Mikessv like this.
  4. sqwerl

    sqwerl Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #291
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    150
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    150
    12
    38
    You're the man! I reset it on ICS and downloaded the OTA and bingo!

    Do you know the code on JB to reset? That may help some of the data connectivity issues me and possibly other people are having.
     
  5. simonsimons34

    simonsimons34 Rom & Kernel Developer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    583
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011

    Oct 30, 2011
    583
    688
    163
    Male
    self employed programmer/computer repair specialis
    Sevierville
    I'm not sure you'd probably have to call boost and say your data needs reset the computer should tell you if you follow the right path
     
  6. htcphan

    htcphan Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    May 26, 2013

    May 26, 2013
    14
    1
    16
    construction
    florida
    i was on stock ICS rooted running shinru's kernel. I followed the ultimate guide (to get non-glitchy recovery). When I got to the S-OFF section I had a problem, I couldnt install naked drivers. Something about an inf file... The way I did it flawlessly the first time was followed directions from wetbiker exact. Naked drivers file downloaded but when i went to install and couldnt I decided to just go into control panel, programs, uninstalled everything HTC related which was (3) things, rebooted laptop and phone and proceeded without ever going into device manager or doing the right click on the phone icon steps. Worked perfect. hope this helps anyone
     
  7. sqwerl

    sqwerl Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #291
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    150
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    150
    12
    38
    The code to reset your profile/PRL etc. Simon gave for ICS above is ##72786# on JB.
     
    simonsimons34 likes this.
  8. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    @ HTCphan.

    I never even bothered with the naked drivers. I installed HTC Sync and the drivers installed with it. When it installed the drivers are actually a separate install and are reflected as such under programs. I just uninstalled HTC Sync from my programs and kept the drivers. I have had no issues at all doing it that way. Everything and I do mean everything works flawlessly on my pc when my phone is connected. :D:D
     
    Kreatur3 and wyelkins like this.
  9. Mikessv

    Mikessv Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    643
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011

    Oct 11, 2011
    643
    100
    93
    Male
    I had nothing but problems trying to get s-off with Windows but had almost no problems using Linux.

    Sent from my C525c using Tapatalk 2
     
  10. 521solutions

    521solutions Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012

    Moonshine runs all the way through but in hboot it shows moonshine off at the top then it should s-on. I am currently running ICS. I have been trying to find stock boot & Recovery or a Stock ICS nandroid but can't seem to find one.

    Kernel Version
    3.0.21-g1c7e7c5
    root@amb009#1
    SMP PREEMPT

    Baseband
    1.12.50.0115

    moonshine S-Off
    K2_cl-1.01.4444
    Radio-1.12.50.0115
    OpenDSP-v7.2.0221.1123
    eMMc-boot
     
  11. Mikessv

    Mikessv Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    643
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011

    Oct 11, 2011
    643
    100
    93
    Male
    There's a whole thread on xda for them.

    Sent from my C525c using Tapatalk 2
     
  12. 521solutions

    521solutions Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012

    I have stumbled upon that post. I did not see one for the k2_cl which is boost mobile. Do you know if any of the images there will work for boost mobile?
     
  13. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,589
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,589
    70,379
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Expecting to help a family member on this soon with a brand new Boost One SV updated to the latest.

    My plan - boot into Ubuntu 12.04 (same config I used to s-off my Evo 4G LTE but that was for another method), confirm adb and fastboot working, grab moonshine_k2_cl_2.06.653.5.tgz, tar zxf it (already did to peak inside) and just run the moonshiner.sh (contains sudo ./distiller).

    Anyone see a problem with that?

    Cheers, thanks in advance! :)

    PS - I'm using 12.04 LTS 32-bit from a Live CD fwiw.
     
    OutOfPhase likes this.
  14. Mikessv

    Mikessv Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    643
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011

    Oct 11, 2011
    643
    100
    93
    Male
    Is there an error you are getting?

    Sent from my C525c using Tapatalk 2
     
  15. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,589
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,589
    70,379
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    First rule of rooting, read everything.

    Second rule, ask questions and confirm before getting stuck.

    I don't have the phone in hand yet, just wanted to be sure that I'm not missing anything.

    I've gotten s-off on an og Evo, Evo 3D and two LTEvos.

    This will be my first One SV so I thought I'd ask you cats before just waltzing in. :)
     
    jonmspaz and OutOfPhase like this.
  16. Mikessv

    Mikessv Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    643
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011

    Oct 11, 2011
    643
    100
    93
    Male
    I had used Kubuntu to s-off with Moonshine, had no luck in Windows

    Sent from my C525c using Tapatalk 2
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  17. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,589
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,589
    70,379
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    I hope this contributes, not sure - on the Moonshine site, they say:

    Ensure that lock screen security is disabled on your device.
    • no passcode lock
    • no pattern lock
    • no face lock


    Hope this helps! :)
     
    jonmspaz likes this.
  18. jonmspaz

    jonmspaz Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013

    Mar 31, 2013
    28
    20
    18
    You should be fine, I achieved s-off on 2 one sv's, one with win7, one with ubuntu 12.04, using this method. No problems either time.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  19. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal

    Were you coming running ICS when you ran Moonshine?

    Just curious because the phone he's gonna be working with came with Jelly Bean out of the box. ;)
     
  20. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,589
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,589
    70,379
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    I've had a short chat with the moonshiners. :)

    Based on that, private messages with wetbiker7, the info here, and my own previous HTC experience, I've already put together a new JellyBean guide to update the one from i2f.

    And I have someone who's never done an HTC ready to fly solo using Windows 7 with the instructions.

    With luck, we'll know in a few days and I can put that up. :)
     
    OutOfPhase and wetbiker7 like this.
  21. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    Awesome!
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  22. jonmspaz

    jonmspaz Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013

    Mar 31, 2013
    28
    20
    18
    Yes, and no. They have two versions, one for ICS, and one for JellyBean..
     
  23. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal

    Yup. That is correct.

    The majority of us fellas in the SV section have had ours since ICS though. ;)

    From what he and I have been discussing vie PM, it looks like he has got it all figured out. That's super good news for the newcomers and those still with stock JB who will be wanting to Moonshine, root, etc. in the future. :)
     
  24. benwalburn

    benwalburn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    435
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011

    Mar 31, 2011
    435
    68
    53
    Computer Repair
    s-off isn't working for me. I'm on JB. It goes through the rebooting process just fine, but then says ADB failure. I uninstalled HTC sync and rebooted the computer, but it didn't fix it.
     
  25. palmtree5

    palmtree5 Sunny Vacation Supporter!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,580
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012

    May 2, 2012
    4,580
    3,498
    633
    Male
    Student
    USA
    Are you using the JB version?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...