1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Mount As Storage

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Lyvewire, Jan 12, 2012.

  1. Lyvewire

    Lyvewire Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    264
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    264
    18
    38
    Hello,

    I was looking to mount my Prime as storage so that I can transfer some pictures and videos via usb. I tried using Asus Cloud software on with a decent wifi and it was just too slow for my liking.

    I have a rooted Evo 3d and normally my pc just opens a wiondow and the Evo always asks if I want to Mount as storage or Charge. Am I missing something here? (Maybe root)?

    If anyone has a faster way to transfer the vid and pics let me know. I'm looking to do this before I factory wipe my Prime and take the "Plunge"...

    Thanks in advance
     

    Advertisement

  2. golfernut78

    golfernut78 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011

    Dec 28, 2011
    110
    18
    38
    i've plugged my prime into my pc (windows 7) numerous times and it just shows up as a movile device and i start moving away. very quick.
     
  3. Lyvewire

    Lyvewire Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    264
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    264
    18
    38
    Strange. I'm on Windows XP and it asks for hardware. welcome to the hardware wizard shows up and of course theres no drivers...
     
  4. golfernut78

    golfernut78 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011

    Dec 28, 2011
    110
    18
    38
    there is a download on the aus website to connect the tablet to pc via usb.
     
    Lyvewire likes this.
  5. Lyvewire

    Lyvewire Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    264
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    264
    18
    38
    I just downloaded it. Nothing to open or run though..
     
  6. Lostsorrow

    Lostsorrow Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Try looking in device manager for your prime when its connected. There most likely will be a yellow ! or triangle. Right click on it in properties then select the driver tab to update the drivers and then select the usb interface folder wherever you put it.Should solve the problem. It will probably be under human interface devices or something like that.
     
    Lyvewire likes this.
  7. Lyvewire

    Lyvewire Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    264
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    264
    18
    38
    Doesnt show up...This is nutz. Thanks anyways
     
  8. golfernut78

    golfernut78 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011

    Dec 28, 2011
    110
    18
    38
    upgrade to windows 7. it works fine on all my window 7 machines (don't have access to an xp machine anymore). i didn't have to load anything to make it work.
     
  9. vectorman

    vectorman Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011

    Jan 18, 2011
    27
    7
    16
    This is indicative of the kinds of incompatibilities that will increasingly show up as we try to use a decade-old os with modern hardware and software.
     
  10. Gav400

    Gav400 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010

    Mar 21, 2010
    108
    9
    36
    Turn on usb debugging in settings on the prime. It should be recognised as an external drive. If not you could copy files onto a microSD card and then copy in the file manager on the prime.
     
    Lyvewire likes this.
  11. Lyvewire

    Lyvewire Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    264
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    264
    18
    38
    I ended up going transferring to a 4G card then moving the video and pics to my Mac. Thanks!

    On a side not I been looking around a few other sites and came across this Tablet USB 2.0 Kit people are dying to get their hands on.

    Is this wall charger wire that was included not a standard usb wire to use for transfering date to pc/mac or to mount as storage?? Is that what the real problem is or do people in this thread actually have this USB 2.0 wire?

    Also would I still need one if I have the dock? Only thing I see is Asus on Prime searches but do I need to use Asus sync just to view files or transfer? This is so f!@@! annoying. My Evo 4G or 3D never gave me any issues to do this..


    Thanks
     
  12. Lyvewire

    Lyvewire Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    264
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    264
    18
    38
    Is anyone else having issues with this? I'm looking to unlock my prime so I can root it. Or is there a way to do this by just placing the files on my card?

    Thanks
     
  13. NaduK

    NaduK Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011

    Jul 17, 2011
    15
    1
    16
    Hi,

    I use the only cable that came with the Prime for charging and data transfer.

    If it is windows XP you probably need to get the drivers from Asus and install it from the hardware wizard that pops up when you plug the prime in.

    If you have wifi you can use "wifi file explorer" or "AirDroid".
     
  14. Shel

    Shel Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008

    Oct 21, 2008
    122
    20
    38
    Not sure if this is what people are trying to do, but if you go to the Google Play Store, you can download an app called "WiFi Transfer".

    It will allow you to connect your PC to your Prime via a browser, and transfer files back and forth very easily, and wirelessly. :eek:

    Only requirement is, both your PC and Transformer Prime need to be on the same wifi network.

    Great app! Oh, and its free, unless you want/need to transfer files larger then 4GB.
     
    Lyvewire likes this.
  15. Lyvewire

    Lyvewire Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    264
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    264
    18
    38
    Thanks for the advice. However I'm looking to root my Prime. I dont believe be able to transfer is going to help. I appreciate the efforts here
     
  16. Tman5293

    Tman5293 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012

    Apr 10, 2012
    112
    24
    58
    Texas, USA
    This is the only worthwhile post in this thread. If you're still using XP, then it's definitely time to upgrade. There is no reason why Asus should have to worry about their hardware being compatible with an ancient OS.
     

Share This Page

Loading...