1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Mounting USB

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by phogster, Dec 3, 2008.

  1. phogster

    phogster Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008

    Dec 3, 2008
    8
    0
    5
    Anyone else having trouble mounting their G1 as a USB drive on a PC?

    I was able to do it when I first got the phone, but I no longer get the status bar notification after the RC30 update. It won't work on windows xp/vista or linux. I've tried to enable mass storage with AnyCut but no use.

    Help...
     

    Advertisement

  2. mikeeh

    mikeeh Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    139
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008

    Oct 17, 2008
    139
    3
    56
    Bay Area Cali
    hmn... that is odd. I would also check if the data cable is not faulty.
     
  3. phogster

    phogster Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008

    Dec 3, 2008
    8
    0
    5
  4. Novocain

    Novocain Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008

    Dec 5, 2008
    12
    1
    36
    Pittsburgh PA
    After plugging in your USB cable, pull down the 'notification' shade from the top of the home screen, where you'll see 'USB connected,' click on that button to mount your SD card as a storage device on your PC. Then you can access from your PC like a regular folder.

    Took me awhile to figure that one out.
     
  5. phogster

    phogster Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008

    Dec 3, 2008
    8
    0
    5
    Yeah, like I said, I don't get the notification any more. I used to when I first got the phone, and mounted just fine. But now I don't get the icon or anything.

    Oh, and I tried another cable from a friend who has a G1. Still didn't work.
     
  6. devolio

    devolio Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008

    Oct 30, 2008
    339
    37
    43
    Developer
    Michigan
    If you haven't already, try going into settings -> development and enable usb debugging and see if that does anything.
     
  7. phogster

    phogster Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008

    Dec 3, 2008
    8
    0
    5
    Turning on USB debugging doesn't help. As a matter of fact, prior to the update I was able to launch the HelloActivity from Eclipse on my phone. Now eclipse doesn't recognize it as a device aside from the emulator.

    running "adb devices" returns:
    List of devices attached
    emulator-5554 device
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...