1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Moto E(4) Plus "owens" - All Things Root Guide

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bcrichster, Apr 3, 2018.

  1. Some Guy Here

    Some Guy Here Member
    Rank:
     #543
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018

    Jun 10, 2018
    58
    8
    26
    I successfully installed lineageOS and I love it
     

    Advertisement

    bcrichster and Member1660584 like this.
  2. Joeykatie

    Joeykatie Newbie
    Rank:
     #627
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2018

    Jun 16, 2018
    13
    1
    26
    What's system partions ? Trying to room flash.. deleted system in twrp on a core prime and lost my OS so what exactly do I wipe ? All I see is system and system image

    Excellent work here by the way well thought and and put together
     
  3. bcrichster

    bcrichster Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #32
    Points:
    713
    Posts:
    5,823
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    5,823
    4,035
    713
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    The system holds the OS, the boot holds the kernel it needs to run. Just flash a ROM made for it and you'll have another system. If you see a system image option, you're probably in the backup section. Choose system image and boot for your 1st backup
     
  4. bcrichster

    bcrichster Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #32
    Points:
    713
    Posts:
    5,823
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    5,823
    4,035
    713
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    OP has updated TWRP v3.2.2-0
     
  5. Some Guy Here

    Some Guy Here Member
    Rank:
     #543
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018

    Jun 10, 2018
    58
    8
    26
    any changelog ? or bugs fix are end ? the 3.2.1 did not work right for me and used the 3.1.1 worked for me is it worth the upgrade?
     
  6. Member1660584

    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Since they haven't deleted my account yet and I'm the one responsible for this recovery, It should work as good if not better than 3.1.1. I found what was missing from the 3.2.1 version and made some pull requests for the necessary changes to make everything work right. I tested formatting /data, making and restoring a backup, and everything else I believe other than actually using TWRP to encrypt /data, which is not necessary when you can either do it through the OS while the phone is booted or restore a backup that was encrypted and just wait for it to boot. Which reminds me, I've been meaning to make sure itsi clear that when you format /data and restore say a stock backup that had data encrypted, it will take a while to boot. It will sit on the bootlogo for a few minutes before it goes to the boot animation and then starts. This is because while it's stuck on the boot animation, it's going through the process of encryption which can take a while, the more you have on your internal storage, thelonger it takes. I assure you, it should work just fine.
    Edit: the only real improvement I've noticed from the 3.1.1version is that is seems quicker and doesn't lag on booting recovery, and backup and restore seems a bit quicker. Hope it works ok for you if you try it.
     
    Some Guy Here and bcrichster like this.
  7. bcrichster

    bcrichster Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #32
    Points:
    713
    Posts:
    5,823
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    5,823
    4,035
    713
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    I'm not sure what to say about our brother @amarc78 's removing his content except that it suck for all of us here and I hope he doesn't remove anymore links we need.. Hopefully I've temporarily fixed the TWRP v3.2.2 link/access in this OP but it'll no longer point to his much deserved thread. It's always sad to see a fellow Dev go, but I wish him the best and still say a big 'Thank You' for the work and efforts he's put in.
     
    Some Guy Here likes this.
  8. Member1660584

    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    There's nothing left. It's all gone. Android file host, github, all the repos on my PC's... That's why the links were removed. Just waiting for them to delete my account like I asked.
    Edit: why not start a new thread for the TWRP? Might as well do the same for lineage and AEX and keep them updated for everyone too. Idc.
     
    #158 Member1660584, Jul 4, 2018
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 4, 2018
  9. bcrichster

    bcrichster Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #32
    Points:
    713
    Posts:
    5,823
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    5,823
    4,035
    713
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    o_O I might try.. I'm just kinda sad cuz I think we had a ROM record with this device..

    Edit: OP updated with disabled threads.. Sorry guys
     
    #159 bcrichster, Jul 4, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2018
  10. Some Guy Here

    Some Guy Here Member
    Rank:
     #543
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018

    Jun 10, 2018
    58
    8
    26
    ths might be a dumb qestion but can the 3.2.2 version be installed by flashing it from the old version or do I have to use fastboot?
     
  11. bcrichster

    bcrichster Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #32
    Points:
    713
    Posts:
    5,823
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    5,823
    4,035
    713
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    Either way but you can also Use twrp.. Just select 'flash image', then 'recovery', reboot recovery
     
    Some Guy Here likes this.
  12. Joeykatie

    Joeykatie Newbie
    Rank:
     #627
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2018

    Jun 16, 2018
    13
    1
    26
    Got a issue.. keeps booting to twrp, I did a Rom went fine, restored it back and didn't boot so I flashed magisk again and all was fine.. now it won't restore to my backups , asks for a password says it right but need a factory reset so I do that and same thing.. I will add more info soon on my break but if anyone had this issue maybe can help me out right now, I will add all correct info in a few

    Thanks
     
  13. Joeykatie

    Joeykatie Newbie
    Rank:
     #627
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2018

    Jun 16, 2018
    13
    1
    26
    I have to click factory mode also to get it to boot to lineage OS, yet ask for password, dycryption unsuccessful reset phone.. reset yet same thing.. Any thoughts
     
  14. Some Guy Here

    Some Guy Here Member
    Rank:
     #543
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018

    Jun 10, 2018
    58
    8
    26
    I had the same thing on TwRp 3.2.1 then installed 3.1.1 and installed lineageOS are you installing Flash No-Verity.zip to
     
    bcrichster likes this.
  15. bcrichster

    bcrichster Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #32
    Points:
    713
    Posts:
    5,823
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    5,823
    4,035
    713
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    Definitely need flash a noverity-optencrypt.zip on this device.. I now automatically include them in my flash lists since a ROM Team pranked everyone for April Fool's.. And always flash the no-verity.zip if on Rooted Stock. Same list also in my Root Guide here:
    - ROM
    - Voicemail (optional)
    - no-verity_opt-encrypt
    - magisk/SU
    - gapps
     
  16. Joeykatie

    Joeykatie Newbie
    Rank:
     #627
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2018

    Jun 16, 2018
    13
    1
    26
    Ok, yes I did flash no verify zip.. Rom , no verity, Magisk, gapps was the order as told in this thread.. now I did have the Rom on and no issues but gapps stopped working as I didn't do them at first so I went to restore from my twrp backup and then issues started, I seen.it said no OS yet I never erased the OS before. Then I flash all in.the right order and it will show as it's starting then I get add password to start Android yet says it's correct but corrupt. I only see this when I boot into factory mode and other boot just goes back to twrp..

    So I flash no ver- opt ecty ? Where do I find this file ? How do I update tarp I will try that too.. thanks guys I appreciate the help this phone is new and then this all happened
     
  17. bcrichster

    bcrichster Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #32
    Points:
    713
    Posts:
    5,823
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    5,823
    4,035
    713
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    Sounds like you need to completely wipe encryption again, follow the posted TWRP commands for encryption wipe and try again as restoring your backup may have reEncrypted stuff (it happens). The no-verity zips are linked in OP (blue letters) of Root Guide, I've been using v6.0
     
    #167 bcrichster, Jul 6, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2018
    Some Guy Here likes this.
  18. Joeykatie

    Joeykatie Newbie
    Rank:
     #627
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2018

    Jun 16, 2018
    13
    1
    26

    Ok I will give that a shot and see what happens, almost had it but it started to bootloop. I will do what you said and get back to you , thanks
     
  19. Joeykatie

    Joeykatie Newbie
    Rank:
     #627
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2018

    Jun 16, 2018
    13
    1
    26

    Ok so didn't work.. twrp format data I think it was, i type yes and it erases it then boot to recovery unroll all red lettering is gone ect .. is that correct cause that didn't work and deleted in one second as if it really didn't but said completed..if not where exactly is write up on twrp description ?

    Also when I restore my back up it says no os installed you sure you want to reboot.. yet I did a full backup of everything and a regular back up.. now how can I flash firmware to bring it back to life is that possible ? This is really annoying me. All was going so well with the phone then this, it keeps saying decription unsuccessful do a factory reset yet I hit that button and just goes to twrp, try to factory reset there and same thing over and over lol i changed ext2 to ext4 also as it would do anything unless I did, kept saying fail on factory reset ect until I changed that.. if I can start over I will from the beginning i just want the phone back on lol

    If needed I can run commands ect
     
  20. bcrichster

    bcrichster Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #32
    Points:
    713
    Posts:
    5,823
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    5,823
    4,035
    713
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    https://androidforums.com/threads/b...-to-stock-for-motorola-e4-plus-owens.1264881/

    Once again (LAST TIME) Everything you need is Also linked in the OP of this Root Guide. Pay close attention to the procedures and follow exactly, as failure to do so will only be your fault & cause more problems than you'll wanna fix. I think you're missing the normal data swipe immediately after formatting, BEFORE reboot recovery. If that still isn't working after several reboots, try TWRP v3.1.. All else fails, go back to stock and try again, you'll get it eventually when the procedure is correct.
    For the love of your Android.. PLZ Read the guides and use the links available in these threads..
     
    #170 bcrichster, Jul 7, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2018
  21. bcrichster

    bcrichster Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #32
    Points:
    713
    Posts:
    5,823
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    5,823
    4,035
    713
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    OP updated with PAOSP, even moved from XDA with a big thanks to @jasonmerc for joining us and sharing his work!
     
    jasonmerc likes this.
  22. koop1955

    koop1955 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2018

    Apr 8, 2018
    9
    8
    16
    Deal Maker and Heart Breaker
    Ann Arbor
    Glad to have another Rom, thanks to @bcrichster for all the updates. And a wave to @jasonmerc for joining.
     
    bcrichster and jasonmerc like this.
  23. jasonmerc

    jasonmerc Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2018

    Jul 7, 2018
    8
    10
    18
    Male
    Stoodint
    Dang, this community's much tighter than XDA, glad I'm converting over now
     
    twfs and bcrichster like this.
  24. bcrichster

    bcrichster Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #32
    Points:
    713
    Posts:
    5,823
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    5,823
    4,035
    713
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    I'll be trying to rebuild the removed ROMs over the next week or 2, get us back to where we were in selections and then try beating on Oreo with our new member @jasonmerc ! He may be swinging @ Oreo while I'm catching up, definitely glad to have him with us too
     
    Some Guy Here, jestyr8 and twfs like this.
  25. Joeykatie

    Joeykatie Newbie
    Rank:
     #627
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2018

    Jun 16, 2018
    13
    1
    26

    Data swipe I assume you mean data wipe, advanced wipe- click just data.. well I restored then factory reset ect all like I been doing but I erased all then went back and erased just data yet again by itself, did this before.. odd thing is I didn't reboot I went to bootloader to restore from firmware using fastboot , had phone on bootloader for like 5 min waiting to be plugged in, I pick it up to do so and it rebooted. By itself or I hit power by accident maybe but none the less it booted up normally ! IDK what exactly happened as I did it all a million times over and over but whatever it works.. maybe it sat on bootloader start screen for a while and just booted normaly.. I need to go to bootloader then go to recovery to get to twrp.

    None the less IM BACK ! Phone works , rerooted and good to go.. thank you for taking the time to help me out. I really appreciate it allot. Thanks
     
    bcrichster likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...