1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Most reliable flash ROM?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Japanorama, Jan 3, 2012.

  1. Japanorama

    Japanorama Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011

    Mar 24, 2011
    99
    0
    15
    Student
    I'm running my rooted Optimus V on 2.3.7 CyanogenMod 7.1.0 with the MiRaGE ROM overclocked to 787 Mhz (the max I can go before my phone shuts off on its own) and have the Android Honeycomb theme. I occasionally get force close errors on my homescreen (running Go Launcher Ex) as well as Words with Friends and Hanging with Friends. Sometimes in the music app too. I was wondering if there is another ROM you recommend I use and reflash so these type of errors become more minimal.
     

    Advertisement

  2. cammykool

    cammykool Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,048
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    2,048
    267
    183
    Aurora CO
  3. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    The BACKside ROM is one of the most popular here.
     
  4. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    I use BACKside with the Honeycomb 3D-SB icons. When I flash the ROM I'll wait until I've rebooted the ROM twice, then download and install my backup app. Install the theme, then go to theme Chooser. Then reboot and start restoring apps.

    I occasionally get a hiccup every once in a while, but that's to be expected of such a heavily themed, theme.
     
  5. JerryScript

    JerryScript Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,212
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    2,212
    2,065
    313
    Las Vegas
    mrg666's Mirage is always an excellent build, he actually uses a newer toolchain when building to get slightly better performance according to some users.

    I imagine you either have an app doing something in the background, or your OC is too high for your processor. Next time you experience this, check what apps are running. If you can't find any app that seems to be the issue, try dropping your overclock a notch. ;)
     
  6. benslgdroid

    benslgdroid rockstar
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011

    May 18, 2011
    2,568
    859
    213
    Male
    production assistant (pa), graphic artist
    Magrathea

    Are you using the built in over clocker or an app. Someone who recently commented ;) was using an app and once they changed to the built in worked better otherwise the app and built in bork eachother.
    Words with friends is crap in general but if your like me you just deal with the force closes to pay your friends.
     
  7. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    QFT! Use the built in CM7 processor management, not an app like SetCPU. Works much, MUCH better.
     
  8. Japanorama

    Japanorama Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011

    Mar 24, 2011
    99
    0
    15
    Student
    I am using the CM7 manager settings to overclock. I am gonna try to lower my clock speed a little bit to 748 MHZ to see if it is anything. Some notable apps I think might be the issue are Words/Hanging with Friends, Swift Key X Keyboard, and Angry Birds. They all seem resource intensive, but I'm shocked to see force close errors often, especially during games and occasionally when I revert back to my home screen.
     
  9. Leslie Ann

    Leslie Ann Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,427
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    1,427
    893
    213
    I.T. Consultant
    FC's can also be a sign of too high of an overclock.
    Just because it manages to keep itself from rebooting does not mean it is stable.
     
    JerryScript likes this.
  10. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    brotherswing uses the Gallery method to determine if he's overclocked where he should be.
    Once you start getting reboots, lower your CPU speed two settings.
    Go to Gallery and see how it behaves. If it behaves bad go down some more until it acts right.
     
  11. MacFett

    MacFett Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    3,236
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    3,236
    740
    223
    Male
    Worshipping Cthulhu
    Sietch Tabr
    The gallery always behaves badly!
     
    Petrah likes this.
  12. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    Which is exactly why I use it for testing. Why use something forgiving when running what amounts to a stress test? You want to push your processor to find its limits.
     
  13. Japanorama

    Japanorama Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011

    Mar 24, 2011
    99
    0
    15
    Student
    Gallery for me runs great!! I'm down to 729.

    Are there notable differences between Mirage and Backside roms? (I'm looking for less force closures and lag overall).
     
  14. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    It depends on your processor, installed apps(how many and where there located as well), and themes. Some themes don't work with some ROM's.
    If your having problems with force closures first move all widget apps and any apps that have a widget that your using to the phone.
    The neat thing about the Github is the variety of CM-7 ROM's. If you think your problems are ROM related, confirm by flashing a different ROM.
     
  15. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    I'm going to elaborate on why not all processors are equal, but I feel a lecture coming on. Look for a new thread on it a little bit later on.
     
    AndyOpie150 likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...