1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Moving Apps after Root

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by BullDave, Sep 16, 2010.

  1. BullDave

    BullDave Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Didn't want to threadjack biohzrd and could not find this through search so.....
    First .....thanks to all for the root advice....successfully rooted and loaded 34 Kaos....that's the good news.

    Sorry is this is a newb question but do I have to reload all the apps I had on stock 2.1 from the market or is there a way to get them from somewhere deep in the phone. Contacts and pictures seemed to have moved OK.

    Thanks again to all for the root help....I am going to the well one more time.
     

    Advertisement

  2. VanDums

    VanDums Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010

    Jan 29, 2010
    112
    5
    36
    Computer Support Specialist
    OH
    I downloaded FastAppInstall from the market and it finds the apk files of your apps on the SD card. You can then reinstall them very quickly from the list. However I don't think you can get app updates anymore doing it this way. You'd have to reinstall them from the Market. Still very convenient. Also I did use Appbackup/restore to back these files up first so I don't know if they exist on the SD card without doing that first. Maybe someone else knows.
     
    BullDave likes this.
  3. lennyjew

    lennyjew Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    369
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010

    Mar 22, 2010
    369
    38
    43
    Calibration Technician
    Dublin, Ohio
    Yeah you have to reinstall all the apps. Get titanium backup after you do and do a full backup. Then you won't have to do that again.
     
  4. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
     #55
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,695
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,695
    1,927
    483
    You'll have to reinstall them. The first time that you go into the market with a freshly-flashed (or data wiped) ROM, all of your apps, including the free ones, will be in the downloads area of the market. You can reinstall them all at that first visit. If you leave the market and go back later, only the purchased apps will be there.
     
  5. BullDave

    BullDave Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Can I go back to the old system....which I have already done once.....install TB, return to Kaos then restore?
     
  6. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
     #55
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,695
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,695
    1,927
    483
    Yep, that should work.

    Be careful to avoid restoring system apps (colored red and green in Titanium) when you restore, though.
     
    BullDave likes this.
  7. Podivin

    Podivin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,679
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    3,679
    881
    213
    Jacksonville, Fl
    OK, I know this is obvious but I'm going to say it anyway :)
    Install TB and USE TB. You'll have to back up all of your apps before you flash a new ROM if you want to those apps back.
    The paid version of TB lets you do batch processing (back up all or many apps at one time) whereas on the unpaid version you have to back them up one by one. For me it was more than worth the few bucks to have batch processing.
     
  8. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
     #55
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,695
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,695
    1,927
    483
    I believe that the free allows batch backup, it's the restore that you have to acknowledge one by one. In other words, you can select a number of apps to restore, but as each one is ready to restore you have to confirm it. With the paid (or donate) version, you can batch restore without needing to confirm each app.
     
  9. Podivin

    Podivin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,679
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    3,679
    881
    213
    Jacksonville, Fl
    That's good to know, thanks doogald.
     
  10. IzelTokatl

    IzelTokatl Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    580
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    Dec 11, 2009
    580
    90
    78
    a lifehacker
    Southern California
    Another "free" way of fast installing all your installed apps (but not backing up your settings) is to install AppBrain Sync, and the FastWeb Installer app (related), sync once before you flash. then save the installed apps in Appbrain as a backup list. So when you flash to a new ROM, you install appbrain and the fastweb installer app... nothing else...

    then go to the appbrain website, and pull up your backup app list view. Now just click on install next to each app in the list, and boom, they will install without prompting... granted you will get "clean" installs and no restored settings in this method... but sometimes thats a good thing.

    if you want to restore with settings, TB is by far your best choice as previously mentioned. But there are options.
     

Share This Page

Loading...