1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support More than 3 screens

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jallen100, Dec 24, 2009.

  1. jallen100

    jallen100 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    6
    0
    5
    Is there any way for me to get more than 3 customizable screens?
     

    Advertisement

  2. caspertodd

    caspertodd Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    109
    6
    36
    Network Engineer
    Murfreesboro, TN
    Not by default. You would need to install a home replacement app such as Open Home - Full (which is what I use). Read up on them before installing it so that you know what to expect. A few people have had them brick their phone, I haven't ever had this problem.
     
  3. jallen100

    jallen100 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    6
    0
    5

    This is not actually overwriting the OS is it? When you installed this did it keep all your apps and settings or was it like starting over?
     
  4. caspertodd

    caspertodd Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    109
    6
    36
    Network Engineer
    Murfreesboro, TN
    It is just an app that runs on your phone, so no it does not overwrite the OS. The only thing you have to do is recreate shortcuts to your apps. If you set Open Home or any of the other home replacement app as your default, then when your phone boots up, it loads that home screen app automatically. So if there is a major issue with the home replacement app, your phone could end up in a rebooting loop. I have mine set so that there is no default home app. When I boot up my phone (or any time I press the home screen), I have to choose between the default Android home app or Open Home. It took a couple days to get used to it, but I don't ever worry about my phone getting stuck in a rebooting loop (which probably won't ever happen, I'm just paranoid I guess).
     
  5. taylortr

    taylortr Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    2
    0
    5
    I use advanced launcher. It just adds more home screens (I think it let's you hide app drawer icons too but I don't use that). Its way more stable than any home replacement I've tried.
     
  6. kiddk1

    kiddk1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    363
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    363
    15
    58
    Education
    MI
    91pandahome lets you add up to 11, been using this with the hero theme, the only thing more I could ask for is for the "phone" to bring up the dialer.
     
  7. agent0014

    agent0014 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    394
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    394
    1
    36
    I've been playing with the trial version of DxTop for the last 24 hours, and honestly I'm more impressed than I expected to be. Sure you only get four homescreens, but I love the "diamond-style" layout (the four screens are laid out in a plus pattern so no matter which one you're on you can get to any of the other three with a single swipe), the application dock is exactly what it should be, simple, small and useful, and the double tab system looked awkward at first but really makes sense. Plus I love that you can shortcut to the market by long-pressing an application icon anywhere, to check for an update or to uninstall that particular icon. I'm finding that I really don't need more than the four screens with the application dock and the second drawer, so this is working out well for me. I came from GDE most recently which I wasn't that crazy about and Open Home before that which I liked a lot and figured I'd go back to soon. Now I'm reconsidering.
     
  8. njbianco

    njbianco Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    46
    Posts:
    434
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    434
    8
    46
    Male
    metro detroit
    I would use pandahome I like openhome but the newest version 3.5 bricked my phone so I had to reflash it with odin. Plus PandaHome you can have up to 11 screens, with OpenHome you can only have 7(witch is still a lot honestly)
     
  9. agent0014

    agent0014 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    394
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    394
    1
    36
    To be quite honest... I suspect anyone (well okay mostly anyone) who even REALLY needs 7 screens hasn't put a lot of thought into efficiency, and making folders to contain a lot of their shortcuts and other items. I had 7 for a while but was really only using 5, and even then they were just filled with pictures from the photo frame widget lol. Like I said before, I feel confident that 4 will be enough with DxTop given the app dock and the second tab for recently used stuff.
     
  10. flu13

    flu13 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    600
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    600
    24
    83
    It's all about how you want to use it. Some people might prefer to have 3 or 4 full screens of folders or launchers or whatnot. Others might prefer 5 or 6 screens with just a few icons to showcase their wallpaper. Still others might like filling their screens with lots of (or large) widgets for calendars, music players, SMS, etc.
     
  11. kiddk1

    kiddk1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    363
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    363
    15
    58
    Education
    MI
    I prefer not to use folders, i am currently using 4 screens, I have all the browser shortcuts on one screen and apps on the other 3
     
  12. njbianco

    njbianco Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    46
    Posts:
    434
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    434
    8
    46
    Male
    metro detroit
    I have 7 screen set up on pandahome and i utilize different folders for apps games and everything i just need that many for all my widgets & stuff. Some people have put a lot of thought into efficiency and still need 7 but you no every1s different and prefers stuff differently. What you might consider efficient some1 else may not just all on personal opinions.
     
  13. Moment

    Moment Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009

    Dec 21, 2009
    55
    0
    35
    I don't even use the 3 screens :) They're all empty.
     
  14. njbianco

    njbianco Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    46
    Posts:
    434
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    434
    8
    46
    Male
    metro detroit
    WOW!...........thats just crazy
     
  15. Moment

    Moment Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009

    Dec 21, 2009
    55
    0
    35
    To be honest.. I actually am getting annoyed by it lol. I'm gonna give in soon, I just like having a nice wallpaper and an empty screen. It saves the time of sliding open the apps screen and searching for what you want though so I know I know, its a must!
     
  16. AndroidSPCS

    AndroidSPCS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,222
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    3,222
    478
    183
    geek
    USA
    I use 91PandaHome and I love it. I have it set to 5 screens, plus I have 2 docks (one on each side of the screen) with my favorite contacts / apps. Awesome home replacement. I use the default theme, as I heard some custom themes may brick the phone.

    Best of all this app is free.
     
  17. kiddk1

    kiddk1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    363
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    363
    15
    58
    Education
    MI
    been using 91pandahome for about a week, is it slowing down the phone for you, i have been noticing that the phone is running much slower, at times I get the prompt force close or wait.
     
  18. AlkiDweller

    AlkiDweller Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    498
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    498
    96
    53
    Seattle
    After reading some bad reviews and then finding one good review from someone with a Moment, I installed GDE and I got to say I'm quite pleased. The GDE home application seems faster than the default. The "cube" graphic transition between desktop screens is incredible. You can choose to have between 1 and 7 screens.
     
  19. Keybeeetsss

    Keybeeetsss Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    459
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    459
    48
    63
    Producer/Musician
    Memphis
    I've been using Panda for a few days now.. So far, besides seeming to lag more the lower the battery gets, I like it...
     
  20. AndroidSPCS

    AndroidSPCS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,222
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    3,222
    478
    183
    geek
    USA
    The phone does run a bit slower at times, but never get a force close.

    Overall though I can live with the small lag. I imagine any home replacement app would have some lag.
     
  21. PiggyGirl

    PiggyGirl Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    62
    1
    16
    TX
    I'm ok with 2 screens, but I kept the 3rd to leave free space so I can "long press" to get to PandaHome's Home Assistant menu, which I don't think you can access any other way. I also hide all unused/rarely used icons so my drawer is actually useful. The only thing I hate about PandaHome are the dock bars. I thought there was an option to remove them but I haven't figured it out, yet. I'd switch back to the default home except I really like my custom icons and theme.
     

Samsung Moment

The Samsung Moment was one of the first Android Phones with a slideout keyboard.

Share This Page

Loading...