1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

MotoBlur accounts

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by gezh, Jan 28, 2013.

  1. gezh

    gezh Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009

    Jul 12, 2009
    87
    2
    16
    Hi all. I have to send my Atrix back to Motorola for some servicing. Before I hand it over, I'm trying to remove/backup as much of my own data as possible.

    One thing I can't seem to clear is the contacts data. I'm not too worried about that, but just wondered how the MotoBlur accounts work. I notice that when I remove my Sim, or reinsert my Sim, I'm prompted to login to my MotoBlur account.

    If someone uses a different MotoBlur account, will this automatically hide all my personal data such as contacts from them? If that's the case, then I don't have to worry about it.


    (I tried to test this myself, but for whatever reason I can't seem to login under any other MotoBlur accout - perhaps my own account is already associated with the Sim card? Needless to say, when the phone goes in for service, I'll remove the Sim first)
     

    Advertisement

  2. itsallgood

    itsallgood Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,877
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    1,877
    277
    163
    I've never had to send my Atrix in for service, but have heard others say to do a factory reset to wipe all your data off, before sending it in. Contacts can only be removed individually or by a hard or factory reset. Back up your contacts to either Google or Motoblur. (Make a back up to your SD card as well.) As far as the other accts. You can remove all acct.'s accept the one that was used to set up Motorblur. You can back up everything on your phone for the most part by just making a copy on your internal memory. (I back my phone up to my desktop computer, at least once a month, using the drag and drop or just backing it up to my 32GB SD card then transfer it to my desktop computer.) Also, a hard reset will not erase the internal memory. (Not sure about the factory reset.)

    I hope this info was helpful.
     
  3. gezh

    gezh Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009

    Jul 12, 2009
    87
    2
    16
    That's great, many thanks.
     

Share This Page

Loading...