1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

moto G4 keeps saying I have voice mail when I do not

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by harryt, Dec 4, 2017.

  1. harryt

    harryt Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #958
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016

    Mar 14, 2016
    13
    3
    26
    Male
    My Moto G4 keeps saying I have voice mail when I do not. This is irritating to say the least as I might ignore a real and important one. Any ideas?

    Harry
     

    Advertisement

  2. harryt

    harryt Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #958
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016

    Mar 14, 2016
    13
    3
    26
    Male
    Have I done something wrong? No one is replying to my question.

    Harry
     
  3. kate

    kate Dreaming of Bugdroid.
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #48
    Points:
    608
    Posts:
    5,262
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013

    Clearing the Phone app cache might help.

    Clear an apps cache:
    1. Go to Settings -> Apps
    2. Tap the Phone app
    3. Tap Storage (if Clear Cache isn't already there)
    4. Tap Clear Cache

    If you have a voicemail app clear its cache also.
     
  4. today

    today Android Expert
    Rank:
     #208
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    780
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    780
    180
    103
    Male
    spanaway washington
    And if that doesn't do it did the sim card come from a previous phone? There is storage on sim cards try clearing it.
     
  5. harryt

    harryt Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #958
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016

    Mar 14, 2016
    13
    3
    26
    Male
    Thanks Kate and Today, I have cleared the Cache, there was no voicemail app but there was also no message when I switched on again so we shall see if one returns. If not, fantastic. I am pretty sure the sim was new (giff gaff) but I have messed around with sims and various phones (I keep spare phones in two vehicles and also a tracker in one of them) so I can not be sure. I will try looking at the storage on the sim if this fails. Thanks again,

    Harry
     
  6. harryt

    harryt Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #958
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016

    Mar 14, 2016
    13
    3
    26
    Male
    Well, the voicemail flag came back this morning. So now, how do I clear the storage on the SIM card?

    Why am I described as a "lurker" I have not lurked in years.

    Harry
     
  7. kate

    kate Dreaming of Bugdroid.
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #48
    Points:
    608
    Posts:
    5,262
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013

    The description is based on post count, looks like that was your 10th post so it changed.

    I don't believe any voicemail data is stored on the SIM card, only carrier account info.

    Do you maybe have a saved voicemail that's causing the notification? Tried having someone leave a voicemail then listen to it? Disable then enable voicemail? (might have to redo settings for that one)

    Not sure what else it could be.
     
  8. harryt

    harryt Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #958
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016

    Mar 14, 2016
    13
    3
    26
    Male
    It gets worse! I left myself a message on voicemail (as advised) using my wife's phone. Then, when I dialled 901 to hear it on my phone there was nothing there; weird! I tried it again but still no message. I went hunting and found SIM toolkit but that showed me nothing helpful.

    So; how do I disable then enable voicemail?

    Now I am a newbie. I prefer that to lurker.

    Harry
     
  9. kate

    kate Dreaming of Bugdroid.
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #48
    Points:
    608
    Posts:
    5,262
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013

    Depends on your carrier, they all have different systems. Some might not even have an option to disable it.

    But if you also can't access messages I'd guess something bigger is wrong, might need to have their support look into it.
     
  10. harryt

    harryt Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #958
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016

    Mar 14, 2016
    13
    3
    26
    Male
    Thanks Kate, Just to be sure, I tried leaving myself another message (longer this time) this morning with the same result. I'll see what the GiffGaff forum has to say on the subject. Thanks again.

    Harry
     
  11. harryt

    harryt Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #958
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016

    Mar 14, 2016
    13
    3
    26
    Male
    Thanks Kate and all, Seems GiffGaff have a different voicemail number from O2 with whom I had the phone originally, it seems (I had forgotten that). That number is 443 not 901 as it is with O2. My two messages came up fine on that number but it remains to be seen if I get the other (nuisance) notification still. If it does then I shall enquire of O2, I'll keep you posted as to the eventual solution. Thanks again.

    Harry
     

Share This Page

Loading...