1. Check out our companion app, Forums for Android! Download from Google Play

Support Most accurate soft keyboard for the Optimus?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by MarylandBill, Nov 24, 2010.

1. MarylandBill

MarylandBill Member

Nov 22, 2010
    Hi, this is my first post here. I am currently trying to decide on what my next phone will be and the Optimus is very high on my list. I only have one concern about it, and that is the keyboard.

Just a little background. I am a system administrator, so I will from time to time need to use my phone to connect to my systems to fix problems when I am not near a proper computer. I know I can use connectbot with a soft keyboard, but I am concerned about how accurate you can be on a 3.2" screen.

I know there are a lot of soft keyboards available, but my requirements are slightly different than the requirements of people who use their keyboards for email and sms. I don't need to be particularly fast, but I do need to be very accurate. So does anyone have any recommendations?

On a related note, on my last windows phone, I used to use TouchPal soft keyboard, which was pretty decent despite the fact that that phone had a 2.6" resistive touchscreen. Has anyone used TouchPal on a phone with 3.2" screen and have any comments on how well it works?

Thanks,
    Bill

Advertisement

2. NOMster

NOMster Well-Known Member

Nov 10, 2009
    GA
    Smart keyboard

MarylandBill and K4KAI like this.
  3. AndroidSPCS

AndroidSPCS Well-Known Member

Nov 12, 2009
    geek
    USA
    I use SwiftKey which is awesome. Also Swype / Ultra Keyboard / Shapewriter are worth looking at for composing emails / texts.

4. MobileFanatic

MobileFanatic Member

Nov 24, 2010
    Ive been actually wondering the same thing.

I did the update the first day i got my Optimus and it added Swype, but i dont really like it very much.

The stock keyboard isnt too bad IMO but id like something better if possible.

5. telemike

telemike Well-Known Member