1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

More intuitive contacts app?

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by Amrov, Aug 19, 2010.

  1. Amrov

    Amrov Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    115
    9
    36
    Texas
    I am looking for a better contacts app. I have hundreds of contacts and scrolling takes forever. On the Blackberry I could easily hit a key to sort quickly. I can't do that easily on the Droid-at least not with one hand. I haven't seen anything in the market yet that seems to do what I want. Any contacts apps that pull up a virtual keyboard or have alpha tabs? Appreciate suggestions. Thx!
     

    Advertisement

  2. steelersmb

    steelersmb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    303
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    303
    14
    38
    I use aTakephone. It's a dialer app but you can use it to look up contacts as well by name, company, phone number and more. The developer is working on updates all the time.
     
  3. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    I use Dialer One and find it better than the stock contacts too.
     
  4. manderle

    manderle Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    216
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    216
    23
    38
    NC
    Fast Call will let you search by just hitting the first letter of the person's name. Fast Call on AppBrain
     
  5. frankbonatelli

    frankbonatelli Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    203
    30
    43
    Globally employed
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    seems to me the above mentioned apps are all Dialer replacements that have a certian level of contact managment. If im not mistaken what you are looking for is more of a robust strictly contacts manager. I too have been on the search for this. I use aTakephone for my Dialer and love it for that perpose but for a contact manager they are all weak. The best I have found for this so far is ePhonebook
    Check it out in appbrain or search the market.

    For me the search will continue till I score that perfect Palm replacement for this but for now this will do.
     
  6. Jevid

    Jevid Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    57
    1
    16
    Here's the thing - and I had to do this too: you need to change the paradigm of you are currently using contacts on the phone. Instead of opening the contact apps, use the search button on your phone. Just press search and start typing the contacts name. When you see the person you want, select it & you'll be right in the contact screen where you can place a phone call, email, text.... For me, it's the fastest way to find somebody in contacts & communicate with them, and the closest approximation to searching through contacts on a BB. For this reason, I find the stock dialer just fine, since I don't really initiate that many calls from there. Just my two cents...
     
  7. jimdroid

    jimdroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    805
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    805
    106
    93
    SF Bay Area
    +1

    This is a great point.

    I almost never use the contact list anymore, in fact, it's no longer on any of my homescreens. I either use vLingo to have it search my contacts, or Google search, or just the phone app with T9.

    For people I contact frequently, I use the Starred Items Folder.

    jd
     
  8. frankbonatelli

    frankbonatelli Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    203
    30
    43
    Globally employed
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    Javid
    This of course is correct and efficient but you still need a contact app to do any changes dial a number or interact in any manner. As an SU user of my x10 I have removed all the bloat ware built into the stock os. Now I need to replace the in built contact manager in favor of something more to my liking. This search method is an excellent quick way to get to the contact of choice but with out the manager app of any kind it'll do you no good.
     
  9. Amrov

    Amrov Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    115
    9
    36
    Texas
    Agree -- good points. But voice search doesn't work well in a noisy environment or in a meeting (when you want to find a contact but not disturb the group). I actually found FastCall and like it. It sorts all your contacts into alphabetical categories and you hit the letter you want to quickly narrow in on your contact. This is reasonaby close to what the BB does, with nice giant round buttons.

    But I'm a huge fan of using the voice feature generally and I rarely type text messages anymore! I also just downloaded Vlingo based on the above suggestion.

    Thanks all!
     
  10. louisefunny

    louisefunny Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I have found "Better Contacts" to be really good for searching, contacts mgt. Now I just need to stop the "people" app from opening all the time. Any way to connect the dialer to "better contacts" ?
     
  11. mylinuxbox

    mylinuxbox Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    117
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009

    Nov 26, 2009
    117
    2
    36
    Not sure what better than the stock people app on htc?

    I press ' phone' and just start typing the name of the contact. I don't bother with the people app. Just like on a blackberry all your contacts are loaded when you press this button, just under your call history.

    It uses T9 input.
     

Share This Page

Loading...