1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Motorola Account Required?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Larryf, Jul 30, 2010.

  1. Larryf

    Larryf Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    38
    1
    16
    Anybody else seen this? My phone was rooted but is no longer and I get this message.
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement

  2. Larryf

    Larryf Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    38
    1
    16
    I didn't say but I get this error when I click on "Check for system updates"
     
  3. Trident

    Trident Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,035
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    3,035
    2,307
    333
    I wear many hats
    Virginia Beach, VA
    What happens when you touch "Setup"?
     
  4. Larryf

    Larryf Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    38
    1
    16
    It brings up the Account Setup screen. The same screen that comes up when you press Menu -> Settings -> Accounts -> Add Account (where all the Email, Facebook, Google, etc. account types are listed). There is no option for a 'Motorola Account'.

    I have a call in to Motorola tech support and will post what I hear back from them.
     
  5. Trident

    Trident Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,035
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    3,035
    2,307
    333
    I wear many hats
    Virginia Beach, VA
    You do have an email address registered on your phone, right?
     
  6. Larryf

    Larryf Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    38
    1
    16
    Yes, three email accounts in addition to my Google Gmail account.
     
  7. Larryf

    Larryf Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    38
    1
    16
    Motorola tech support never called back so I'll be calling again on Monday to see what causes this error message.

    There has to be someone at Motorola who can tell me what generates this pop-up box.
     
  8. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    My brother-in-law gets a similar (but not the same) message when he checks for updates on his Droid (not the X).

    I believe his message is more along the line of "invalid credentials" or "invalid logon", nothing about Motorola. He has never had root, he just uses his phone to make calls.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. cybrwulf

    cybrwulf Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    17
    4
    16
    I fixed this issue by downloading the .604 update.zip file in recovery mode. Once I did that all was working well again.
     

Share This Page

Loading...