1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Motorola Services draining battery

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by AeroEngi, Jan 10, 2012.

  1. AeroEngi

    AeroEngi Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011

    Nov 9, 2011
    71
    6
    16
    Los Angeles, CA
    So it's been a couple of weeks and this is really starting to annoy me. About once a day the Motorola Services App will keep my phone awake for about 20 minutes or so and drain the hell out of my battery along with really heating up my phone. Do you guys know how to stop this?

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    The only way is to root and freeze some of the social networking stuff and such.
     
  3. chrlswltrs

    chrlswltrs Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    6,728
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    6,728
    1,795
    333
    Male
    Private Security
    Seattle
    That is why I hate skins. Nothing you can do about crap that you don't want on your phone except to root and remove it or install a custom ROM.

    With stock android you can install only what you care about.
     
  4. AeroEngi

    AeroEngi Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011

    Nov 9, 2011
    71
    6
    16
    Los Angeles, CA
    Do you guys know what the purpose of this app is?
     
  5. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    I Motorola Services is like the core of Blur.
     
  6. pm1066

    pm1066 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    656
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    656
    136
    93
    How are you tracking the battery usage? I just wasn't seeing what you are seeing. Perhaps there is something else driving the services?
     
  7. AeroEngi

    AeroEngi Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011

    Nov 9, 2011
    71
    6
    16
    Los Angeles, CA
    I just go to battery information and it shows up there. I've noticed every time Motorola Services is running, my phone gets really hot and the battery drains like crazy.
     
  8. executor485

    executor485 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    204
    21
    38
    Behind joo
    Yea... Not too happy with Motorola Services this morning. 68% usage and the phones been off the charger for 1 hour 28 min... And the battery is down to 57%.

    WTF
     
  9. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    Just did a hard reset and set the phone up again - down from 70-80% Android OS usage to less than 30%.
     
  10. executor485

    executor485 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    May 16, 2011

    May 16, 2011
    204
    21
    38
    Behind joo
    I dont fancy a hard reset... Too much of a PITA.

    But I dont typically have issues with battery life. There are big random days (like today) where it will just burn through the battery. But most of the time it's a "typical" 16 hour day on a charge.
     
  11. AeroEngi

    AeroEngi Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011

    Nov 9, 2011
    71
    6
    16
    Los Angeles, CA
    Ever since I created this thread, I made some changes and motorola services seems to be behaving now. If it starts up again then I have no choice but to do a factory reset. I know it'll be a PITA but I'd rather have my phone working properly. I'll just have to go and download all my apps again, no biggie.
     
  12. pm1066

    pm1066 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    656
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    656
    136
    93
    What specifically? I froze still that social crap add soon as I got root, which meaty be why I don't see Moto services at all under batt usage.
     
  13. teslas

    teslas Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    85
    11
    18
    Yes, do tell. It may help the rest of us.
     
  14. AeroEngi

    AeroEngi Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011

    Nov 9, 2011
    71
    6
    16
    Los Angeles, CA
    Ok this is what I did. If you have the Yahoo mail app installed on your phone then you've already done the first step. If not, then download the app and continue with the rest of these instructions. After that, I go into settings and then to data manager. I turned off background data and immediately, the Yahoo app will give you a notification in your notification bar. Pull down your notifications and click on the Yahoo notification. It'll take you to a screen where you can manage your accounts. The account on the top should be "Motorola". Click on it and unsync anything associated with it. Mine only had "contacts" in it. Hope this makes sense.

    Let me know if you need a better explanation.

    Edit: I also turned off Google/Verizon Location Services and the photo location sharing feature.
     
  15. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    It took me 30 minutes to set it up as I used TiB to restore all my apps.
     
  16. pm1066

    pm1066 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    656
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    656
    136
    93
    Do you have a Yahoo mail account on the phone? If so, how do you check it?

    I agree on the location services. I used to need those on my Droid X from time to time to get location lock. The GPS alone on this phone is pretty fast and solid.
     

Share This Page

Loading...