1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Moving bloatware & other apps safely

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by yankeeboy, Sep 27, 2010.

  1. yankeeboy

    yankeeboy Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    346
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    346
    67
    53
    International Sales
    New York
    So, I have been successfully moving bloatware and other apps I don't use - from Verizon apps to Samsung Widgets. I use LauncherPro exclusively and according to this site, TouchWiz30Launcher.apk/odex can be removed safely, but he also mentions not to move Launcher.apk, which I don't see in my system folder. When I move it, the phone is operational, but keep getting a force close error for TouchWiz30Launcher.apk/odex. By moving it back with Root Explorer, it corrects the error immediately.

    I guess what I am asking is...is it possible to disable the 17MB file of TouchWiz if I am not using it, and if so, how.
     

    Advertisement

  2. burningembers

    burningembers Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    331
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    331
    26
    43
    Software Engineer
    Portland, OR
    +1 for this, I'd love to know how to do this safely as well since I don't use TouchWiz.
     
  3. saps

    saps Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    5,092
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    5,092
    504
    233
    Top Secret
    WA
    I wasn't aware you could remove TW without bricking the phone, be careful
     
  4. luckyme2312

    luckyme2312 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012

    Aug 23, 2012
    4
    0
    25
    I have uninstalled my touchwiz30launcher from my Galaxy Ace (after rooting) using a de-bloater. I did back it up. However since I can now start my phone apart from in recovery mode and since the file is there but .apk and nor zip I can't use the aply an update from the sd card option. Any ideas :) ?
     

Share This Page

Loading...