1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Moto Droid Flashed TO Boost Mobile CDMA?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by drb115, May 7, 2010.

  1. drb115

    drb115 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    Alright, so I recently purchased the droid and I am looking to put in on Boost CDMA for their unlimited plan.

    I can pull the PRL off of a boost phone that I am using right now (I think) and have an esn of an old boost phone can I can use for a switch so it is recognized in the database. I own both phones so I don't see any issue with this.

    My question is; is rooting the phone necessary for this to work. I would think so, but I am not sure. I have seen people flash the droid over to cricket, virgin, page plus, metro pcs, so why not boost mobile?

    I am just looking for some feedback from people more knowledgeable than me. This is my first android phone, so I am quite ignorant in all things android. I flashed an HTC TP2 over to boost, so I am hoping I can do the same with the droid.

    Thanks in advance for any advice you guys can offer!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Legacystar

    Legacystar Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    571
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    571
    28
    68
    Doesnt boost use iDen not cdma?
     
  3. tom108

    tom108 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,672
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    why did you double post this?
     
  4. drb115

    drb115 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    I am going to delete the other one, I figured this would be a better spot for it. Boost is owned by Sprint/Nextel, they offer both iDen and CDMA phones. The CDMA runs off of sprints 3g/4g towers so it is by far (as far as I know) the best prepay CDMA option.
     
  5. emirsosa

    emirsosa Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    how to i flash a moto droid so i can use it in other networks?
     
  6. drb115

    drb115 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    Thats what we are trying to figure out. I would assume you would need to change the esn for boost/sprint. Cricket and other providers are a little more liberal with their allowance of non-branded phones. Hopefully, someone can shed some light on this topic.
     
  7. emirsosa

    emirsosa Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    oh ok. i thought u already knew how to do it.

    can this be done?
     
  8. drb115

    drb115 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    It can be, I just am not too sure how to do it. You can use software like CDMA Workshop.
     
  9. emirsosa

    emirsosa Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    i have seen some vids on youtube that use cmda workshop but they use phones like HTC touch, moto razr etc. hopefully it works with the droid
     
  10. drb115

    drb115 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    It will work, its just a matter of getting the correct driver and knowing the prl. Because of the nature of sprint/boost activation, and ESN change will be necessary. Addtionally, it looks like you will have to root your droid as well.
     
  11. emirsosa

    emirsosa Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    hey have u ever unlocked a phone? me never(only iphone lol)
     
  12. emirsosa

    emirsosa Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    hey so no answers?
     
  13. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,290
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    3,290
    825
    213
    Finance
    Pennsylvania
    this is illegal mods will probably close this thread shortly
     
  14. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,940
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    2,940
    564
    213
    Real Estate Agent
    M A dub'l dolla sign
    Ohhh Trident....where are you??
     
  15. Trident

    Trident Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,035
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    3,035
    2,307
    333
    I wear many hats
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Right here! :p

    When I told you the last time that this was illegal and that Android Forums does not condone it, I was serious. Should this happen again, you will be banned.
     

Share This Page

Loading...