1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Moving contacts from phone to Google

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by EarlyMon, Jun 29, 2011.

  1. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,420
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Slightly off-topic, but if you used BT to xfer contacts, check to see that they aren't all stored on the phone as opposed to google. People->Menu->View

    edit - moved from another thread
     

    Advertisement

  2. Speilmen230

    Speilmen230 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    104
    34
    63
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Yes they are all stored on the phone. The is this bad?
     
  3. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,420
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    It means you're stuck every time you replace your phone or want to do a hard reset. If you put them on the google server, they'll automagically back up to the cloud and download to your phone if it ever needs it.


    Here's the way I know how to fix this:

    People->Menu->Import/Export->Export to SD card->Phone->OK

    Get the file from your SD card to your PC. Go to Gmail web, left panel, Contacts, top drop down tool, More actions, Import ... from vcf (or vCard) file. Complete the import. Use More actions again to ensure you have no duplicates.

    Review the contacts for correctness.

    On phone: settings, Applications, People, Clear data - confirm you have no contacts left on phone. Then, settings, Accounts & sync, google, sync contacts.

    Unless - you don't want the convenience of having your contacts on the cloud, not everyone does.

    Hope this helps!

    PS - See also - http://androidforums.com/htc-evo-3d/360622-contacts-pictures.html
     
    KeyWestDylan and Speilmen230 like this.
  4. Speilmen230

    Speilmen230 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    104
    34
    63
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    thanks a ton, i was able to successfully do this. although i did have to manually go in and delete all the contacts off the phone. the data clear didn't do the trick, but all is good now. thanks a ton. :)
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  5. mikeinatl

    mikeinatl Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010

    When BB upgraded my phone, they copied them over through Google. However, I've discovered there are a lot of contacts on my E4G that I need. I want to transfer those via bluetooth, but want to know if there's any easy way to delete my contacts on the 3VO first so I don't end up with a lot of duplicates.

    Thanks for the help!
     
  6. TJoseph

    TJoseph Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    9
    4
    6
    Sync the 4G to GMail over wifi. GMail has a merge duplicates option. Then sync the 3D to GMail.
     
    marctronixx and Dooderino like this.
  7. mikeinatl

    mikeinatl Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010

    Thanks, I'll try it.
     
    racefla likes this.
  8. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,420
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    If you're left with contacts on the phone (the usual case for a BT xfer) - you see where the contacts are with People -> Menu -> View -- then so far, it seems you'll have to delete the on-phone contacts one at a time.

    We need a solution for that.
     
  9. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,420
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Merged threads - seemed like similar enough topics needing confirmation of the solutions.
     
    Adar likes this.
  10. Renlaan

    Renlaan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011

    Mar 2, 2011
    44
    0
    15
    Hello, I just got a HTC 3D as a replacement for my Samsung Epic that I broke. I have a gmail account but don't know how to get all my contacts to this phone. (I did it easy enough with the old phone) I did the sync all option but it didn't add them. Any help/ideas?
    Thanks!
    R
     
  11. DragonSlayer95

    DragonSlayer95 Resident Air Bender
    Rank:
     #37
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    8,768
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    8,768
    3,732
    653
    Male
    Reno, Nevada
    Did you have them backed up to your sd card or Gmail account?

    Sent From My HTC Evo 3D Using TapaTalk 2
     
  12. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #39
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    6,033
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    6,033
    3,730
    643
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    moved this discussion to this thread as an FYI with adding contacts to either your Phones memory or to the cloud with Google.

    you must use the same gmail acct with the new phone as you did with the old phone in order to get your contacts to show. you ad the account in the sync settings page on the evo 3d.

    after a while, the contacts will show. you can then add them to phone memory or keep them in the cloud (recommended) and then boom done.
     
  13. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,383
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,383
    8,113
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    As long as you had them stored on your Gmail account and you are using the same Gmail account on this phone then you are good to go, simply open the phone dialer, then at the bottom hit the icon that says people, once open, then top right of phone book, you will see a drop down arrow, hit that, then make sure the Gmail account you have your contacts on is check marked, then they will sync, also in settings and sync, make your your contacts are set to sync with your phone.



     
  14. dgrobe2112

    dgrobe2112 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    462
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    462
    76
    63
    Male
    Waco, TX
    there is an easy way to move them from phone to gmail..

    in people app, click menu, move.. should be easy enough
     
    Adar likes this.
  15. Adar

    Adar Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    208
    93
    53
    I actually just used this the other day. I thought i was going to have to jump through hoops, and noticed the Move option. Also, Move doesn't actually MOVE, or at least didn't on my phone. It just copied all of the contacts to Google. All of my prior Phone contacts still exist as Phone contacts, they just also are Google contacts.
     
    dgrobe2112 likes this.
  16. dgrobe2112

    dgrobe2112 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    462
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    462
    76
    63
    Male
    Waco, TX
    ur right.. i do have dups now.. deleting the dups.. lol..
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...